Garden Blogger’s Foliage day – October 2012

Foliage… Right… We’re quickly losing a lot of the foliage. A problem I am well aware of, mainly due to the fact I dislike evergreens. Yes they’re handy in winter, but I just don’t like them. They’re often waxy or plasticy and imo, ugly.

However, this doesn’t help me during the winter months, does it?

Don’t get me wrong, I do have some evergreens and I recognise that I ought to have more, it’s just I find many unappealing. Although there are some very pretty unusual firs that I’d love to have if I had the space for them.

The colours this year are amazing; the best I’ve seen in years. Almost every tree looks stunning, plus the often sunny weather is helping immensely… Is it just me, or is everyone else experiencing lots of huge, Monster spiders around their homes???! Normally we see them in August- early September. Yes we had them then, but now over the past week or two I’ve seen loads more! Eeeeeek.

I should warn you now; this is a long one.

Flat-topped Aster once again shows why it’s so useful in the garden. After its blooms, it has pretty seed heads, then its rainbow shades and finally in winter it is very pretty when covered in frost or snow.

The green in the midst of the reds, orange and yellows is in fact a species Foxglove. I meant to move it this year but the rains of spring and summer stopped me.

Roseraie de L’hay has had a good year, with lovely lush growth, plenty of blooms and now a glorious golden coat that glows in the sun:

It even has some new buds on it… They’re unlikely to bloom though before they die.

Jasmine is losing its leaves, although not as beautifully colours as many other plants, and the Lady’s Mantle doesn’t look to be declining quite yet. I do have to wonder whether I’d prefer the foliage to remain year-round or would I miss autumn?

The Heuchera has managed to self-seed in two places… I am passing them onto my parents; I don’t want them. Although their dainty blooms are quite nice if you look closely. Meanwhile the fresh Aquilegia leaves didn’t last very long and the foliage of Yarrow and Asters

My little Acer ‘Katsura’ is only just showing signs of changing. Previously it has produced quite a spectrum of colours, with emeralds, garnets, ambers and rubies… I hope this year isn’t a disappointment.

Tiny little Sorbus Forestii has very pretty leaves… Just imagine once it’s a 3m tree! The blooms on Aster Lady in Black are just opening now… Note to self. Create some proper steps up to the upper tier so one doesn’t slip onto their derrière trying to step back down.

The Hosta really begins to look ugly once they turn yellow… they turn a really rotten yellow and really do not die well at all.
A small gem in the border is the Campanula, with beautiful fresh green leaves. Seedling Foxgloves are doing well, and I have potted them on ready to be planted. I planted quite a few a while ago, but they all disappeared……… Never had the Foxgloves eaten before. But thankfully I kept one pot behind and now have quite a few that I think are large enough to survive.

One plant which definitely it not dying well, is the Veronicastrum… Those black leaves…

I have never noticed the ivy develop a pink tinge to its leaves before… I’ve had it in this pot for quite a number of years now.

Acer ‘garnet’ may not be a large tree… In fact it’s barely over 30cm at the moment, but it really is amazing. I’m actually wishing I planted it somewhere I can easily see it from the house and can enjoy it easily.

Copyright 2012 Liz.
All rights reserved. Content created by Liz for Gwirrel’s Garden.

22 thoughts on “Garden Blogger’s Foliage day – October 2012

  1. Lots of super foliage, my Acers haven’t really started yet, yours are fantastic. Your little Sorbus is so pretty, what a sight it will be when its fully grown.

    • Hi Pauline,

      Last year ‘Katsura’ took quite a while to lose its leaves and I hope this year is no different, whereas ‘garnet’ loses them very quickly, as soon as there’s wind. I’m glad I took the photos when I could. Although, judging by the terrible foggy weather of the past two days, I imagine a lot of plants will be tricked into believing it’s mid-winter already.

      I’m looking forward to the Sorbus maturing; its colours will be stunning, that’s for certain and it has pretty berries.

  2. Lovely autumn photos. My acer is still green at the moment, but I did notice my blueberries were a lovely red colour this year. Unfortunately, they lost their leaves before I got the camera out.

