Still Dying Well?

Since the winter solstice there’s already been a marked improvement in the light hitting the garden. It’s hard to believe that just a few days could make any sort of difference but I’m already finding that the sun is more available and I’m able to take nicer shots of the taller dead plants and the blossoms of the autumn Cherry.

The Flat-topped Asters look brighter and more brown rather than grey as in the previous images.



Expect to see more photos of these later on as the sun steadily rises and I can get much nicer shots.

Copyright 2011 Liz.
All rights reserved. Content created by Liz for Gwirrel’s Garden.

24 thoughts on “Still Dying Well?

  1. I love the sepia colour of the photos the dead flower heads look almost frosted. It didn’t get light here this morning till 8 with really strong winds and lashing rain – this afternoon the sun has come out, still windy though.

    • Hi Elaine,

      Thank you very much :) I don’t think they were frosty when I took the photos but I can’t quite remember now as it was a week or two ago that I took them…
      It was rather scary here this morning with the wind; think it’s the first time I’ve ever been worried that there will be damage to the house! Around 08:30 it became very windy and was raining – the rain was hitting the windows so hard it was more like hail. As with you, it’s now sunny but the wind has returned again after slowing significantly for an hour or two. It isn’t as bad as this morning, thankfully.

    • Hi Donna,

      Thank you :) I’m unsure about the new template to be honest… I don’t really like its fussiness with the double borders, but I wanted something which was wider and allows me to have larger images. So it may still change if I find the perfect one!

      Sometimes it can be very difficult to find beauty at this time of year, even these to the naked eye do not look so attractive; yet magic seems to happen once the lens is concentrated on them :D

    • Hi Alberto,

      Thanks :)

      I’m not so sure of the new theme myself, I don’t like fussy designs and find this to be one… But I can’t find a clean, simple design that also allows me to have the wider blog area. We’ll see how things go, but I might well be changing it again soon.

  2. Now we have more them in the orchard area, I’ve really come to love the look of spent Asters in the winter when they’re dormant. They’re really quite beautiful. So glad you’re getting more sun. I’m hoping we’ll notice a difference here too very soon, just as soon as the sun can get high enough over the tree line. Happy New Year Liz!

    • Hi Clare,

      I think I need more Asters this year; preferably smaller ones. As much as I love the tall beasts, I could do with some shorter varieties as well.

      Today for the first time in a while the sun was high enough to be able to cast sunlight directly into our lower levels of the house. Sadly it didn’t last long as it then went behind a house so, it was only for a brief time but cheered me up!

    • Hi Scott,

      I’m unsure if I can feel spring coming – certainly the plants think it is but at the back of my mind I’m always thinking that at the last minute we’re going to get a huge dump of snow and it’ll ruin it all. The past couple of years have quickly made me wary when previously the most snow we’d get is a centimetre or two that would melt within a day or two.

    • Hi Deb,

      Thank you :)

      I’ve realised through these photos how once there’s lots of growth and things to look at it’s so easy to overlook the simple beauty in the garden. It’s like the brain just gets dazzled by everything and it makes it incredibly difficult to see… Either that or I’m just trying much harder to find beauty where on the outside there is none!

    • Hi Carolyn,

      I’m glad to hear you’ve also noticed more light too :D It’s so nice knowing that each day brings more sun and that step closer to more blooms!

    • Hi,

      Thanks :D I’m hoping we get some green soon… At the moment the green we do have has that duller shade to it compared to the wonderfully vibrant shades of spring and new growth. I’d like some snow and to take photos of it; I just don’t want it to last more than a day – then I begin to feel penned in!

    • Hi Pauline,

      Thank you very much :)
      We haven’t had much rain this year – in fact since last winter we’ve barely had any. The Friday before Christmas was teeming and it was the first time I could remember in a long time since we’d had such a downpour. So many of the seed heads have survived much longer this year – if they haven’t been blown away, that is. I find the flat-topped Aster always loses all its seeds, but the later bloomers such as Lady in black keep theirs through the winter.

  3. Lovely shots, Liz. It can be so difficult to make something dead look beautiful, but you’ve pulled it off. Thanks for visiting my blog – I’d not seen yours before. I shall be back!

    Dave

    • Hi Janet,

      Thank you very much Janet :)
      Just waiting and willing the garden to start moving now… I’m getting bored and watching things slowly but surely pop up. I want them to burst into life now!! :D

      Never said I was patient ;)

Leave a Reply

