Friday Flowers

Friday Flowers

There haven’t been many chances this week to get any photos of the garden… Thursday actually turned out nicer than expected and was, for the most part hot and sunny. Then just as I popped out after work to take photos and dead-head the roses it suddenly began to rain, big fat drops which quickly became a heavy downpour.

Although, it was nice and cooling. Obviously I ended up coming back indoors. It didn’t last long but the rest of the evening was dull and grey.

These photos are actually a week old (I’m behind, again) but it’s still a relatively realistic view of what’s happening.

This is my first year with Delphiniums and I am loving this ‘Gentian Blue’. The camera has difficulty catching how brilliant the blue is in real life. Until recently they’d survived the slugs but the past couple of days I’ve had to pick them off as they’re eating the blooms :(

This little purple bloom has managed to find its way into the lawn… Anyone knows what it is?

Bees are enjoying Geranium ‘Orion’ and I spotted a sneaky Shield bug laying eggs on a dead Geum bloom… Good thing I dead-head them so no eggs!

I’m quite smitten with the corncockles; they’re really rather nice, aren’t they? And I also enjoy seeing them next to the Geums…

Geranium Anne Folkard had perhaps the most blooms she’s ever managed here! Although, 10 isn’t much to shout about ;). The small Lupins I planted this year have surprised me with blooms already, and even better is that the picture showed they would be red; pink is much better!

Straw Foxglove is blooming and doing very well this year, and the seed heads of Clematis Etoile Violette are lovely!

So far the irises I added last year have been a bit of a mix, or rather a surprise… what do I mean by this? Well, two have turned out to be different to expected and the one I was most doubtful about turned out to be actually very nice!
Iris Sibirica Perry’s Blue was as advertised – a lightish blue
Iris Sibirica Caesar’s brother was meant to be a deep purple with some pattern on its throad
Iris Ensata Ocean Mist was meant to be a light blue with large white throat and a little yellow… Instead it looks like this!

I also have my first Sweet Peas, at long last! This is Spanish dancer and she’s a real beauty; it’s just a shame she has next to no scent. Can’t ever have the best of both worlds, can we?

Copyright 2012 Liz.
All rights reserved. Content created by Liz for Gwirrel’s Garden.

20 thoughts on “Friday Flowers

  1. Beautiful sweet pea, and I am mesmerised by the central shot above the irises: looks like a mix of Salvia (nemorosa Caradonna?), geum, briza and corncockle among others…

    • Hi,

      I just wish the Sweet pea had the perfume with it. I’m not sure if it’s worth growing it again next year, as it takes up space that could be used by a sweet pea that does have the nice smell!
      Yup you got the list pretty much correct; there’s also a white Gaura and white campion, pink rose is a blur in the background and the lighter salvia in the foreground is ‘blue hill’.

  2. Such a lot of lovely flowers with other little gems peeping in from the background! Your little blue flower in your lawn is Prunella vulgaris or Selfheal. It got its common name from being used to cure skin wounds. The leaves were pulverised and mixed with wood ash to form a poultice. Sarah Ravens book of wild flowers says ” one of the first wildflowers to creep into areas of rough grass left unmown in a lawn” We have loads of it in our lawn or should I say grassy area, I think it looks quite pretty so it is welcome to stay!!

    • Hi Pauline,

      Strange that the self heal has popped up; it’s the middle of the lawn and it’s definitely not kept unmown! I think this might be the second or third year I’ve had it now. As long as it doesn’t get too tall then it’ll be fine – I have chopped its head once. But I’m not going to mow around it – I’ve already got enough patches I have to leave unmown such as around the clover as it’s blooming and the ragwort that has popped up! :D

    • Hi Crystal,

      Yep, indeed. So thoroughly fed up now of all this rubbish that I feel like fleeing the country to find somewhere that isn’t suffering so much.

    • Hi Donna,

      I’m looking forward to the Delphs maturing and having enough stems on them for me to bring indoors! :D
      I also have whites that are now in bloom and just waiting on the rose ones to bloom.

