GBBD March 2012

The recent warm temperatures are slowly beginning to fade away as we move into Mother’s Day weekend here in the UK… It’s a shame, especially after the stunning weekend we had last week.
I went to visit my parents whose garden was literally crawling with Ladybirds, I’m kicking myself for not taking my camera with me. But they were everywhere. And I’m not talking about one or two here and there but little groups of them, orgies if you like just everywhere we looked. In the borders, on the lawn, flying around us. Amazing.
Then I kept seeing a Brimstone flutter around but never staying still long enough to afford me a closer look… I’ve never seen one close to before, in fact this is only the second time I’ve ever seen one. We also had a Peacock sunbathe for a while in the garden too as we enjoyed tea and buns 🙂

It’s been rather warm – around 50-60F for the American visitors, which is a nice, mild spring day. But it’s also been strangely hazy. On my drive home from work I come down a steep hill into the city, and yesterday could barely see anything beyond the nearby houses when normally I’d see a series of hills which form a valley with the city’s heart in the valley.

Ok, I think we’ll move onto the bloom photos… It’s much of the same as before I’m afraid. With the last of the Crocuses hanging on in there but steadily more Narcissi and Daffodils are beginning to bloom, as well as Cherries and other blossoms. The city is awash with blossom at the moment and I’m afraid I’ll miss getting any photos of it all!

The pots are moving from the Crocus and Irises toward Narcissi and Muscari – similar colour combinations though! Also, the little Autumnal Violas are blooming again after a break during the snow and cold weather.

Fuji Cherry ‘Kojo-no-mai’ is blooming, I’ll have to check how much earlier this is compared to last year?? Crocus ‘Cream beauty’ and Erysimum ‘Bowles Mauve’ are still with us… The latter shows no signs of giving up either.

Narcissi ‘tete-a-tete’ are really livening up many areas whilst I wait for the Tulips and Alliums to come through.

Forsythia and Osmanthus join the Heather with their blooms.

Turkestanica is beginning to steal the show now, although I am wondering if I’ve lost some of them in one border… I will have to get more for next year I think!

And finally, Anemone and more of the little ‘Tete-a-tete’ Narcissi.

I’m looking forward to the Tulips blooming and of course the perennials such a Dicentra and Aquilegias; then it really will be spring!
There’s plenty of work for me to be doing in the garden, a lot of it in the front where I don’t really like to be. It’s not that our street is busy – we’re on a cul-de-sac so it’s very quiet – but it’s just that feeling of being watched, even though most people have far more interesting things to do 🙂 I like the seclusion of the back garden compared to the front. So in general I try to do it early morning at the weekends before most people are awake or I’ll take a few days off work to get it all done.

If you’d also like to join in this meme, please visit Carol at: May Dreams Gardens

Copyright 2011 Liz.
All rights reserved. Content created by Liz for Gwirrel’s Garden.

15 thoughts on “GBBD March 2012

  1. Great photos. The weather is so different from the weekend which was beautiful. It’s been foggy/cloudy every day this week and quite cold. Very disappointing but I suppose it is only March. I’m lucky in that my front garden has a 6ft hedge on the boundary so I can garden away without anyone seeing me. I’ll often sit on my doorstep with a cup of tea and feel really secluded. I have lived in places without this sort of privacy though and I know what you mean about feeling like you’re on display. Could you maybe plant some shrubs for some extra privacy?

    • Hi,

      Here it’s remained quite nice – foggy/mosty but also getting quite warm. I thought the weather had turned today as it’s forecast to do, but the sun soon burnt through again and the day turned out really quite hot. We went out to visit a new site that’s being built and it was really hot in the sun – much hotter than I had expected.
      I could plant shrubs, yes although the garden is already very small…. I’m planning on removing a large, leggy shrub rose and replacing it with pyracantha which will offer some seclusion. I also have a Garrya that I planted a few years ago but it’s still only small and hasn’t really taken off at all yet. On the front fence I also have Honeysuckle which I am hoping will soon begin to mature and cover the railings.
      The problem is here that our garden is higher than the pavement outside so when I’m weeding or digging I’m actually at chest and head height to people walking past. So it is a bit disconcerting.

