Garden Blogger’s Foliage Day

Woo hoo, go me! I managed to remember the foliage day! I hope you’re all impressed with me :)

Ok, so I’m going to have to cheat a little bit due to it being a Friday and my need for a Friday Flowers post. Sorry. I also appreciate that I’m moderately cheating by using grasses, or rather grass flowers. So technically it’s not foliage.

Initially we’ll start with Quaking Grass, Festuca and some Lady’s Mantle, or Alchemilla doing what it does best – collecting rain drops.

I’ve come to realise I have loads of different types of foliage with absolutely no idea how to photograph it or place them so they look good together!
There’s only two instances where I think two things are working well together. The rest I’m unsure about or don’t really know what I think.
Anyway, Aconitum looks to be close to blooming but it is still relatively small compared to previous years. Granted, I have moved it so perhaps it’s sulking. I didn’t purposefully place the Acer near it, but I quite like how the colours contrast, yet the foliage is similar so helps to unify the partnership (do I sound like I know what I’m talking about??).
Next up is Sea Holly which will look very different once the stems branch out and blooms form; eventually they will turn to a steely blue hue. The clumps are getting too large and I need to divide them next year because I’ve two close together. Finally we’ll look at Campanula, Fever few and Aster on the upper tier. The lighting makes it difficult to see exactly what’s happening here, but once the Campanula and FFew are blooming it will be much more obvious. But I do like the graduation from low to tall plants.

The Yarrow has surprised me by growing quite so large… I only planted it early spring and didn’t expect it to mature so quickly! As a result it’s managing to crowd out other plants I bought and planted behind it… Perhaps I’ll move it to the back next year. The small Rowan shrub to the right is also being crowded by both the Yarrow and some Astilbes behind – they will have a new home in the front garden next year.

The combination of Geranium and Caryopteris is a surprise – I hadn’t realised its foliage would be a yellowygreen… Not sure I like it, but I am sure I will forgive it when the Bees and Flutters flock to it later in the year.

Geranium, Sedum and Aquilegia are packed in together, I am considering moving the Aquilegia as I think they look out of place in this border… I do however quite like the combination of Shasta Daisy and Flat-topped Aster. I especially love how the Aster’s stem graduates in colour from light to dark. After I gave the Pheasant’s Tail grass a haircut, the Anemone is looking much better this year. However, the Aster still needs to be cut back a little – I’ve already removed a few of its stems to stop it taking over.

I realise that this Geum photo is not technically very good, but I just love the sparkle from the water drop on the bottom petal – it looks much better at full size! And of course I had to play with ‘bokeh’ behind the Quaking grass and Sweet Rocket (btw, you’ll see a lot of the Quaking grass today)

Astrantia is just far too nice and I find myself taking almost the exact same photos every year… Salvia with Festuca makes a nice combination (more Quaking grass, do I really need to even mention it??!) and Geranium Thurstonianum continues to bloom and also provides plenty of foliage.

The Poppies won’t be with us much longer I don’t think. I bought them with as many buds as possible and have been dead-heading them but I’ve taken too long to get them planted so won’t get to enjoy them in the border for very long. The Bird’s Foot Trefoil is getting too large this year, but I do like its leaves and the shade of green. Sedum looks like it is going to bloom for the first time. And I love this shade of Foxglove; it’s such a rich, deep Fuchsia shade. At first I hadn’t really looked twice at it and just thought it was like all the other pinky/purple Foxgloves so I’m glad I looked closer and noticed the difference!

I haven’t featured any images from the front garden but there are some nice Astilbes, as well as the Autumn Ferns but things aren’t yet mature so they all look a little out of place at the moment. I’ve been having difficulty with my knee for a few days after scratching my knee and causing a seemingly minor cut, it would seem I hurt the knee too and it keeps moving and I can feel things happening that normally I wouldn’t feel (I think I need one of those knee supports). I went out today for my hair cut and discovered it doesn’t like going up or down hills either – living on a hill is therefore a problem. So I’m attempting to rest it now but can’t find any sitting position which is comfortable (I normally sit curled up or with my legs crossed and they seem to irritate it). So the point of this story is that I haven’t edited the photos from the front garden because I can’t sit in a comfortable position!
Copyright 2012 Liz.
All rights reserved. Content created by Liz for Gwirrel’s Garden.

