Garden Blogger’s Foliage Day – July 2012

Righty-ho it’s time for the foliage post! it’s pretty much the same as previous months if I’m brutally honest – I guess this is an obvious observation as foliage doesn’t tend to change significantly throughout the year other than in Autumn when leaves turn golds, oranges and reds or in spring with the emergence of fresh growth.

Anyway, to kick things off I’ll mention that I still really like the combination of Acer ‘garnet’ and Aconitum, the leaves although both deeply cut juxtapose nicely thanks to very different colours.

Secondly is a combination I noticed today – Black Elder and Japanese Anemone and then I also noticed that Aster ‘Lady in Black’ blends in nicely with the black elder as it too as a deep purple hue to the edge of its leaves and stems.

Although the Russian Dwarf Almond peaks in Spring, it has a nice dense shrubby habit, and of course Crocosmia has lovely grassy leaves – I need to rip this out as it’s being invaded by grass from next door. I haven’t decided what I will replace it with though so it’s a job for another time. To the far right a bloom from Roseraie de L’hay can be seen – this Shrub rose has done extremely well, not only is it around 6 foot tall but it’s also now nice and dense.

Looking towards the Cherry border and it’s looking far less lush than before – this is because I’ve moved Geranium ‘Samobor’ to the back and hacked Herb robertopewn down and opened up the front a little to allow the Pulmonaria and Maccrorhizum Geraniums some space. I’ve also pulled out a lot of the Foxgloves before they’ve set seed as they will be replaced with the many ‘excelsior’ mix Floxglove seedlings I have. So hopefully I’ll have a wider range of colours – creams, whites and such.

We’re now entering that time of year when the grasses come into their own. Here we have Persicaria surrounded by Miscanthus ‘Flamingo’, the blooms from Pheasant’s grass and Stipa Tenuissima. I know it’s all very crowded but the Stipa was intended for elsewhere and all the rain we’ve had meant I haven’t managed to move it.

Here we have the seemingly spikey blooms from Stipa Tenuissima and the leaves of a Nettle… I think we both know which of the two is actually painful!

Finally, although there are blooms in the shot, it’s actually the ground cover I’m looking at in this shot… if you want a Geranium that blooms profusely and still remains looking good late in the season with no signs of flopping over, try Thursonianum!
And we’ll finish this foliage day with the blade of Japanese Blood grass…

Copyright 2012 Liz.
All rights reserved. Content created by Liz for Gwirrel’s Garden.

5 thoughts on “Garden Blogger’s Foliage Day – July 2012

  1. I want your lush green foliage…mine is brown and many leaves are starting to drop on bushes and some on trees…grass is brown and crunchy…even the weeds are getting brown…except for some natives that love this weather my foliage is hurting…gorgeous lovely pictures.

    • Hi Donna,

      Your problems sound similar to what we had last year – was shocked to see Trees in the city centre looking very dead; and it was only May!
      I still think I’d rather have sun than constant rain and floods… But I never do well in heat, so it’s a tough call!

  2. Its thanks to all our rain that the foliage is looking so good at this stage , you have some lovely combinations and your ground cover Geranium is definitely one to look out for.

    • Hi Pauline,

      Beware of Thurstonianum though; it’s a thug! As you can see it’s quite massive and I’ve only had it since last summer. I’ve had to cut it back a little because it’s beginning to strangle other plants. However it is doing an excellent job of adding some colour and interest to a border which normally I lament how dead and boring it is. I believe you’re better off with a realtive of Thurstonianum – Sherwood which I think is less aggressive/easier to control. If only the person who gave me this had told me that at the time!!

  3. Hi Liz, gardening and blogging just lends itself to repeats, Also you have different people stumbling across your blog every day, so no problem. We also have the Hardy Geranium Thursonianum, a little peculiar, but I like it.

Leave a Reply

