Friday Flowers

OK, so it’s almost Saturday… But, you know. Technically I’m still on time ;)

Not many today, mainly due to the fact it’s been raining almost all week. Today however has been very nice, so I popped out this evening to take a few quick snaps:

Erysimum ‘Bowles Mauve’, Aquilegia and Knautia Macedonica:

And of course, the Forget-me-nots; you’ll be seeing plenty more of these over the coming week or two, assuming the weather allows me to.

Copyright 2011 Liz.
All rights reserved. Content created by Liz for Gwirrel’s Garden.

6 thoughts on “Friday Flowers

  1. I have a confession. Sometimes, the closest I get to stopping to enjoy the flowers is your blog.

    So you would think I’d be sad you only got a few pics? Welllll… no.

    Firstly, because you have some lovely pics of my favourite flower of the month (dicentra).

    But mainly because this proves I’m not alone in being drastically inconvenienced by the weather this week!

    Thankyou.

  2. I have a dicentra inside a big pot were I mainly keep an hydrangea. This year the dicentra managed to get so big and I’m sorry because I really can’t get it out of there without damaging the hydrangea… It is a beautiful flower though, I should get some more and give them the room they need. There’s a white one too which is quite interesting.

    • Hi Alberto,

      Try dividing the pot up – repotting the Hydrangea and removing to dividing the Dicentra up? Generally they don’t like being moved, but it can be done and I imagine it’s best when they’re dormant.
      Yep I have both pink and white Dicentra, but actually want more of the less popular types as I prefer their ferny leaves to spectabilis. I have planted a few but most seem to die away and this year I’ve noticed one battling for a space in the now very crowded cherry border. I may move it elsewhere or try to thin out the Pulmonaria that are strangling it.

    • Hi Donna,

      Things here seem to have had a bit of a stop with all our cold and wet weather. I’ve been unable to get out and enjoy blossoms or take photos because it’s been so rubbish and today’s been OK but I wasted the evening and wish I’d taken advantage and got some things planted when I could as it’s due for more windy and wet weather for the rest of the week now :(
      I just wish it’d brighten up now; I’m beginning to get claustrophobic when I feel trapped in the house all the time and it often kicks in after a few days.

      I don’t even want it to be hot; I’ll be happy if it’s just mild like we had before.

Leave a Reply