8 thoughts on “Garden Blogger’s Foliage Day

  1. So sorry to hear about your knee, can sympathise having had knee trouble a lot in the past and 2 operations years ago, hope it soon gets better.
    Well done for joining in with foliage day, you have some lovely contrasts and textures. all the raindrops look lovely in your photos, we’ve all had rather too many of those lately and lots more tonight!
    Your poppies and grass are really super, lots of lovely flowers in your foliage post!

    • Hi Pauline,

      I used to have quite a few probs with my knees when I lived in terraced houses; their stairs are very steep and I’d find, what can only be described as the nerve would get trapped at a certain point of my knee bending and sometimes be so painful I’d want to instantly vomit. Then it’d take a day or two to stop aching after. But since moving to a semi, where the stairs are a normal height/angle I don’t get the same problem any more and only occasionally my knees ache if I’m up and down kneeling in the garden a lot (hasn’t happened in a long time).
      So I’m a bit annoyed that this is likely to take weeks or months to totally get better. So I think I might get a support for it to help things along.

      We had a fairly nice break in the rain for the past couple of hours but it’s just started to rain heavily again as well as now having a relatively strong wind blowing… I hate wind the most. It’s broken a branch of the Buddleja off which has fallen on one of the Lupins and broken half it off – and subsequently lost two blooms :(

      I’m hopeful tomorrow will be OK – it’s meant to be, except for late afternoon/evening. Not that I can do anything in the garden though!

  2. The quaking grass is really beautiful, I’d love to grow it, but I have a feeling with the current weather it’d be more “shaking violently” as opposed to just quaking! Hope your knee gets better soon- gardening, photography and hills are all very hard on them! :)

  3. Liz I am so sorry to hear about your knee…I know exactly what you are going through. 8 more weeks for mine to heal and I just pulled a ligament in it…that will teach me to be more careful….I absolutely love the blooms and the grasses. I am amazed at the color of the foxglove. I like to combine memes too and this was a fab post…well done!

  4. Liz, I love the sweet geum with the sparkle of a raindrop! Really enjoyed your shot of the astrantia (mine just got eaten off by a deer last night!) and the beautiful quaking grass shots are so delicate . . .I can just picture their lovely seed heads swaying with the slightest of breezes. Hope your knee feels better soon!

  5. Hi Liz,

    It is strange, seeing so many of your plants, I have a vision of your garden, and wonder if it actually looks like it!
    It certainly must be full of plants, and it is amazing how it has changed over the last few years.

    Quaking grass is a favourite plant of mine…..It comes and goes here. I actually never planted it, so not sure how it arrived.
    I love the way it dances in the breeze….you captured it beautifully by the way :)

    Hope your knee shows sign of getting better soon Liz….do take care.

    • Hi Cheryl,

      Haha, it’s very hard to realistically show a garden – unless of course we create walkthroughs on video! Although, tbh I like to remain anonymous so actually I also don’t like showing too much of the garden at any one time (and never show the house).
      But yes, it is amazing how much things have changed; did I have any blooms in the first few years?? It feels like I can’t have! :)

      I think I need to create a clump of the Quaking grass, as it’s so small it easily gets tangled in other plants and its stems get damaged. So perhaps a larger clump is the way forward for the future, and preferably not near anything it can tagle around! Tbh, I think it’s a wild grass, so no doubt will have arrived via the birds or perhaps in some of your wild flower/meadow seed?

      The knee is OK. I’ve been taking it easy i.e. bored silly sat on the sofa all day. I’m beginning to get stir crazy and actually today I’ve been attempting to do a bit of physio on it to get it used to bending more.

  6. Lovely foliage Liz! I had seen Quaking Grass and wondered what it was called. Am beginning to look for a suitable place in the garden for some myself, I reckon it would be great for flower arrangements.

Leave a Reply