    • Hi Crystal,

      Unfortunately we do have to be fast with the camera these days – popping out at the first sign of sun for photos… That is, if the fog ever lifts! The past two days at work have been solid, thick fog. Happens just as I go up Derbyshire lane and near to work but the rest of the city centre is generally OK. Sure is grim sitting at my desk looking out at it though – even if there are interesting, scary images to be had.

  3. Your Acer ‘Garnet’ has spectacular foliage colour, such a vivid fall change. I could see how you would want it to be highly visible. It will make a good focal point when it get taller. Your Sorbus has a good colour, too.

    Many of my Hostas collapsed quickly after turning yellow, so they didn’t do much for the fall garden.

    • Hi,

      Garent won’t get very tall – 1.5m I believe, but I will definitely be able to see it better than now.

      Never had much luck with the Hostas; this one at least often doesn’t turn until quite late, but I know in a few days it’ll look really bad before, as you said; they collapse and thankfully can’t see them any more!

    • Hi Donna,

      Glad to hear I’m not the only one lacking the evergreens………….. :) I’m not so bad with small, evergreens such as Hellebores. Ferns will not die back unless hit by snow. I do have Garrya, Skimmia, Sweet Box, Osmanthus, Cotoneasters, Pyracantha which are all evergreen or semi evergreen though.

  4. Some lovely autumn colours – contrasting with vivid fresh green in the first shot. I think our young Acer ‘Garnet’ is losing most of its leaves before they turn, being quite exposed here until the hornbeam grows taller and deflects the wind more.

    • Hi,

      Yep, garnet does seem to lose its leaves very easily – I was lucky and caught it, but now there’s very few leaves left on it. Mine is in a sheltered site which is protected by a 6+foot hedge and shed, so doesn’t suffer so much from wind problems but within a few days of my photos, the leaves were mostly gone.

  5. Not enough sunshine down here to really appreciate the colours. Wet and grey. Your post has brightened up my lunch break. Thank you :) I don’t like evergreens either but I’m learning that it is important to have some for that winter structure and I don’t have nearly enough. Loving Roseraie de L’hay in particular.

    • It’s been very wet and grey here too. Three days of thick fog at work – rest of the city is OK… well, not OK at such, but not thick fog; fog lights on the car type of fog. So very fed up of it now.
      I really begin to suffer without sun and don’t care if it’s freezing cold and sunny, just as long as there’s sunlight.

      I think it’s each to their own tbh. After all, we can’t all like everything. Some people fill their gardens with exotics or annuals, leaving nothing behind in the winter. I do have some winter shrubs – Skimmia and Sweetbox are examples. But I’m not going to fill my garden with evergreens just for winter.

    • Hi Debs,

      Thanks! Autumn is wonderful, and this year has seen some amazing colours. it’s just a shame the weather has become much worse over the past few days… Sunny but cold this weekend, as long as I can take photos then I’m happy.

  6. The first shot is my favorite, super pretty bokah. I’m sure over the years you’ll pick up an interesting evergreen here or there and end up with enough to keep you sitting pretty through the winter!

    • Hi VW,

      More Bokeh to come… Lots of it, in fact. Had a real bokeh weekend last week and need to decide whether to feature them all in the one post or keep some back for posting later, when there’s little else to photograph.

      I do have a few evergreens, only I don’t have room nor the inclination to plant lots of them. I much prefer perennials and grasses. And since I don’t cut back the death plants, there’s always something to photograph and a certain beauty can be found in death… Plus, frost always looks good on dead plants.

  7. Surprisingly I kind of share your feelings regarding the evergreens. I say surprisingly because we have so many of them. It all came about at a time when we decided that we wanted a garden that would look good even when nothing is in bloom. I think it works but the thrill of seeing perennials emerge in Spring and the leaves of deciduous shrubs unfurl is unbeatable. Your Acers are fabulous.

  8. Evergreens are not always my favorite either but they do really hold the garden together in winter. I prefer the smaller pine cultivars and tend to stay away from junipers. Now boxwood is fabulous, unfortunately it needs more water than I have.

Leave a Reply

