Garden Blogger’s Bloom Day – October 2012

Pretty much more of the same for this month, except a few more Asters have come into bloom; the up-side has to be that I don’t think there’s anything that has stopped blooming.
OK, so the Cosmos are on their last leg which is odd because normally they bloom into November and even December. But we do still have other blooms such as Sedum, Rudbeckia, Erysimum and Persicaria.
The delicate purple bells of Campanula are a nice addition to the late garden.

A little more twee than I normally have, but with the poor summer I needed something to cheer up the door steps. The Petunias haven’t done well, but the Lobelia at least look nice still. And I bought a new Viola hanging basket ready to replace the basket I have.

Oh course, at this time of year the colour isn’t only coming from blooms. There’s plenty of colour also from the plants; but I won’t dwell on the foliage, as I need to save the photos for the foliage day next week!

Over the past week there’s been quite a dramatic change in the garden and autumn has definitely arrived chez Liz. There’s no denying any more that the garden is dying. Thankfully there are still some Asters to bloom, however I cannot see them easily after moving them last year!

All the colour seems to be in one area – the right border. With the Erysimum which never seems to stop blooming. At. All.
It is joined by Rudbeckia and Geum in the background. Meanwhile Asters bloom in various parts of the garden, and the Persicaria, another impressive bloomer is producing new blooms.

The first blooms from the Autumn Cherry. I hope it doesn’t forego blooming next spring like it did this year.

Nigella still hasn’t realised it’s Autumn, and I have a nice little patch of them blooming along the path as you come to the house. Also along the path are the Ammi and these unknown, chrysanthemum-looking blooms.

There are still a few jobs I need to go around the garden; mainly dressing the borders with a fine mulch or compost to protect the less hardy plants (I’ve an awful feeling we’re in for a bad winter to add to our shocking ‘summer’). I’m not one for protecting plants, but I don’t want to risk losing the Verbenas and various grasses that would normally survive, but cannot tolerate extremes. Plus, a nice layer of mulch looks much more attractive than bare soil.

Chrysanthemums still haven’t opened… I hope they bloom before they’re hit back too hard! I have bought and planted my Paperwhite Narcissi… Here’s hoping they bloom at Christmas this year and not in November. A white rose is blooming again; in fact I’m surprised my ‘Susan Williams-Ellis’ hasn’t bloomed for a few months now. I think I’ll keep this white rose on the front wall, and remove one of the weaker roses with poor repeat blooming and no scent. The colder weather makes the buds on the rose turn pink, but once it opens they will be white/cream.

The Asters are centre stage at the moment. And I’ve noticed there’s two shades of purple on the one plant… Some blooms look indigo, but most look more violet.

Erysimum have begun to bloom again, and I do really like how they start a reddish orange and fade to purple. Plus, the golden leaves of my little Oak; which I suspect a Jay or Squirrel planted for me! They don’t grow very quickly, do they? I know they take a couple of hundred years to maturity, but c’mon this is 3 years old!

Just in the bottom right corner of the last shot you can see the Forget-me-nots already growing for next year. I have quite a few around, and will probably steal more off my parents in spring but I am glad I have some at least!

Please pop over to Carol at: May dreams gardens for more GBBD posts.

Copyright 2012 Liz.
All rights reserved. Content created by Liz for Gwirrel’s Garden.

16 thoughts on “Garden Blogger’s Bloom Day – October 2012

  1. Lots of lovely flowers still, amazing how some of them still keep going. Is your little chrysanthemum like flower a double feverfew? Love your new viola basket, that will look lovely all winter! We have the same problem with oak seedlings, jays and squirrels are often in the garden burying them, then I come along, pull them out, pot them up and give them away, having 5 huge, old ones already we don’t want any more!!

    • Hi Pauline,

      The Erysimum are amazing, although I do hear they often literally bloom themselves to death and therefore do not have a long life; worth it though. Last winter they bloomed constantly and I expect much of the same again this year.
      I think we have a little micro-climate in the garden, the first frost a couple of days ago didn’t touch my grass or plants, but next door it was obvious; no doubt thanks to the hedge, fence and various shrubs my plants escaped this time.

