Hellebores

Recently I may, or may not have been naughty and bought myself some new Hellebores… I blame that there Cheryl for imparting her love and joy of these cheerful and yet elegant blooms 😀
I guess it was inevitable that this would happen eventually, as so often happens with blogging. Our eyes are opened and we discover a whole new world and new blooms that are just so pretty and capture our hearts.

This is Helleborus x hybridus Harvington double lilac



It isn’t quite as I’d imagined, and I would not describe it as being lilac at all. However I was still giddy as a school girl when I saw it had blooms already.

The other I also bought is Helleborus x hybridus Harvington double pink; this does have buds on it so I’m hopeful that blooms will come soon.

The plan is to plant these in the front garden either in the new border under the window or along the path along with the corkscrew rushes; the former is probably the most suitable due to the path border having a lot of sun in summer and becomes hot and dry – Astilbe and Lilyturf didn’t grow well here.

Copyright 2011 Liz.
All rights reserved. Content created by Liz for Gwirrel’s Garden.

18 thoughts on “Hellebores

  1. Oh LIz…. love it, love it… both flower and foliage! Yesterday I gave my Gunnera it’s winter duvet and was thrilled to see some hellebores with flower buds close by. Must keep and eye on them to see if they open. Temps are starting to drop here. Enjoy your new garden addition 🙂

    • Hi Shirl,

      I’m glad your Hellebores are also popping up; let’s hope they manage to bloom soon! First frost on our car yesterday; nothing on the ground though but once I’d commuted out to work there was frost on the ground out there – but it is a small town in the countryside so hardly a surprise.
      Not so sure I’ll get the Hellebores in this weekend, as Pete’s given me a cold. Although I do really want to get them planted because otherwise it’s likely the ground will be too cold and too hard to do it next weekend. Grrrr, might just pot them up instead so then I can enjoy them near the house.

    • Hi Ronnie,

      Oh dear, how tragic… Someone else catching the Hellebore bug! haha 😀
      G’won, you know you want some!!!

      I know I most definitely want more! Must… Get… Moar!!!1!

      None of mine have yet self seeded; my Nigras never do well – one died last year and the other has teeny tiny little leaves on it for some reason and I cannot see it blooming again if I’m honest. I just have bad luck with them… Hopefully these new ones will be much better and I get to enjoy them setting seed in the garden.

  2. I’d wanted hellebores for several years and, last year, at last, I bought one – and I was horribly disappointed. The flowers hung down so miserably and boringly they seemed pointless – and now its leaves are thinning with a leaf miner I don’t know how to get rid of. Hope yours continue to please you better.

    • Oh Esther… it’s the modest, nodding blooms that you have to gently lift to see that are the attraction for me. I love them. A few years ago I visited a garden that had a collection where they had mirrors on the ground along the path for visitors to see more clearly the variety of markings these wonderful cup flowers hide. I like the mystery… I swooned ;-))))

    • Hi,
      There are, of course varying degrees of this nodding, some almost seem to have their faces in the ground whilst others do seem to like to show more of their blooms.

    • Hi Donna,

      I’ve tried them a few times but always seem to have bad luck – so I’m hoping this year will be different! The weather has been very strange in the UK recently, and lots of us are reporting blooms at the wrong time of year – normally we wouldn’t see Hellebores until spring either.

  3. Hi Liz,

    Freckles is so pretty and very sad looking, just how a hellebore bloom should be. I have the Harvington double pink, I do not think you will be disappointed.
    I have no buds yet, but today I cut away all the large leaves to prepare for the blooms in January. Cutting the leaves away keeps the plant healthy and makes the blooms more visible :0)
    I have twenty specimens now and still cant resist them……they do it for me every winter.
    Will look forward to seeing your double pinks images….

    • Hi Cheryl,

      I think these will have to be potted up at some point as it’s unlikely that I will manage to plant them in the ground now. I’ve had a cold over the weekend when I’d planned to do them, and then with the cooler temperatures arriving now I don’t much feel like getting on my hands and knees and digging in the soil. Also, this way if they’re in pots then I can have them somewhere I can easily see them 😀

  4. You can’t possibly feel guilty for buying such charming plants 😉 At this time of year we all need cheering up, I won’t be buying anything new for my garden but I certainly enjoyed seeing the results of your shopping trip. Perhaps you could convince your other half that you are shopping for two, so to speak, keeping me happy by vicarious plant purchases?!

    • Hi Janet,

      They are so very pretty and elegant, I just really hope they survive my garden as previous experience has been somewhat poor.
      Haha, Pete has no say in how I do, or do not spend my money – me his neither. So he can’t really complain that I’ve bought more plants, after all I could just leave the gardens a mess, so I am sure on some level he enjoys it even if he doesn’t want to help me with the work.

  5. The only problem I have with hellebores is the price. I love all the rest. When they settled you can have many new seedings though, so that pays you back. I normally don’t bother with the double flowered forms but I must admit this Harvington double of yours is very subtle and nice.
    Hellebores have one of the thing I love more: green flowers. H. foetidus, H. viridis and H. argutifolius are the best green flowers for me. And they are not nodding as much as orientalis hybdrids which sometimes really you have to discover under the deep foliage…

    • Hi Alberto,

      Indeed, I have to agree with you on the price – I still don’t understand why they’re so expensive! I will be very pleased if I do get some seedlings from them though 😀

      • The trick I’ve learned is to leave some empty pot (well only with soil) under the fading flowers. Seedlings come very easily from fresh seeds and you have flowers in a couple of years. Trust me, I am a dummy with seeds normally, so I keep it simple.

        • Hi Alberto,

          Mine previously have always died after just the one year, and I’ve never had any seedlings come up, so I’m hoping this year some will survive and I’ll get some little seedlings. I ought to really collect the seeds as you have done though – that way I can almost ensure seedlings!

Leave a Reply