  2. Lovely combinations! That anemone photo is amazing – I don’t have any of these in my garden and now feel like I’m really missing something. I also love the muscari with the daffodils. Happy GBBD!

    • Hi,

      Thanks very much 🙂
      The Anemone don’t do too well here and I think I’ve lost all but one of them. Usually they end up being eaten by slugs/snails before they get to bloom.

  3. Sigh, I’m still waiting for my narcissus to flower… I’m nearly sure your osmanthus is ‘x burkwoodii’, like the ones I bought recently.
    How many of those twisted juncus do you have? At the beginning I thought there was only one but you have quite a lot instead…

    • Hi Alberto,

      I am sure your Narcissus will be blooming soon; after all you are in Italy! It won’t be long until you’re well ahead of us 😛
      I have a few of the rush, and want to add more when I work on the other half of this border so they continue along. There’s only the one Stipa though, which again I will add more (I planted the others in the Aster border to over-winter), so again adding some repetition to the area and trying to pull it all together so it makes some sense. At the moment the Crocosmia is acting as a wall between the two halves and it all looks disjointed.

  4. Liz you have some wonderful Spring flowers! Your photos have an almost 3D effect to them especially the forsythia. Mine is no were near being in bud yet. It is dark when I get home now so I can’t even rush out with my camera. Thank you for sharing GBBD. 🙂

    • Hi Ronnie,

      Thanks 🙂
      I’ve had a look back on photos from last year and the Forsythia is right on cue, pretty much to the day. However I did have Cherry blooms now on the Autumn Cherry but so far there aren’t any. I wonder if blooming over Autumn and winter this time has delayed its second flush a little – I’ve seen buds on it. Oh well, I hope the cherry begins to bloom soon anyway and I’m sure your Forsythia is not far away either 😀
      How is the new job going? I hope it’s all OK? Although getting home when it’s dark is a downer 😦

  5. Lots of lovely colour. It reminds me that I must make sure I have violas in the garden next year; when I look back at last March’s GBBD – the first one I joined in – some winter pansies in pots were the stars of the show.

    • Hi,

      These viola are just gorgeous and I bought two trays of them… Only I don’t have any pots left for them to go into…. So they’re just sat in their tray still. Hmmmm I need to do something about that!!!

  6. Liz I adore your combos of daffs, muscari and violas…we are having 60-70F here and 80 predicted next week…feels like Mother’s Day here which is in May for us…I am hoping after a few more days of this weather my bulbs will be bursting…my violas from seed are still too small to plant out… perhaps by the end of March

    • Hi Donna,

      Thanks very much 🙂
      Glad to hear you’ve also been having warmer weather and it sounds like the snow will soon melt and you can begin to enjoy pretty spring blooms too.

      I’m beginning to think I need to plant out my sweet peas but I’m just very wary of any late cold snaps killing them off. They have good root systems now which are growing outside their little biodegradable pots… I’ve had to nip out their tips a number of times now to stop them growing too tall.

  7. Liz, you have so much going on, looking great. I had to smile at your front gardening regime, reminds me of the palaver I have when taking pictures in the front garden.

    • Hi Alistair,

      Photos aren’t so much of an issue for me as I just pop out, click and then come back in and it doesn’t take too long. It’s just if I’m out there for long periods that I don’t like it. I also tend to do some when my neighbour’s son is round gardening for her, that way we’re both out there and have a bit of a chat too. Although when I got home today he’d mowed her lawn already so I didn’t get the chance to join him 😀

  8. Your violas are sooooo lovely! Your Kojo no mai is further on than mine, you must be warmer than Devon!! You have such a lot in flower, your garden must be looking really pretty now.

Leave a Reply

