Chatsworth House – Amazing Dahlias

Ok, so at the end of the last blog post I teased you all with this image:

Obviously I can hear you all screaming for me to tell you what those pretty colours are. Some of you may have also guessed from the title of the blog post what they were.

They weren’t all Dahlias, as the entire thing was bordered with Asters, but most certainly the Dahlias stole the show.

I’m no fan of Dahlias, mainly because they have to be nannied and in my garden, anything that cannot survive on its own just isn’t welcome. Ok, ok so this year I did in fact buy two Dahlias, but they were dirt cheap and also as I recently discovered; pathetic next to these beasts.

These beasts, were in fact beasts. No kidding. Seriously. Some were taller than me…I can well see now why my great grandfather apparently used to be a prized grower and obsessed with them and that I ought to follow in his footsteps – as dear old ma likes to tell me.


And the Asters surrounding them


There were creams and whites

Lemon

White and lemon

Variegated cream and pink

White with pink tips



Red with white tips

Salmons



Scarlet Reds

Yellow with red tips

Various shades of pink


And deep crimsons


Wider views




They were in a rainbow of colours, pretty much every single colour you could wish for – except blue, I wonder why there’s no blue and only one seemed to be even close to violet??

I had such a field-day in there taking millions of photos… This one garden must’ve taken up a few hundred photos from my total for the visit.

Copyright 2011 Liz.

All rights reserved. Content created by Liz for Gwirrel’s Garden.

14 thoughts on “Chatsworth House – Amazing Dahlias

  1. Absolutely gorgeous – I do love Dahlias but mine have been pretty pathetic this year – but I am definitely going to increase my stock next year and plant them somewhere a little more sheltered – I don’t think the cold summer has helped – try, try again.

    • Hi Elaine,

      I’m going to get some Dahlias from the Chatsworth house garden centre and hopefully they’ll turn out as massive as these ones! I know I’m being hopeful and it’s probably all to do with how well you tend to them; but I’ll try all the same 🙂

  2. Beautiful and very, very tempting. Like you, I need plants which can just get on with it 12 months of the year. In our clay soil which is sodden from October until March (with perma frost in between), tubers would rot in a heartbeat.

    I did see, however, on GW that the Lord of Cord has his in large pots. They could be moved somewhere protected during the winter … now there’s a thought, like I need more work in our garden {not}.

    • Hi,
      Same here; heavy yellow clay soil. Some parts are nice as the original owner of the house kept a veggie patch but other areas are a real nightmare and horrendous to try to dig. I’ve pulled my Dahlias now, but the tubers aren’t really there so I’m doubtful they’ll survive for next year.

      Lol@ Lord of Cord. Mine were in pots too, but I still pulled them because I don’t have anywhere I can simply move my pots too for protection. The house will offer some but after the past two winters the protection from the house won’t make any difference. Also you run the risk of the tubers being eaten by a rodent or other nasty things. So might as well pull them out and keep them in a brown bag in a cupboard – where they can be forgotten and rot away anyway lol. I know that’ll happen to me!

  3. Oh I love dahlias and to be able to plant this many is so wonderful. I am lucky if I remember to plant them on time and pull them once the freeze sets in…gorgeous photos Liz

    • Hi Donna,

      I’ve never seen so many Dahlias and so have to wonder whether that’s all they plant in this area or whether they grow them elsewhere and only plant them once everything else is finished because I can imagine it’s very boring before the Dahlias bloom!

  4. Amazing. I liked the first pic of dahlias, the one with colours fading in sunset shades.
    I’m not a big fan of dahlias too. Or better: I like them a lot and every year I think I should plant some but at the end of the day I never do it. Same thing with maples. Probably I enjoy them more in other’s gardens, where I don’t have to nanny them? (as you said, that verb made me laugh). Anyway this trip of yours has been very interesting!

    • Hi Alberto,

      I understand what you mean about the Dahlias, and I think until you see a display like this and just how large they are then it’s easy to overlook them – as I have in the past. I don’t imagine I will ever have many of them because I also don’t imagine any of mine will grow as huge as these have!

      • You know what I’d like to try? Pot them and keep them warm from february, see what happen, then I’ll transplant them in the ground as soon as frost is over and see what grows. My problem with dahlias is that they’re such sleepy in spring and sloooooow and when they get to flower it’s frost again in october. All this after having been drinking like mad all summer…

        • Yep I can see what you mean about the Dahlias… I’m not a big fan either… If I had enough space to allow for such a garden like at Chatsworth, and I don’t mind that there’s nothing of interest until late in the season then I would. But for now I think I’ll probably just buy them very cheap from a garden centre each year. Or perhaps not at all – it depends on if anything takes my fancy.

          Mine were in pots near the house and we had blooms on them for a good few months, but they will have been forced to grow quickly at the garden centre but the reality is when growing them yourself they take much longer to bloom.

  5. Wow. The first photograph (if the title didn’t give it away) could almost have been of a beautiful rose garden at its peak. Clearly I’ve undervalued Dahlias. So much so actually, that I’ve never planted one! I know, the horror! I must admit though, I’m tremendously impressed at how much color, and volume was achieved in that border, considering it’s autumn. I’d have been so distracted, I’m not sure I would have known where the point the camera first, but your photographs show them all beautifully!

    • Hi Clare,

      Sorry for favouriting you latest post and running – I’ll comment to it soon!

      You’re not the only one who’s overlooked Dahlias, I think many of us have – at least it seems that way; I was under the impression that I was the ONLY one who didn’t have them!!! lol.
      I think the Dahlias were dead only a day or two after we visited – we had near frosts here (very cold but no sign of actual frost on the ground or grass) but out in the Peak District countryside it will have been a good few degrees cooler so I imagine they were all killed.

      Initially I took photos only of the colours I like; pinks, creams and the deep red. But then I began to take photos of them all and discovered that I actually really like the Salmon ones – when normally I’d steer way away from them! Sometimes photos just don’t do flowers justice and it’s experiencing them enmasse like this that quickly changes your mind.

  6. Hi Liz,
    I must say I am no great fan of Dahlias, although I do grow them.
    I think as a mass planting they work really well and as you show, look absolutely stunning. My father used to grow them en masse and they looked wonderful. After mine being wiped out by frost this year, before the blooms had opened properly, I am giving them a miss from now on.

    Beautiful post though Liz, the colours are to die for.

    • Hi Cheryl,

      Wow, another person who isn’t a fan. I honestly thought I was the only one who didn’t fill their garden with Dahlias! lol.

      Shame that yours hadn’t managed to properly bloom yet… When did this happen? Mine have been blooming since June or July I believe??? And were stilly happily blooming away until I pulled them out last week so I could bring them in before frost took them.

Leave a Reply

