Acer Katsura

The little Acer ‘Katsura’ has reinvented itself yet again… This small tree has so many faces to it that you’ll be amazed at its colours throughout the season. Ok, so when mature it isn’t that much of a small tree; rather in my garden right now it’s a small specimen at only around 3 feet tall and wide it certainly holds its own.

First it starts off a brilliant fiery red, then as the leaves unfurl the red becomes less obvious and remains only at the edges of the leaves, and then it becomes golden as we can see now but it will eventually become more green. Later in the year it will change yet again with the autumn show.

Copyright 2011 Liz.
All rights reserved. Content created by Liz for Gwirrel’s Garden.

10 thoughts on “Acer Katsura

  1. Acers certainly produce amazing colours – I bought a tiny specimen from Wilko’s for a project making a miniature garden – it was only a few inches high – that was 2 years ago. It survived the hard winters and now makes a splash of colour reaching 3ft.

    • Hi Elaine,

      It sounds like yours is faster growing than mine, as I’ve had mine for around 4 years, although I think perhaps it has struggled in its early years due the Willow trees behind it bashing at it, so now I make sure to cut any branches away so not to damage the smaller Acer 🙂
      Just taken photos of my other Acer. ‘Garnet’ which is only supposed to get to a few foot in height but has amazing Autumn colour!

  2. What lovely foliage on your tree. Acers are amazing the way they change colour so many times, each time just as beautiful as the last!

    • Hi Pauline,

      Yep, they are rather stunning. Just a shame they’re not native as I do like my native trees that provide food, flowers or protection for the wildlife 🙂

    • Hi,

      Oh, why won’t they grow for you? They seem to be rather tough as far as I’m aware – at least mine are surviving in heavy clay soil!

  3. Hi Liz,

    I have a small collection of Acers (around ten) and I love each and every one of them. Two have reached maturity and are beautiful specimens…..I do not think you can beat maples for colour.

    • Hi Cheryl,

      I have two Acers now, and don’t really have room for any more… I have considered getting some for my mum though, as I am sure she would enjoy their foliage too. I’m just not so sure their garden is sheltered enough.

  4. Hi Liz! I only have one acer that I keep in a large pot, I’m not sure if it’s happy or not in there as it doesn’t grow very much. There are many people fond of acers, almost maniac, and no wonder they are such beautiful plants! I like the way your Katsura changes its leaves, keeping a red tone on the rim.

    • Hi Alberto,

      Perhaps your Acer is just slightly slower growing? I’m not sure if it depends on the tree or not. Is it in a sheltered site where its leaves won’t suffer wind burn? At the moment mine are OK because they’re still small, but I’m unsure how they’ll do once they get taller and will be hit by the winds more… Living on a hill, I can’t really help the wind cutting up when it gets windy though! My hedge does help, but it can’t help a 5m tall tree!

Leave a Reply

