Friday Flowers – Playing With Light

So, this Friday I’ll be playing with light. Yep, you heard me.

It’s that time of year when I like to play around with depth of field and light. Everything is so lush and beautiful now that I can’t help but play around in my own little world.

The cool temperatures have kept the Kerria blooming much longer than normal… I first featured this on my blog for the end of month – March post.

Generally when playing with the light it involves back-lit subjects and a narrow depth of field. This produces plenty of ‘bokeh’ and nice, interesting textures in the photo.

Seriously, you didn’t think I’d make a post without FMNs in it, did you??!!

The FMNs will be with us for a while longer…

Oh and I’ve decided that my garden is now officially a jungle. Some of the plants are so enormous it’s unreal. I’ll try to get photos over the weekend but the forecast has changed quite significantly from sunny and warmish all weekend to rain on Saturday and grey clouds on Sunday.

Copyright 2012 Liz.
All rights reserved. Content created by Liz for Gwirrel’s Garden.

28 thoughts on “Friday Flowers – Playing With Light

  1. You are just soooo talented. I am fascinated in the quality of these photos. Would you be willing to email me brief details of how you set the camera up .. Lens aperture etc?

    • Hi Ronnie,

      It’s no secret the settings I use. Although it does depend on the lens you use to be able to get the narrow depth of field. So these are all taken on f2.8 which is the lowest I can go on the 100mm macro (am looking to get something smaller). I generally shoot in aperture priority, and the ISO is likely to be 100, or 125.

    • Hi Janet,

      The weather’s generally been OK here for the past week or two and is due to get to around 20C next week :)
      Just a shame this weekend is so grey, and I won’t be getting out to take photos.

    • Hi,

      I love playing with the light, and ‘breaking the rules’. I’m not one for the more typical photography, I have to admit.

      My Herb Roberts and Primula Vulgaris are huge, I really need to try to get photos of them!

  2. Really lovely photos Liz. I only wish there was some light to play with here :-(

    Love the FMN shots. I always find it difficult to get decent photos of them, no idea why!

    • Hi Jan,

      Not to worry, sun will soon come, if the forecast for next week is to be believed! :D

      They’re not easy to photograph, I have to admit and I’ve many photos of them as the weeks have passed!

  3. I surely won’t forget these forget-me-nots! You played beautifully with light, I need to wait for some grasses and full summer to see something back lit in my garden, as I have a very tall tree on the west boundary that still shut the light off earlier before the sun sets! :(

    • Hi Alberto,

      I look forward to your photos, Alberto. Especially some more rose shots, since my roses are still teasing me. I can’t believe they’re still refusing to open!

  4. Hi Liz,

    You have light ? It is so grey here, in fact, quite dismal :(

    I love the first shot…..the columbine, it looks so soft and pretty.

    We will forgive you keep showing FMN, as we know just how much you love them :)

    • Hi Cheryl,

      Last week has generally been OK, Saturday was quite rubbish and I barely ventured out at all. Sunday’s due to be pretty much the same but next week we’re seeing temps of 20C??! That seems amazing! hahaha. How starved we are for heat.

      Heehee, not much longer to go before I stop with the FMNs, I want to take some more white shots but I think even I’m bored of them now :)

  5. Lovely photos. My garden is also a jungle at the moment, a very green one at that. My only colour at the moment is from honesty and wait for it, forget-me-nots.

    • Hi Crystal,

      Ah but FMNs are THE best plant to have!!! :D lol.
      Not at all biased, though. Nup, not me ;)
      I’ve had some Herb robert pop up under the cherry, two of them and I’ve never seen them so ENORMOUS!!!! There’s a poor Tiarella hidden under one that I really need to move otherwise it’s just going to end up dead. Primula Vulgaris leaves are longer than my feet. Normally they’re like 10-15cm long??!

      Crazy, crazy.

  6. Hi,

    This is Lisa. I’ve been following your blog for awhile and I love flower Fridays! Today, is no exception. Pics si beautiful I reblogged them. Thanks for the inspiration :)

    • Hi,

      Thanks, I’m glad you’ve been enjoying following me :)
      Just need to get some more photos now – and my roses are opening! Yay! :D

    • Hi Donna,

      Not really having any problems with weeds here at the moment.We’re due nice weather for the rest of the week and I might try to get some jobs done after work – such as planting some Delphiniums and a Rose I have. Other than that things are ticking over well and I don’t have much to do.
      I hope you managed to get your jobs done and the weather’s being kind to you now. We all need some better weather right about now. Normally by this time of the year we’re enjoying plenty of warm days and this time last year we were well into a drought and the lawns were looking very dead.

  7. I have to say, I think that’s one of the best things about the digital camera revolution. Film processing used to be so expensive, it was difficult to just ‘play’ with settings, and learn from each image. Your images are really beautiful, I especially love the far right shot of the Kerria, and the upper right image of the forget me not. They just look so ‘dreamy’. :)

  8. *happy sigh* I love your light experiments Liz, they turn otherwise quite ordinary flowers into something truly beautiful. Oh, and I thought of you when I saw the carpet of forget-me-nots in the front garden of the new house!!

  9. Well, not just playing with light, it really looks like you know what you are doing, very artistic Kerria Japonica, the very first shrub we had in our garden, that wasn’t yesterday it was way back in 69. Not a plant you see so often, glad you showed it…

Leave a Reply

