Friday Flowers

There’s just so much happening at the moment! It’s hard to keep up with photos and find the energy to not only crop but also post them…

We’ve had some rain recently, so this blog post will mostly feature raindrops… I really need to get some more of the organic slug pellets as I’m worried for some of the plants which are only just beginning to grow that often become slug fodder… I ran out a couple of days ago when I was trying to quickly sprinkle some around the usual targets – Lupins, Thistles, Coneflowers – and hope the unprotected plants are OK.

Oh well, we’ll begin with some of the Ferns… Here’s one Painted Lady Fern which survived the snow OK… and fresh fronds from another Fern labelled only as ‘Autumn Fern’.

In comparison here are the snow damaged leaves of this poor little Painted Lady Fern… I’m also in love with the ‘ferny’ foliage of this shrub Sorbus… I can see its leaves featuring frequently in foliage posts (if I ever remember to do them)

Pretty raindrops gather so nicely on Lupins, as well as Dicentra leaves. The garden has been well watered over the past few days and many plants are doing well now.

The Acer ‘Garnet’ is beginning to reveal its leaves, I’m surprised actually that it’s a good few weeks behind Acer ‘Katsura’…

I added Dicentra Spectabilis to the window border… this border is shaping up quite nicely although I am beginning to wonder what will happen over summer and autumn since I have nothing in the border at all for later in the season… Well, OK so I have a couple of Astilbes and Foam flower but that’s it. There’s seemingly very little in the way of shade plants with later interest.

As the year progresses we’re seeing a shift towards the Tulips now as the Daffodils and Narcissus come to an end… It would be nice if I actually knew the names of these Tulips!

Forget-me-nots will always be a favourite, however I don’t have enough in the Buddleja border this year to create the usual impact. I managed to forget to steal some off mum on Sunday!!! How on Earth did I forget???!! So I need to steal some ASAP.

Since planting Hellebore Harvington Double Pink, the colour is really beginning to come out! It’s gorgeous! :) Also, here without the backlighting we can really see that Double Purple, is indeed purple :D

I made up a pot of red Pelagoniums for my mum for Easter… I’m no fan of Pelagoniums, as any regular reader will know but actually I’m almost converted by this arrangement!
One of the Thistles is also near to blooming… I’m thinking it’s Brooke thistle and hope that no slugs/snails have managed to get it after the recent heavy rain shower and then brilliant sun weather we’ve been having.

Copyright 2011 Liz.
All rights reserved. Content created by Liz for Gwirrel’s Garden.

19 thoughts on “Friday Flowers

    • Hi,

      Thanks :D Hopefully we’ll have some niceish weather this weekend and I can get more photos :) Of course and get some work done in the garden…

    • Hi Elaine,

      Yep, macro can make a massive difference to otherwise boring shots or blooms :) It really helps to make the eye concentrate on the intricate beauty of the subject rather than being distracted by detail elsewhere.

  1. Spring is well and truly underway in your garden…beautiful, rain-soaked pictures! I love that little Fritillary…so cute…and that somber purple is such a nice contrast to the brighter colors of spring :-) It’s so funny that you say your one border is lacking in later-season interest, I always feel that mine are the opposite…great in summer and autumn, somewhat bare in spring!

    • Hi Scott,

      Lol, I’m generally just struggling with this shady border. Really I’m going to end up relying on Geraniums which although will not bloom in summer and autumn, they will at least provide some folage and ground colour. I did also plant Lady’s mantle but I’m beginning to think it might’ve died as I haven’t yet seen any growth on it… Bah.

  2. Lovely photos, especially those with the rain drops! We do need it don’t we, our rivers down here are dangerously low causing concerns about fish, birds etc. Your Fritillary is soooo beautiful!

    • Hi Pauline,

      Haha, I just wish I had as many Frits as you do! Although mine also seem to be hybridising a little – just never took photos; for example I have whites which have a little hint of purple at the top, compared to the normal whites which have green at the top.

      Beginning to worry that we’ve had a little *too* much rain recently. It’s been very on and off again, but I’m obsessing over the slugs and the fact I’ve been too lazy to go get more pellets.

  3. Your garden seems to be enjoying spring! I love all the raindrops on the foliage, especially the lupine. I don’t why water always seems to bead so well on lupine leaves. The Fritillaria is lovely. I was super excited this afternoon find that our wild Fritillarias have bloomed again this year. I’m hoping the sun will come out tomorrow so I can take some photographs before the flowers fade.

    • Hi CV,

      It is strange how water seems to bead on some leafs better than others – like with Lady’s Mantle too!
      Need to take some updated photos here too. We now have quite a nice show of Muscari blooming in the front garden. I like how the shady conditions there have delayed their blooming by a good few weeks compared to the others in sunny spots. It’s certainly helped to extend the border’s interest for longer.

  4. Liz the rain seems to be bringing everything to life…such lovely images of spring…I am just beginning to see the faint flush of foliage as the bleeding hearts emerge here…they will be up before I know it though…just love yours and those ferns!

    • Hi Donna,

      I plan to add more Dicentra species; I prefer the fermy, clump blooming type to the spectabilis long arm types. I had some a while ago, but seem to have lost it… Then this year I’ve discovered a small one coming up – that naturally, I’m thrilled about- and look forward to it blooming although it is being somewhat swamped at the moment by Pulmonaria and Anemones… Hrmmmm.

  5. At least we now have proper April weather. And the rain does help bring on all the plants beautifully. But it does also bring on the slugs!
    We use organic anti-slug techniques at home as it’s safer for the dog. The best stuff we have found is pellets made of sheeps wool. You sprinkle it around the base of the plant you want to protect, and with the addition of water (from rain) the pellets reform into a mat of sheeps wool… it’s similar to the idea of putting cardboard disks or old carpet disks around the bottoms to stop the slugs climbing up from the base. But obviously the sheeps wool lasts fot many weeks, and is totally biodegradable and a renewable resource. And it really works in our garden.
    Drawback is it was quite expensive.

    • Hi,

      Yep I use organic pellets- although not wool types although I have seen them on some websites.
      I also had a rat in the garden last year that did a brilliant job of eating the snails and slugs for me… Just a shame I had to have the rat. Not sure if it’s still there, although to be honest I know it has to be evicted sooner or later.

  6. Liz it’s a beautiful selection of spring bloom photographs. What about an astrantia for your shade – mine is thriving in the shade in the most unpleasant of heavy clay soils but it flowers so well and it would extend the colour a bit longer.

Leave a Reply

