Friday Flowers

This is going to be a short post… mainly because I don’t actually really have anything to show you!

I don’t think I’ve taken any photos this week, because of three reasons really a) it’s been quite dull b) I’ve been staying out of the garden after having acquired lots of little bites; even places where no bug ought to go! And c) I’ve been battling with some weird cold, type hayfever, type throat infection and haven’t really been able to go outside as I get out of breath, start choking and it just isn’t very good. Yesterday afternoon at work I began to struggle talking and it felt like my voice was going to go, however this morning it hadn’t but I was still struggling and felt bad. I decided to call the docs at work this morning and book myself in.

So yes, antibiotics it is and apparently I’m not the only one at the moment with this weird illness, that the docs aren’t sure if it’s viral or bacterial (not that the antib’s will do anything against a virus).

And so, my Friday flowers post will have to consist of my latest vase:

Crocosmia, Rudbeckia and Scabious.

Copyright 2012 Liz.
All rights reserved. Content created by Liz for Gwirrel’s Garden.

12 thoughts on “Friday Flowers

  1. Sorry you’re still suffering, hope the pills sort you out so that you can enjoy your garden again. Lovely flowers in your vase, I actually bought a plant of Helenium yesterday, you have converted me!!

    • Hi Pauline,

      Had two tabs as a first dose – only one a day from herein, and actually do feel quite good and I don’t have as much of that feeling of being unable to breathe as I have over the past few days or so. I’m hoping the biting things have moved on now and I can get out into the garden; don’t usually get bitten, so it was a surprise to see so many on me.

      Glad to hear I’ve converted you to Heleniums :) Looking forward to seeing photos of said plant soon!

  2. It’s beautiful and hope you are better soon!! The leaves are turning to red and gold. I can’t believe it and we only have seven hummingbirds left. The coyotes are back, one big dark red one and one brownish gray and lots of young pups. We heard them night before last. the ragweed is blooming as is the Queen Anne’s lace and it’s no wonder you aren’t feeling well. Fall and winter are on the way!

    • Hi Scott,

      Thanks :D I feel OK in myself tbh, and hope to get out in the garden this weekend – although I think we’re due more grey and more rain.

    • Hi,

      That’s the thing though; I don’t actually feel ill! Which is why I’ve been thinking it might be hayfever. This morning I did feel bad though, especially as I was struggling to talk and decided to just phone for an appointment. My justification was that it’s been 3 weeks and is only getting worse!
      Dr said that because I’ve got asthma and with it being the bank holiday weekend he’d give me some tablets and we’ll see if it improves. I just hope I get to sleep better tonight – keep waking choking and not sleeping well as a result.

Leave a Reply