  3. Hi Liz – what a wonderful array of flowers! The delphiniums look very healthy. I love the Spanish Lady sweet peas very aptly named, you can just see the swish of the Spanish dancer’s skirt.

    • Hi Ronnie,

      I hope your garden is blooming well too? Although tbh, everything here now is so drenched, the petals are being destroyed. Unsure whether to chop all the rose blooms and bring them indoors since I’m unable to enjoy them outside!
      Yesterday evening I rushed outside to chop back the Geranium Samobor and then also ended up ripping up herb robert that has taken over the entire border – its branches are SO brittle! So now I’m trying to decide whether to take the chance and pull up Samobor and divide it, since it’s so wet hopefully it won’t really even notice the move!

  4. Hi Liz, you have a lot of pretty things there! Pictures are always amazing, especially the one of the geum and the sweet peas. I’d like to learn more about straw foxglove, do you have a bigger picture? What’s your experience with it?

    • Hi Alberto,

      You can view the photo of the Foxglove larger by clicking on it; it’ll then open up in a new window. Alternatively, if you want a wider view, here’s one from the end of month post:
      Straw Foxglove For more photos I also made a post on them last year: Straw Foxglove
      It’s a small perennial Foxglove, by that I mean its blooms are small, as you can see but its height is similar to that of the more common biennual Foxgloves. So far they’ve done well in all the spots I’ve planted them – shade and full sun. This year they’ve done especially well, and I suppose that’s thanks to all the rain we’ve had, so I imagine they like moist conditions.

  5. Hi Liz,

    Small purple flower…..Self Heal I believe.

    Corncockle are beautiful…..I can remember seeing them in the cornfields as a child. The farmers hated them.
    I did not grow any this year, I forgot for some reason :(
    Delphiniums are my fathers favourite, he used to have a garden full of them. They looked stunning en masse.
    I do not grow them here, I think they would flop with my very fertile soil.

    When we first moved here I had straw foxglove in the garden…..now they have completed disappeared, can’t tell you why. They are tiny but so pretty and the bees just love them.

    • Hi Cheryl,

      I’ve tried numerous times to grow corncockle, campion etc and have given up as they never happen. I found some at Clumber park months ago and picked up various wildflowers and will probably have to do the same again next year unless I’m lucky enough for these to self-seed!

      Now, if only I had the space to plant anything en masse ;) I ended up giving three to my parents as it was because I didn’t have space for them all! (not mentioning the seedlings I have too….)
      Thankfully these have stayed quite small but I put that down to taking too long planting them, and the poor weather.

      I thought I sent you some Straw Foxglove seeds last year? Perhaps it was someone else; I’ll save some this year (think I have some left from last year but probably best I collect fresh seed).

      • Yes Liz, you did send me some. I have failed miserably with them, as I have with many seedlings in the greenhouse this year. I do not use heat….and with the weather many of them just wilted.
        I have some seeds left so will try again …….at some point.

        • Hi Cheryl,

          Not to worry – I had exactly the same. Pretty much all of mine have been a no-show. Sweet peas are now coming into bloom and I’ve had three pea pods (woo hoo) but otherwise not doing well. Toms seem to also be doing fairly well now but all flower type seedlings have just, well, been a waste of time. I had to buy some Cosmos because none of mine have made it over 10cm tall.

  6. Hi Liz, I was worried about you (and Crystal) when I saw Sheffield on the news on Friday evening. The rain didn’t stop here all day!

    Anyway your photos are as lovely as always. Those Corncockles are so pretty and I love the colour of the Sweet Pea but no scent!!! A Sweet Pea with no scent? Oh dear, that’s just not right.

    I don’t think the Shieldbugs do any damage to garden flowers although I think they can taint fruit sometimes and make them a bit stinky!

  7. It must be frustrating trying to get shots in this weather. At the first hint of sunshine I’m out. Loving your summer flowers, they almost make me forget the weather has been so pants, shame the rain is bouncing off the roof at the moment. I love corncockles, too. There’s a patch of them on the way to the allotment but it’s been so wet I haven’t had a chance to get a photo of them.

Leave a Reply

