Clumber Park – February 2012

Ah yes, I just remembered that we went to Clumber Park in February and I never showed the resulting photos!

There aren’t many of the park, mainly because I feel you’ve seen it often enough now, so really the only way to go was to show some bird photos.

I managed to catch my first close-up shots of a Nuthatch, my favourite bird. Light conditions were not the best, as it was in dense woodland in a little opening and the sunlight was filtering through gaps… Eventually it clouded over though so I had to give up, plus there were lots of children and dogs scaring the birds away.

The photos are not the best, but I am pleased with them. These are not the easiest birds to catch! They’re so fast that the lens barely had time to focus before they were off so really these are lucky shots…

Sadly there was no sign of the Willow Tit though this time.

Copyright 2011 Liz.
All rights reserved. Content created by Liz for Gwirrel’s Garden.

8 thoughts on “Clumber Park – February 2012

  1. Hi Liz! You’ve taken some beautiful shots, lucky or good, it doesn’t matter! I wish I could take pictures half the good of yours! How long did you stay there to get some good snaps?

    • Hi Alberto,

      Thanks 🙂 I didn’t have to wait long at all for the birds. They are very much used to people, dogs and such so quickly come back once the danger has passed on. We took a bag of peanuts with us and within seconds of Pete having thrown some down, the Nuthatches were taking them and then hiding them in various places including holes in the trees. They were allowing me very close, all I had to do was kneel down to make myself smaller and they were within a metre of my lens. In total I probably hung around for 30 minutes trying to get various photos and waiting for the sun to come back out between clouds! 😀

  2. Great pictures, especially of the nuthatch. It’s my husband’s favourite bird. We have some visit a local wood but we’ve never managed to get good photos because they fly off too quickly. The last time we were there it was so cold I thought I’d never feel my toes again and all because we kept trying to get a decent photo of a nuthatch!! Clumber Park looks very impressive, I think we’re so lucky to have such brilliant places in this country.

  3. I haven’t been to Clumber Park for years so I’ll put it on my To Do list this Summer! We had a great time at Calke Abbey recently trying to photograph a Nuthatch… they’re so quick! Your photos are lovely and I particularly like the little Blue Tit!

  4. What a lovely park to have near you for everyone to enjoy themselves in the fresh air, and that includes all the local wildlife! Stunning photos, especially of the nuthatch. Dare I tell you that we have them on our bird feeders and see them every morning! They nest in the garden, in the woodland area and are almost my favourite birds, after our resident Tawny Owl!!

Leave a Reply

