It’s been a strange autumn…

I posted a little prematurely for this month’s GBBD, when actually on Saturday we at last had some sun after a week of dull, grey and often misty weather – thankfully rather dry with only a little bit of drizzle most of the time. However, as the sun came out; so did I! I love the sun, and find it hard to resist the urge not to go outside too and take full advantage of its warming rays. (I’m no fan of hot places though. Warm is good.)

With the paperwhites having opened, I needed my macro lens to get good shots of their small blooms. I left it on for garden shots too…

We’ll start with a couple of bokeh images, the low autumnal sun really makes for mystical, magical photos.
Hollyhock bokeh
Hollyhock attempting to bloom.

As I was taking photos of the sun through the cosmos petal, the sea holly began to sing to me too.
Cosmos and Sea Holly
Sea holly backlit by sun
Sea Holly abstract macro

Having a look around the rest of the garden some of the perennials are also beginning to die and rot away; this Hosta is very colourful but I do love its blue-green leaves.
Hosta turning golden yellow

Once again the Erysimum must have a mention, and I do hope they survive winter as I hear they can sometimes succumb to snow.
Erysimum ‘Bowles Mauve’ shines with water dew
And I was very surprised to see a Hoverfly! It has been lovely and warm today though so my guess is that they’ve been woken.
Hoverfly on Erysimum

The dianthuses which have bloomed all spring and summer seem to be giving up. And instead I found a harlequin ladybird wander around its leaves… I then noticed how beautiful its leaves were with the dew on them.
Abstract Dianthus with water droplets
Harlequin Ladybird looking for somewhere to overwinter

Pennisetum blooms are looking ragged, most have been destroyed now and there’s only a few left. I’ve protected its base and hope it survives too.
Pennisetum
Pennisetum bloom bending over
Erysimum with pennisetum in the background
Cosmos and Erysimum

Gardillia is trying to bloom again too and being drowned by the Muscari leaves.
Gardillia

Thankfully the Campanula also continues to bloom, I love its romantic soft violet colour, and I think it’s also because I associate it with late spring, early summer. I can almost trick myself into thinking winter isn’t on its way!
Campanula blooms
Campanula abstract macro
Campanula abstract
Campanula abstract

More photos to come, they’ve been building up yet again!

Copyright 2011 Liz.
All rights reserved. Content created by Liz for Gwirrel’s Garden.

 

9 thoughts on “It’s been a strange autumn…

    • Hi Donna,

      I’ve another tonne of photos coming, and some from a visit to a local park but I might leave that until the dark depths of winter when there’s nothing else left to see 🙂

  1. Yes, yes, love that autumn sun! And the lavender campanula is just the sweetest thing. You’re so lucky to be building up photos – my garden is buried under a few inches of snow right now and it’s too darn chilly for me to want to go out and photograph the white stuff. My blog’s going to have slim pickings for photos for the next few months.

    • Hi VW,

      Oh dear, sorry to hear you have snow 😦 I hear it’s been strange in the US/Canada too this year with many areas having a very warm autumn and others very cold. We’re also under the warm side of this strange weather and today’s been another stunning day with clear blue skies and lovely warm sun. I went to a local park on Wednesday and didn’t even need a jacket. A cardigan and scarf were enough and I took the scarf off… I hope you do manage to take some snowy photos, I imagine there are some beautiful photos waiting to be taken!

    • Hi Janet,

      It can vary from year to year. Last year I took very few photos in November and only had a few Cosmos and Gaura still blooming and bought some Cycalmen and Violas which were then wiped out only a week or two later when all the snow arrived at the end of November. But I know in previous years Verbena Bonariensis has still been blooming into December. We’re less than two miles from Sheffield city centre so we do benefit from the heat island effect of the city, but not as much as other houses I’ve lived in where we rarely ever experienced frost because they were terraced and so built up that it never got cold enough, but here some gardens are quite large and houses not so close so we do see frosts.
      The main problem with this garden is that we’re on a hill and on the wrong side, so at this time of year the sun doesn’t get high enough in the sky to touch the garden so photos of sun on plants will become less and less frequent until around February once it’s high enough again. I took some photos yesterday and they all look very grey and dark even though it was sunny and warm – the angle of the garden means the sun is blocked out, especially as there’s a hedge at the top of the garden which casts shadow down so the only places now that get the sun are the areas near the house which are far enough of away from the shadows and then come the solstice no sun will hit the ground floor of the house – only upstairs will get it.

  2. Liz you always post beautiful pictures, I’m really envious! Did you follow some photography course? You really have a pretty early spring there, haven’t you? It’s nice but worrying at the same time because you keep asking yourself ‘what will be left of it for spring??’ I’ll keep my finger crossed for you!

    • Hi Alberto,

      Yep I took a photography course at college, then on my undergraduate design degree I did some photography. I’m quite passionate about photography; not only digital but also film and still use polaroids and various other film cameras. There’s a little more information in my ‘about’ page: https://gwirrel.wordpress.com/about/
      I know exactly what you mean about spring. Last year (or rather, earlier this year) I was thrilled to see spring arriving so early – in January I had Snowdrops coming up, however this prolonged the period and rather than having the usual ‘boom’ of spring flowers they came in waves and the show somehow just wasn’t very impressive compared to when they all come together. This is why I bought another few hundred bulbs this autumn to try to fill the obvious spaces I had after the very heavy snow in December 2010.

Leave a Reply

