Flower Feature – English Bluebells

You’re going to see quite a few feature and light experiment posts over the coming week or so as I have a lot built up during my short hiatus…

For now though I’m going to feature the Bluebells which have now finished blooming for another year but were stunning and stole my heart like they do every year.

I hope that next year I will have enough to enable me to pick some for the house. This is the first year I’ve had sizeable clumps forming; it’s taken them 4 years to mature into clumps from the oringinal bulbs planted sporadically.


Copyright 2012 Liz.
All rights reserved. Content created by Liz for Gwirrel’s Garden.

15 thoughts on “Flower Feature – English Bluebells

    • Hi Crystal,

      Same here, they bring back very happy and magical memories of my childhood and picking them. We always used to visit Scotland during May and so it also brings back those memories of seeing woodland filled with their beautiful blue and wonderful perfume.
      Naturally I had to have them in my garden too.

  1. Such lovely flowers, best seen en masse, but that’s not so easy in a garden. Their perfume is delightful, makes weeding among them a delight!

    • Hi Pauline,

      Oh how I’d love to have enough space to see them planted en masse! My neighbour has a nice stretch of them under her front windows; but they’re the hybrid Spanish Bluebells (that’s how I think they got into my garden, wind blowing their seeds and they’ve gradually encroached into mine).
      This year my show was a mixture – one clump has grown really quite large, but the rest that are in the Cherry border have been smothered by Geraniums so it felt like I only actually had one clump of them really with the odd couple dotted elsewhere.

    • Hi Donna,

      It’s a shame they haven’t grown for you – in fact I’m surprised, as they can cope with snow and can also be found in sunny and shady spots.

    • Hi,

      Bluebells can be quite invasive once they get going, and I am wondering whether I will eventually have problems with them! But for now I don’t mind, because I love them too much… Ask me in 5 years time though ;)

  2. Hi Liz,

    The english bluebell is one of my favourite wildflowers. A bluebell wood in springtime is the most magical experience. I love the way you show them…..it is difficult to portray a plants beauty and capture the very essence of it but I believe you have done that with these lovely images. Well done :)

    • Hi Cheryl,

      They’re still a plant I haven’t quite managed to capture properly and I think it’ll take another couple of springs. This one has been too dull/wet really and I missed my chance to get photos of them. Normally I like to experiment more and it takes a few different times before I finally get something which captures them fully :)
      I think I also need to have more! It’s just not quite right having just a few clumps, their true beauty seems to be en masse.

  3. Hi Liz! Beautiful pics, as always. Bluebells en masse are in my wishlist for the meadow part (which is in my wishlist too…). You took advantage of the morning light I guess but the best picture I think it is the second of the first row. I love pictures of flowers in a dark background!

    • Hi Alberto,

      Good luck with your Bluebells; I won’t be jealous, at all! :P
      I think these were probably taken in full sun – I know it’s a sin and all that as the light is too harsh etc blah. But evening light doesn’t hit the bluebells and realistically it’s the only time I can get shots that aren’t too grainy.

Leave a Reply

