Flower Friday!

Yay, time for another flowering Friday (this is not a meme, it just made sense to call it that!)

The weather for the past few days here has been lovely and warm – just a shame I’ve missed most of it! Each day more Narcissi come out and bring with them their cheer.

I thought it was time for me to introduce you all to two new Hellebores I bought a couple of weeks ago from Hodsock Priory – I still need to show you the snowdrops!

The photo colours skew Helleborus ‘Harvington Purples’ a little, as it isn’t this red in real life, honest! But it’s beautiful never the less.

And this is Helleborus ‘Harvington Reds’, this time the photo is more true to its colour 😉

And Purple at the top, Red at the bottom

There are a few Anemone in bloom, but I think I might’ve disturbed too many when I was planting under the Cherry tree… I’ve bought another couple of small pots of them ready to replace those lost.

A lone Crocus Pickwick is in an almost bare trough… Many bulbs were killed last winter, including this one’s friends. White Forsythia is blooming already… I hope it puts on plenty of growth this year as it’s still tiny.

And finally, time for the star of the show…

Crocus ‘Cream Beauty’, I’ve realised why I seem to have so many… They’re multi-headed so the few bulbs in each pot I thought I’d planted have actually produced amazing shows!
Here Cream Beauty is paired up with Iris Reticulata Harmony.


Copyright 2011 Liz.
All rights reserved. Content created by Liz for Gwirrel’s Garden.

25 thoughts on “Flower Friday!

  1. Your Crocus Cream Beauty is certainly living up to its name, it really is beautiful! Your Hellebores are divine, such a wonderful deep wine red, lovely, lovely, lovely! Super collection of photos, everything looks so beautiful.

    • Hi Pauline,

      The cream beauty is amazing and I’m completely smitten with it!

      re: Hellebores, I had a right battle trying to get ‘puple’ out of its pot last week as it was so amazing pot bound! It took me ages to rip the pot away just to get it out and then attempt to losen some of the roots… Not at all impressed with Hodsock for that one! I gave up on planting ‘red’ after that because it’d taken so long, so I’ll try to get out tomorrow to finish the job.

  2. Fabulous Liz. I love Pickwick and hope they survive the voles…and that crocus is amazing in color with the iris…your pics of these flowers makes me want to reach out and touch or smell them..thx for making my Friday special.

    • Hi Donna,

      Thanks very much 🙂 Not long until you also have blooms! And then you really will be able to reach out and touch them 😀

    • Hi Elaine,

      Do you have cream beauty too?
      I can’t believe I’ve never come across it yet; normally all we ever see are varieties like ‘pickwick’ because they’re more interesting… But these are just magical and the colour is so gorgeous. And then the icing on the cake is the fact they produce 3/4 blooms per bulb! You can’t go wrong with these gorgeous little blooms.

    • Hi Janet,

      Thak you 🙂
      It’s just far too exciting, especially since the Tulipa Turkestanica are blooming now! I love watching things appear, plus the days are getting longer and love not needing lights on in the morning anymore. I’m so much happier at this time of year! haha.

    • Hi Scott,

      I’ll try to get some more photos of the purple and red hellebore which are closer to their true colours – the purple actually does look more purple than these photos lead you to believe.

    • Hi,

      Thanks very much! 🙂
      Many more Narcissi are opening now, they’re just so happy and cute – glad I planted a load of them in Autumn now.

  3. Ah Liz, I have just found Hellebores once more and am wondering why I turned my back on them. Harvington Red looks amazing as does all the other Spring flowers in your garden.

  4. Wow those buttery crocuses are amazing and they look just fine the irises!
    I have never seen nor heard of white fositia before, it looks very interesting! Is it prolific and easy like the yellow one? Does foliage look the same?

    • Hi Alberto,

      It’s definitely a happy mistake having the cream Croci with the purple Irises; I hadn’t planted them knowingly thinking of the combination and it was more a case of just throwing them together to create some nice spring pots up.

      So far I’ve only had the white Forsythia for a year or two and it’s still only a very small twig so I couldn’t really say whether it’s much like the yellow one. The blooms certainly seem smaller, but that may just be due to it being a twig so far… I’m hoping that now I’ve potted it on, it’ll have a nice growth spurt this year and I’ll have a better idea what it’ll be like.

      • Soooo many times the best mix in the garden happen involuntarily! I take it as gifts from the garden itself.

        As for the forsythia… beware, I’ll keep on eye on it!

        • Hi Alberto,

          I wish my garden would give me more happy accidents! I just don’t seem to get random seedlings popping up in nice places and such like others do. So far I’ve only had Pheasant’s tail grass, verb. bonariensis and Herb Robert. It’s not like I’m a keen weeder either and am pulling up plants I could otherwise keep.

          As for the Forsythia; I pruned it last year in the hope it would then produce more branches and bush out a little but it hasn’t really worked… I should’ve left it to grow as it was. But I’m still hopeful for this year and we’ll see if it produces more.

  5. Liz your spring blooms are just beautiful girl. I love that hellebore. I have got to get a darker blooming one. Your crocuses look so cheery and pretty. My poor things are pathetic. LOL! Have a wonderful weekend.

    • Hi Lona,

      The Hellebores aren’t quite true to their colour in the photos, but when backlit by sun they are stunning! I’ve purposefully planted them in the back garden under a small Acer tree where they will get shade in the summer but have nice backlit sun at this time of year 🙂

Leave a Reply

