Candles

What does one do when there’s a powercut? Well, they take pointless photos; that’s what!

Thankfully it’s the time of year where I do have plenty of candles around the house, otherwise I would’ve really struggled for any light at all. It’s been such a long time since we last had a powercut – I think this is the first one since we’ve lived here – that usually the only candles in the house are in the bathroom



My brother had to pick up some emergency tea lights for me because we only had two. He also picked up this angel one where the heat from the candle spins the angles.

And I also had to play around with the Jack Pumpkin King figurine…

I’ll take the chance to also wish you all a Happy New Year and hope your celebrations are more exciting than mine will be! We’ve Bucks Fizz at the ready; woo hoo!! heehee.

The eagle-eyed among you may have noticed the reflection in the snowglobe which clearly show electric lights… That’s because I had a to cheat a little as the original photo of the globe wasn’t very good. It still passed a little time during the actual power cut though.

Copyright 2011 Liz.
All rights reserved. Content created by Liz for Gwirrel’s Garden.

13 thoughts on “Candles

  1. I like the fact that the heat from the candle made the ‘angles’ go round. Good job the power cut didn’t happen whilst the turkey was in the oven! We often have power cuts for no good reason so I have emergency cooking facilities and something to boil a kettle on – my Girl Guide training coming in useful!
    Motto – ‘be prepared’

    • Hi Elaine,

      Usually I avoid obviously religious decorations, but I do have a soft spot for Angels and have a few on the tree; I prefer to go for Reindeer, trees, stars and such.
      Haha, actually I said the same thing about it being a good job the powercut wasn’t on Christmas day! It was at around 5pm though so I imagine many people were cooking dinner! :D I have a gas hob so I could’ve still cooked something if I needed to, or boiled a saucepan of water.

    • Hi Ronnie,

      Thank you and Happy New Year! :)
      The Bucks Fizz was actually OK! I expected to wash it down with something else but there was no need :D

  2. Hi Liz,

    We all cheat sometimes :)

    Power cuts are frequent here, so I always have plenty of candles at the ready.

    Love your images. What a difference candle light makes.
    I love those Christmas ornaments that spin, due to the heat from the candles…so lovely.

    Enjoy your Bucks fizz….I am celelbrating at my daughters. I have to say though, in all truth, I am now a New Year sort of person.
    Every day is a blessing…..

    Hope 2012 holds all your dreams and more Liz :)

    • Hi Cheryl,

      I can’t actually remember the last time we had a power cut, but it must be at least over 5 years ago. I have lots of candles in the attic that I usually have out for Christmas, but I haven’t seen them for a few years now… Must remember next year to make Pete find them for me- so I would normally have more.

      The Bucks fizz was actually OK. Normally we get it from M&S and it’s not very nice – but cheap lol. But this year I forgot, and instead ordered some from Sainsbury’s and it was nice! Still have a bottle left that needs drinking though. We also had some champagne, which was horrible and made me a little too drunk so I had to stop there and switch to water.

      Happy New Year Cheryl, I hope it’s a wonderful year for you – and look forward to more photos from your beautiful garden :D

  3. It’s been a while since we had a power cut but being of an age when I can remember the ’70s and its regular power cuts I always have a supply to hand :) Candlelight can be most intriguing as well as flattering. May the new year treat you and those that you love kindly Liz and may all the flowers that grace your garden flourish xxx

    • Hi Anna,

      Indeed, there’s nothing quite as nice as a big, chunky pillar candle! It was nice to have a couple of hours without the television and computers… But with phones these days I can always still get on the net – although I was trying not to use it in case the battery died.

      I hope 2012 is a wonderful year for you too, Anna and look forward to future blog posts :)

  4. Hi Liz. Candles make it more romantic anyway. The In-Laws always had a tradition of lighting candles on New Years day and letting them burn themselves out for good luck in the New Year. Of course when the kids were little the candles were just a temptation to be blown out. LOL! I laughed but they were really upset about it. LOL!
    Keep your candles lit.
    Happy New Year.

    • Hi Lona,

      I have to be careful with candles; especially scented ones because they trigger migraines. Even the smoke after they’ve burned out can trigger me to have one. I used to have loads when I was a teenager in my bedroom (I also used to make them) and slowly over the years have reduced their numbers and rarely, if ever burn them any more. I have to generally stick to unscented or fruity smells as they don’t cause the same problems that other scents such as Lavender cause.

    • Hi Donna,

      Sorry to hear you have a cold; many people I know also all have colds and it’s always the worst time of year to get one over Christmas and New Year!

Leave a Reply

