Gwirrel’s Garden – Literally

Since this blog is supposed to be about my garden perhaps it’s time I actually posted something about it??

Let’s have a look at its progression from April to August – haven’t taken any photos more recently, perhaps I should?? Hmmm, not that there’s anything to see anymore since most plants have died away.

First we have April:




Onto May and things are beginning to flower




And onto July






As you can see a great deal hasn’t really changed, but it’s a start and as the plants mature I’m sure things will get better. I plan on extending some of the flower beds and such to allow for more, but these are the more long term plans.

I have a lovely book for planting natural gardens, as I want a garden for wildlife but also something that’s romantic and dreamy. So lots of soft flowing grasses, fluffy seed heads and such. Oooh it’s so exciting.

5 thoughts on “Gwirrel’s Garden – Literally

  1. Thanks Tricia, it’s going to take a long time to get there, especially since I have big plans for it. One of the main things is to have far less grass (although is it very nice to sit on grass in the summer!I still have problems knowing exactly how large the plants will get, and I suspect this is something which comes with experience.And as with most other things in life, I have priorities so some things may take a while to come and I may do the front garden first – plan on pulling up the turf and putting down gravel/sleet/stepping stones. The front only has a small area of grass and carrying the mower round just to push it back and forth 10 times seems so annoying 😀

  2. Your yard and garden are gorgeous! It must be so inspiring to look out at this every day. 🙂 I’m a little jealous. As a wildlife artist I’m always curious to see other people’s photography and nature that surrounds them. Thanks for sharing!Christina Langmanwww.BigCatArt.com

  3. Thank you Christina, my yard/garden still has a long way to go until I’m happy with it, but hopefully in 5 years I’ll be well on my way to being happy with it.At the moment it’s somewhat uninspiring – I need more winter plants, but in Spring/Summer I’m rarely ever in the house because I love it so much. I had a venture out at the weekend and this evening, getting a feel for it again and looking forward for the plants blooming – Crocus, Bluebells and Iris are already on their way, it won’t be long before they’re greeting me with their wonderful colours 🙂

Leave a Reply

