Magnolia Stellata

I’m beginning to get behind in photos again; run out of steam at the moment and things change so quickly I just can’t keep up with the photos!

Thanks to the lack of spring blooms from the autumn Cherry, my attention is turning to the Star Magnolia with its lovely blooms and wonderful perfume. I spent yesterday afternoon in Meersbrook park enjoying the sunshine and in a few gardens around the park there are some very nice Stellata specimens… Mine still has a long way to go before it’s as impressive but I am thrilled with the show this year, especially considering I was going to get rid of it last year if it didn’t bloom yet again.
I’ve been trying to ensure it’s well watered throughout summer and sure enough, it’s rewarding me :)

For a second year running we are now in drought; I hadn’t expected us to, not because we’ve had a lot of rain but because we have Yorkshire water and the reservoirs usually remain well stocked thanks to the peaks… Anyway, we’ll see how it goes. No doubt the lawns will be the first to suffer again and I imagine grass in the city centre will be dead soon.

Thankfully, the lack of rain also means perfect and unblemished blooms… Magnolia blooms quickly look terrible if there’s any rain.

Copyright 2011 Liz.
All rights reserved. Content created by Liz for Gwirrel’s Garden.

19 thoughts on “Magnolia Stellata

  1. How beautiful, i do not have that variety in my gardens.. you acre right about rain ruining blossoms but what little rain we have got this year is so welcome! c

    • Hi,

      I think I will need to properly water the garden over the weekend if we still don’t have any rain; temperatures are set to decline quite a bit, but still no rain isn’t good. I’ve been watering pots near the house but I think the rest of the garden also needs it – especially so as I’ve been planting a lot of small plants and I want to give them a good start.

    • Hi OMS,

      Ah, even without the rain I still have Dandelions and Bittercress growing! This year I’m going to have to keep on top of them as I let things go a little too much last year. I’m also due to battle the Bramble as it’s taking over in some spots, although I am a bit loathe to get rid as it’s also good for wildlife :)

  2. We have the same problem with our rhododendrons and camellias,must water in the summer if we want flowers the following year! Sometimes we forget or we don’t water enough, whatever the reason, flowering is sparce some years. Beautiful photos of the magnolia, what a super specimen!

    • Hi Pauline,

      Of course, it may just be coincedence about the Magnolia blooming… Maybe I’m watering it unneccessarily??!! :D
      Sometimes I think the plants just like to keep us on our toes…

      No Rhodies here, but there are some nice large shrubs at the end of our road… Only last spring they decided to hack them right back JUST BEFORE they bloomed!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I couldn’t believe the stupidity. Looked horrendous too. Why would anyone do it just before the blooms open? You could clearly see great big, fat buds on them ready to smother the trees… The mind boggles.

    • Hi Elaine,

      Yep, they certainly are! I’d love to have one of the other Magnolias; my taste over the past few years has changed and I think I’d like a different one… But I’ve already had this around 7+ years and it’s barely grown yet so I think if I started again I’d be waiting a long time before I had a good sized tree! :D

      This Stellata is only around 2-3 foot high you know :) And as I said, I’ve had it at least 7 years or so, and it’s not like I bought it as a tiny little tree! I think you could easily home one in your garden judging by its growth rate thus far ;)

  3. Liz these are so beautiful and delicate…our magnolias around the area bloomed early and many are still OK with all the freezes and frosts of late…my garden has slowed and I am grateful for the time I need to clean it up!

    • Hi Donna,

      I’m just glad this has bloomed again, after having not bloomed for a few years, last year I was just about to get rid of it if it didn’t bloom and hey presto! It bloomed! :D This year there are more blooms, so I’m hopeful it’s getting established now and we’ll see more blooms in the years to come :)

  4. Liz, I tried twice yesterday to leave a comment and wordpress was being a stinker and kept erasing me. Anyway, I was trying to write that looking at your photos is as yummy as eating fine chocolate, almost. Even better to do both at once. And thank you for your well wishes. Happy spring! – VW

    • Hi VW,

      Sorry to hear you’ve been having problems trying to post a comment :( First I’ve heard of anyone having difficulty; usually it’s me having difficulty trying to post on blogger blogs and normally I resort to using my old blogger account :(
      I hope it isn’t a common issue people have been having on here.
      Baaah, why do they make it so hard just to post on other company blogs?!!!

      Mmmm fine chocolate?? I think I might have to get eating my valentine’s day choccie! :D

  5. Hi Liz, I had trouble commenting on WordPress blogs last week. It kept saying there was someone else with my log in/account/profile (sorry can’t remember exactly) so I changed my password and it said the same! I gave up for a while, tried later and all was well…weird and sooo annoying!!!

    Anyway, your Magnolia is beautiful, I love the delicate pink flush.

    Everything here is desperately dry, we have had barely any rain at all in the last twelve months and of course have a drought order in place. However, I decided against watering my garden on a survival of the fittest basis and the theory that no wildflowers ever get watered by anything other than rain and they always seem to get by. As for grass, however ‘dead’ it looks it always comes back again in the end :-)

    • Hi Jan,

      They must be doing something, or there’s some sort of bug. Makes a nice change from me pulling my hair out trying to post on blogger blogs! hahaha. But yep it is very frustrating when it happens, I wonder what’s changed? I haven’t done anything with the settings or such.

      Same here re: rain. Last spring’s drougt went into summer for us, and by May all grass in the city centre was a brown mess, my neighbour’s looked rather dead too but I kept mine barely alive by occasional waterings. Pretty much all autumn and winter we’ve had little rain too so it’s easy to see why much of the country is now in drought orders or under risk of drought. Although tbh, I’m surprised the south east is as apparently they had a very wet summer last year?? Anyway, let’s hope we get some soon – I’ve been out to water mine tonight, wondering whether I should’ve taken the time to give them a good drench now. But then it is due to frost tonight so perhaps for the best that I didn’t.

  6. Liz I’d really like to know how you save your files (resolution and settings) before posting because really they are always flawless. The snaps are too but that’s art and you can’t just teach people how to make art, can you?

    We have serious drought issues here as well, I really hope it’s going to rain ASAP!

    • Hi Alberto,

      Ha, they’re not always flawless! Sometimes they need a lot of work to get rid of terrible background noise! Other times I can’t be bothered to deal with it (some images on my latest end of month post are not so good).
      Anyway, I don’t usually do a great deal to the images other than crop and slightly sharpen or play with the image curves – depending on what result I want. This is all done in Photoshop, I then save the files ‘for the web’ and save at no less than 80% quality which reduces their file size dramatically which also means if anyone tries to print them out they’re likely to be poor quality because they’re only 72dpi (for printing you want no less than 300dpi).
      Then I upload to photobucket (which can sometimes lose some quality, but nothing too drastic) and that’s it.

      We’re forecast rain for Monday, although I did water the garden this evening to give the plants something to tide them over for the next couple of days – I’m having to pay particular attention to the pots and hanging baskets at the moment. I think I might’ve lost all the viola in one of the baskets after having not realised they were flopping over and looking very much dead.

Leave a Reply