      We don’t have many Squirrels around here, in fact I haven’t seen one this year at all so I suspect it was more likely sa Jay… Although saying that, I also haven’t seen the Jays this year either :(
      And, as far as I’m aware, there are no Oaks around here, so I am pleased to see it!

  2. I enjoyed your October blooms Liz – you still have much colour glowing in your garden. What a pretty erysimum – which one is it? I must have a peek tomorrow at my autumn flowering cherry to see if they are any signs of flowers.

    • Hi Anna,

      I’ve a few Erysimum, most of them are ‘Bowles Mauve’ which are purple, and the other in this post is ‘Winter Sorbet’. It’s still a small plant, but hopefully next year they will have matured and will produce lots of blooms like the ‘Bowles Mauve’ are.
      I also have ‘Lemon’, ‘Sweet Sorbet’ and ‘Winter Joy’ – all are still quite small.

      So far my Cherry doesn’t seem to have many blooms on it… I’m hoping if it does, then it will bloom again in Spring. No point in it blooming in autumn/winter if I can’t get nice photos!!! :D

      • Hi there Liz, you know I am a fan of ‘Bowles Mauve’, I must take a look at these other varieties now – thanks for that. Wonderful images and blooms. Wishing you a belated Happy Bloom Day – you have a serious party going on here ;-)

        • Hi Shirl,

          Surprisingly, the one I like the most is ‘lemon’ – I had assumed this would be the one I least like! But the yellow blooms contrast nicely with the mature, purple blooms and they’re actually quite nice.

  3. And I was thinking of growing some oaks by planting a few acorns! Looks like I’ll have to be VERRRRRYYYY patient! :) Your blooms are splendid. Asters are such wonderful flowers! I wonder why yours has two shades! I always forget that I want to add nigella to my garden. I love their delicate little blooms.

    • Hi,

      Haha, don’t count on ever seeing an Oak over a few metres tall if you plant the Acorns… It’s a shame they take so long to maturity. These days they just wouldn’t ever get the chance to reach it because the next people living in the house would just remove it… I’d love to have a garden with Oaks in it!

      Most of the Nigella here self seed from a few years ago – I haven’t purposefully sown any for a few years now. But these in the front garden must have been part of a seed mix I spread, which included the Ammi and the cream/yellow unknown bloom. I had some very nice white Nigella in the back this year actually!

    • Hi Donna,

      If only it was still summer, Donna. Then at least we’d still have the chance of summer weather! Oh well, things are most definitely decaying now; no doubt about that.
      Waiting for other plants to die back before I can get the last of the bulbs in; at the moment I just can’t get to the soil because of all the growth. I’ve quite a few Alliums yet to plant, but they should be ok with a late planting, assuming the weather isn’t too bad…

  4. Your pansies are very cheery for the pots. I took my tender plants out of my pots, and put in some blue and pale yellow pansies. the lobelia from spring was still doing well in the pots, so I left it in.

    Your asters are full of saturated colour, which will go well with all of the fall leaves.Your mighty oak will have to watch out that it doesn’t get overtaken by the forget me nots.

    • Hi,

      The Violas should last all winter, although really it depends on how well watered I keep them! Generally I’m poor at keeping plants at the front of the house watered. I’m tempted to go and get more for other pots.

      My Oak sure is one beast of a specimen… I’m so proud! :D At this rate it might reach 1foot in 10 years.

  5. Your garden looks wonderful; you’d never believe that you’ve had a bad summer. the light also looks very bright, what time of day did you take the photographs? Christina

    • Hi Christina,

      Oh yes our ‘summer’. If that’s what you like to call it………………… We’re having better weather now than throughout summer, it’s just cold though. Well, that is if you ignore the flooding that some areas have experienced… Whoops!

      Around here, at least has been mostly OK, this morning was torrential rain but soon cleared up to a nice day.

      I took the photos at a range of times over a number of days – basically whenever the sun was out or it was light enough for photos.

Leave a Reply

