Sunny Saturday

How can weeks go past so slowly, yet also so quickly??! Is it really almost the end of January?

I’ve no idea where I am anymore! Haha, it’s been a rough week covering for someone at work. But the sun is out and I want to get photos, but am feeling much too lazy to do so. However, I fear snow or cold weather is soon due so really need to try to get photos!!!

Ok, so for now here are some more autumn Cherry blooms. Its blooms are becoming sparse now and I think it may take a little break before the big show in March. So this means you’ll all get a break from seeing it for a month or two.

Today I discovered Crocus Thomaninianus is in bloom in the front garden… Not so shocking you may think, but usually the bulbs in the front bloom a few weeks after those in the back because it’s much darker and colder there.
Things are slowly moving… lots of bulbs coming up and snowdrops out, but very little in the way to photograph so far. Mainly just snowdrops and Hellebores.

Copyright 2011 Liz.
All rights reserved. Content created by Liz for Gwirrel’s Garden.

25 thoughts on “Sunny Saturday

  1. Love looking at your Autumn Cherry as mine is still reluctant to flower! Lots of flowers out now in our woodland strip, the birds are singing, are we all going to get a shock over the next few days as the weather turns colder!

    • Hi Pauline,

      I hope yours blooms in autumn next year! It is frustrating waiting for them… Each year I’d hope it would finally be the year that it’d bloom and then nothing. But finally, this year we get them – I guess the tree knew in previous years that snow was coming but this year knew we’d be spared.
      This morning I heard a strange bird call that I couldn’t place and would love to know which species it was! I read on the BBC earlier that a lot of people have been contacting the RSPB asking where the birds have gone and apparently it’s due to the mild winter – the birds still have their natural food – so hopefully that explains my lack of finches at the moment! I was beginning to worry that it was due to there being so many sparrows, but no doubt they’re elsewhere eating their seeds!

    • Hi Marina,

      This is an autumn Cherry which usually blooms from October/November and into spring where it will then have a big show generally around March. This is the first time in 3 years that it’s bloomed in autumn and has made me wait until the spring show instead; so I’ve been thrilled to see it blooming 🙂

    • Hi Donna,

      Eeeek, ice!! The only thing worse than snow is ice if it doesn’t completely melt! I was so scared last year when I ended up on some after a thoughtless and rather dangerous bus driver let me off. The pavement was total ice, I was clining onto the bus shelter for dear life and shaking like a leaf. I honestly thought I’d end up falling over and either sliding down the hill or rolling into the oncoming traffic (which is a very busy road in/out of the city). Omg. That was scary.
      Anyway, honestly you have to look closely for the blooms at the moment, snowdrops are so small that unless in large clumps they make little impact; just waiting for my clumps to naturalise and expand.

  2. Hi Liz,

    Beautiful images of the cherry blossom. It really does make you think that Spring is just around the corner, and who knows it could come early 🙂 I am trying to be optimistic here…..

    Hellebores and snowdrops planted together look beautiful. I have tried a few along the woodland area and have been really pleased with the effect. I also like Arum Italicum with them as the leaves make a beautiful contrast.
    I am really into woodland plants at the moment.

    • Hi Cheryl,

      I think Spring is already on its way here; that is except for the frost this morning. But certainly things are happily moving forward.

      I’m trying to increase my woodland type plants, buying all the ferns and such. Just want to get some epimedium now 😀

  3. Lovely pictures. Saturday was a lovely crisp sunny day here too, we took a very muddy walk through the fields in the sunshine. Today has been replaced with leaden skies and the snow is falling falling falling…

  4. What a lovely set of photos, looks very Spring-like, as if you are stealing a march on March (sorry, couldn’t resist that…). And hey, don’t knock “only” having snowdrops and crocuses to photograph! Those are the promise of more to come, something to tide us over with and make us anticipate the greater riches of true Spring even more. Hark at me all optimistic all of a sudden 😉

    • Hi Janet,

      I think it’s frustration coming through, sitting here and waiting for spring to arrive! 😀 I know it’s still only January (almost Feb) but it still feels like it’s taking forever and ofcourse, possible snow could scupper all hopes and plans. Having a look around the garden over the weekend I discovered that a few plants suffered in the frosts a few weeks ago and I’m hoping I didn’t lose a Gaura… If so I might have to give up on them; as much as I love them, I just can’t be replacing them every year!

  5. What pretty flowers! They do look like spring. I don’t think I’ve ever seen that type of cherry tree here. A few weeks ago I saw a forsythia blooming in someone’s yard, that’s very early. I’m anxious for more flowers around here!

    • Hi Catherine,

      No Forsythia here at the moment, but there are buds forming so no doubt they’ll be opening in the next month or so 🙂
      I’d like more flowers too, but at the same time I’m a little concerned if we do, as there’s cold temperatures forecast and certainly today perked up a little and the sun came out which made it quite pleasant; however by the time the sun was beginning to go down it was definitely chilly! So I’m hopeful that the new growth and blooms will survive if it does get much colder.

  6. They are beautiful photos, Liz! My tree hasn’t had as much blossom as yours seems to have, it is lovely to see some cheerful colour in Winter though.

    I am very confused! I know I commented on your last post because I realised afterwards that I had forgotten to mention how nice it was to see the Bullfinches but it seems to have disappeared into the ether! Anyway, I did enjoy all your frosty images 🙂

    • Hi Jan,

      I haven’t seen any posts of yours in the spam comments folder; so I’m not sure what happened to your previous comment…
      Hopefully we won’t have more frosty weather – although that seems rather likely, especially as some places have had snow today! I’ve noticed over the weekend that a few plants have suffered in the frosts a week or two ago and could really do without more frosts.

Leave a Reply

