Garden Blogger’s Bloom Day – December 2011

I have to admit; I hadn’t expected to have any photos at all for this bloom day… however I seem to have a lot of photos to post; not just one, or a handful but like, 30. What’s going on there??

Ok, so they are not all blooms, but they’re mostly blooms or other splashes of colour such as berries.

We’ll start with this Nicotiana, I think it must be a self seeded plant from last year’s beast which grew to over 5foot! This didn’t pop up until after I moved the Monkshood – no doubt it was just too dark for it. I doubt it will survive winter – but it’s doing a good job so far!

A sedum provides some colour, even if it is decaying… at this time of year it’s like a little firework in the border!

Feverfew is still blooming; this too came into a second flush once I’d moved it.

The willows look like they will soon be blooming too! Most have their dull skins still over the silver fur.

Hellebore’s bud continues to form. I’m going to assume it will be ‘Nigra’, however it is supposed to be a harvington double. So we’ll have to wait and see.

Primula vulgaris is still going, and actually the purple ones in the front garden are blooming too – no leaves on them though!

Bugle is very pretty with its purple leaves

And this is a slightly different one with a more creamy colour.

Tomatoes that really should be cleared up are managing to ripen…

Cotoneaster berries provide the most colour at this time of year with a few different shrubs in the garden.


David Austin ‘Tess of the D’urbervilles’ has fresh growth and buds on it?

I spotted these leaves too, they’re either ‘tete-a-tete’ or snowdrops.

Pryacantha berries are slowly being eaten by the birds, and the Winter Jasmine creates a bright contrast of colours.

Unknown flowers.

I was surprised to see growth on the Gauras still, would be nice to see the blooms too!

Not to mention the cornflower!!

And the Cosmos isn’t quite finished

The Erysimum is doing much better though

One day I am sure the campanula will die too… It can’t survive much longer.

Black Hollyhock is still trying to bloom

Argyranthemum has a few last blooms

A little viola looks cheerful and muscari leaves add more green to the garden.

Irises are coming up too…

Gaillardia

Even some fresh Lavender!!

And let’s finish on some Hellebores, here’s double Lilacagain.

Scrap all this… Today we woke up to 2 inches of snow. A complete shock as there was no snow on the forecast. I’m not sure if the city was even prepared for it and had the roads gritted. For the most part things were moving well, just slowly. And it took me 1.5hrs to get to work. That’s 10 miles that normally takes me 20-30 minutes. I imagine the cosmos, campanula, hollyhock, cornflower and primulas have all been knocked out.
The snow didn’t last long and it was already melting by the time I was scraping it off my car and it’s pretty much all gone now.

If you would like to join in with this meme, please pop over to Carol at May Dreams Gardens

Copyright 2011 Liz.
All rights reserved. Content created by Liz for Gwirrel’s Garden.

11 thoughts on “Garden Blogger’s Bloom Day – December 2011

    • Hi Christine,

      Thank you very much 🙂

      I haven’t yet managed to plant the Hellebores… They’re sat in little pots on the decking by the back door… Hopefully they were protected enough from the snow! Grrrr.

    • Hi Janet,

      I hope all is going well for you? How’s the decorating going? 😀 I do hope you’re having a christmas break!

      I won’t get the chance to check on the plants until the weekend 😦 The solstice cannot come soon enough!!!!

    • Hi Donna,

      I know! It was so surreal this morning. Pete gets up before me, and rushed back in to tell me it was snowing! I flew out of bed saying that it wasn’t even in the forecast – nothing was. Wednesday had been a relatively nice day and Thursday was due to be (it was a nice, sunny day today) so no one was expecting it.

      Anyway, apparently some parts of the city were 4 inches, but I think around me was more like 2. Also, supposedly north of the city was largely clear!

  1. So much going on still in your garden–lovely colors! I’m amazed at the red tomatoes. I imagine it all looked differently, though, after the snow. I’m wishing for some snow for Christmas, but I’m not looking forward to the havoc it creates for driving, either. Happy Bloom Day!

    • Hi Rose,

      I haven’t yet been able to see the garden in daylight but I am certain that things won’t be looking quite as colourful as a few days ago 😦 Saying that, the Cyclamen that I planted in my parent’s garden Wednesday before the snow hit are looking fine still and usually they’d be killed off by snow.
      Snow for Christmas would be nice – just not too much that it causes major problems, but enough to look pretty. I guess like the snow we had on Wed night which melted very quickly. So it looked nice and pretty but didn’t completely snow us in. My parents will be coming round for Christmas, so I need it to be passable for them to get here!

    • Hi Patrick,

      Nice to meet you 🙂
      I’m sure that these signs of spring won’t be around for much longer once we get a spot of hard weather. So far we’ve been quite lucky with the weather and it’s been rather mild, even for most of December.

Leave a Reply

