My most recent purchases

It’s become rather apparent after having seen blogs from around the world that I am severely lacking when it comes to general interest in my borders. And I’ve noticed that many people are using grasses to provide another dimension and to also help extend their seasons.

Previously I did try grasses, but some were failures such as the Pheasant’s tail grass which I soon discovered is not fully hardy and of course last year we had terrible snow. One did survive, but it’s really rather sparse and I do have quite a number of seedlings popping up around the garden which, if we have another hard winter also will not survive.
The Carex were also ruined by the snow as they were crushed, their blades broken and resembled worzel gummidge’s hair, unsurprisingly they never recovered, so I’ve given up on sedges too.

So a couple of days ago I went on the hunt for some persicaria…. I should’ve known I wouldn’t find any, however I did come across some attractive grasses as well as various other pretty things!

First off was corkscrew rush; I’d seen it earlier in the year but was too expensive, this time they were in smaller pots and far more reasonably priced. I picked up three to start me off, and we’ll see how it goes! I fell in love with this after having seen it on VW’s blog.

I also picked up a couple of ‘mums for only £5… they’re a little blousy for me, but smell great, the insects love them and of course are very welcome at this time of year; especially as some of my asters have failed!

I also got some Pennisetum ‘Hameln’

Some Imperata cylindrical ‘Rubra’.

And some Panicum virgatum ‘Rehbraun’
Now I just need to decide where they’re all going to go…

Copyright 2011 Liz.
All rights reserved. Content created by Liz for Gwirrel’s Garden.

2 thoughts on “My most recent purchases

    • Hi Karen,

      I’m glad you mentioned that the rush will survive no matter! I’ve read on one website that it likes wet soil and I’ve been worried about where to plant it because the place I’d had in mind wouldn’t remain damp in summer… I think I’ll go ahead with its intended place then! 🙂
      The Rehbraun is lovely and has some very nice flowers on it at the moment, I just need to get it planted so I can fully appreciate its colours.

Leave a Reply

