November Foliage – Or Lack Thereof!

So, it’s November. There isn’t a great deal out there at this time of year. Sorry. The plants that do have blooms on them, for the most part have uninteresting foliage (perhaps that’s an oversight on my behalf. Must get plants with nice leaves!)

Here we have the pretty leaves of a Cotoneaster contrasting nicely with the deep red berries which so far have gone ignored by the birds. Then we have possibly the most ugly foliage imaginable… this Sedum really doesn’t hold any interest at all. It’s so horrible I almost want to rip it out….
Finally we have some tall Asters, they’re leaning a lot – it’s far more prominent this year, I think because we’ve had so little sun! But the bottom of the stems really does look ugly with the dead leaves.

Next up we have the lovely foliage of some Ferns, the Pulmonaria to the right of them also looks good (except for the dead leaves).
Aster Lady in Black doesn’t offer much in the way of foliage, even if her blooms are pretty. Perhaps she’s best for vase arrangements?
I like that the Campanula always seems to have a second hurrah nice and late in the year… it is possibly the only plant to have a wonderfully lush green hue.
In the centre are the fallen leaves of the Autumn flowering Cherry. I need to rake them up, because once they begin to rot, they really will be an eyesore! Plus I want the leaf mould.
Finally I have Hawthorn leaves; I’ve never noticed them turn yellow before? There have been awesome colours this year, so I was wondering if it usually happens and I miss it, or it’s as a result of the wet spring/summer/autumn.

I definitely need to do some tidying under the Cherry tree; although it does still look quite lush, the leaves will quickly look less than attractive.

(I can spy the Herb Robert in the background already developing nicely… Will keep an eye on it so it doesn’t grow to gargantuan proportions like this summer.)
The upper tier really needs tidying but it’s too wet for me to get up there at the moment… I’ll just compact the clay soil and probably end up slipping over as I try to get back down. Must put some bark chippings down to help with grip. The Monkshood has left behind ugly dead sticks with no photographic quality, at all. And if I chop it back then I think it’ll definitely improve the look of the tier.

I’m still enjoying the black Lilirope, although it looks like perhaps the cooler weather/rain is beginning to damage some of its leaves.

Finally; the first signs of decay are showing on the Lady’s Mantle now… A close-up shot of the Cotoneaster leaves. And one of the Pheasant’s Tail Grass clumps. It’s maturing quite nicely; I wonder if it will survive another year.

Copyright 2012 Liz.
All rights reserved. Content created by Liz for Gwirrel’s Garden.

9 thoughts on “November Foliage – Or Lack Thereof!

  1. Lots of lovely foliage here, your Cotoneaster leaf is such a stunning colour. Like you, I’ve never noticed hawthorn change colour, I’m probably too late to go and have a look, but with such strong gales today, the leaves will have blown away, yours look very pretty.

    • Hi Pauline,

      I think the wind had blown most of the Cotoneaster leaves off now, sadly. I also imagine the Hawthorn is now bare too. No floods here thankfully, but plenty of rain… rain. rain. rain. Getting annoyed.

    • Hi Scott,

      I think they can be short-lived yes, especially here as they reportedly need winter protection as they are not fully hardy. However, mine have survived… Well, I had two, one did die but that’s the year we had exceptionally deep snow, the other survived by the skin of its teeth. But they both seeded around the garden so I have a number of clumps that are maturing well but whether they will survive any heavy snow remains to be seen.

  2. I appreciate how Pulmonaria leaves will persist right up until covered with snow. Most years mine will green up the garden as soon as the snow melts, but if we don’t get a good snow cover, the leaves whither.

    • Hi NS,

      I think they last well here too – can’t quite remember if they survived all winter last year. Previously they’ve definitely been knocked back by snow but we didn’t really have any last winter… Or at least none that stuck around too long or caused much hassle.

      Just checked my photos, and it looks like they never completely died… we had blooms in January on them!

  3. Hi Liz! How r u doing? 🙂 I’ve been moaning about the lack of fall colour around here too. That cotoneaster looks very pretty though. I went to the woodland the other day and there was big old hawthorn everywhere with loads of berries and some of them was still holding up yellow leaves like yours. My young hawthorns in the garden didn’t turn that yellow, leaves nearly fall when still green…

    • Hi Alberto,

      Ah; we had lots of lovely autumn colours, but they’ve since dropped/been blown away so I’m left now with an ugly bare garden until frosts or snow arrive and it can look pretty again! 🙂

      I spotted my first spring bulb appearing this week…. I do hope we have another mild one.

      Thanks for confirming about the Hawthorns though; we have Hawothorn hedge at the back and I’ve planted some on the side and was certain I hadn’t seen them turn yellow before – three are near the house, so I *should’ve* noticed before! They’re still relatively small – using them as a hedge rather than a tree. Although I would love to allow them to grow to their full height I just don’t have the space.

Leave a Reply

