End of Month – January 2013

So, the snow has gone and it’s time to begin exploring and reacquainting with the garden after so long of constant white… Walking up to the house yesterday I noticed the Cyclamen are now blooming in the front window border… I look forward to them naturalising and having more in subsequent years. I also noticed my first Tete a Tete are budding in one of the pots by the front door; until now I’d only seen the very first tips of any Daffs/Narcissi coming up so they really were working hard underneath that snow!

Cyclamen Coum

Winter Jasmine is still relatively difficult to get close enough to for photos… Hopefully it’ll have another good year and produce enough growth for me to easily reach.

Winter Jasmine

As the sun rises in the sky, I’m finally able to get sunny photos of a few areas; it will be a while yet before any sun reaches the back of the garden.

Front garden

Grasses and Growth

Hellebore Niger is blooming and I’m just waiting for the rest to follow suit, so far two others are near blooming but the rest were a fair bit behind when I last took photos 5 days ago.

Hellebores, Lavender and Corkscrew Rush

The first Muscari blooms also seem to have survived the snow; well before it hit I noticed the very first buds on them appearing and worried that perhaps the snow would damage their fragile growth. They look to be OK, but I’ll wait to see how the look once the petals fully form.

Rose, Muscari and Sweetbox

After almost 5 years I’m finally getting some nice clumps of Snowdrops, this one below especially seems to have gone nuts with plenty of new shoots appearing at the base.

Snowdrops and Garrya

I’m a little concerned about the Iris show this year, as I didn’t get any bulbs in autumn and have a terrible feeling I’m not going to get so many coming up in the pots this year… I think a trip to pick some up ‘in the green’ is on the cards.
However, I did spot the first Anemone and Tulipa Turkestanica growth today! Woo hoo.

Anemone, Tete a Tete and Iris

Hellebore, Front Border and Primula

Sadly, although unsurprisingly the blooms on the autumn Cherry were heavily damaged… most were browned and very unsightly… Still holding out for a spring show in April/May…

Autumn Cherry

Almost all the borders now have spring bulbs popping up; a sure sign that it’s on its way 🙂

Copyright 2013 Liz.
All rights reserved. Content created by Liz for Gwirrel’s Garden.

23 thoughts on “End of Month – January 2013

  1. So nice to hear spring is coming for you…we had more snow so no spring here…but your lovely pictures of the delicate buds and blooms made me smile. The one thing about snow here is that it acts as an insulation for buds and many early blooms so I find it rarely damages any of mine when we get the snow showers in spring…it is actually helping the plants beneath it grow right now. When we get the occasional thaw I see more and more growth on the perennials…loving the coming of spring.

    • Hi Donna,

      Hopefully that’s all the snow we will get this year, although I suspect we might get the odd quick shower here and there, it shouldn’t last as long as be quite as annoying… In the past I’ve had plants damaged by snow, but suspect it was late snow and it had affected plants which are not hardy enough to cope. Tbh, I’m surprised the verbenas seem to be OK after it all too, as normally I can guarantee they’ll be dead after.

  2. Lovely to see so much life returning after all the snow. The only flower on our Helleborus niger was munched while still a bud, so looks rather forlorn now – I’m still pleased that it seems to be settling in though, and hopefully next year we’ll have more flowers!

    • Hi,

      I think one of my other Hellebores has been munched, but after looking more closely at photos I think there are more buds coming up to replace the damaged one… I hope anyway. But I am pleased to see that pretty much all of the Hellebores have survived and look to be producing more growth. So as you, I’m hopeful to see more blooms next year on them!

  3. What lovely blue sky you had, that’s fantastic and so many signs of new growth, what a difference a couple of degrees rise in temperature makes, really hope they have the forecast wrong for next week!

    • Hi Pauline,

      What forecast have you seen? I don’t think we’ve anything bad in store except more high winds?
      It’s about time spring arrived now, i think. Still waiting for Crocuses to arrive, so far there’s quite a few coming up but not nearly enough – especially since I planted another 200 in autumn. Those I planted in pots seem to be doing well so far, and I aim to plant them in the green over the coming weeks.

  4. Hi Liz!
    I’m so glad to see some sun popping up in your part of the world! 🙂
    Snow acts as some kind of fertilizer to the plants and in fact your bulbs are really working like mads! Didn’t you have problems with the stipas in this wet winter and without some sun? I guess I’ve lost a big part of my stipas because of the soaked ground…

    • Hi Alberto,

      Oh yes… sun… I’d begun to think of it only as an urban legend after far too many days of grey…
      I’m kinda thinking in some ways the snow stunted the bulbs – after all, some Snowdrops were almost blooming weeks ago, but have now only just begun to hang their heads and open their blooms. Without the snow I think they would’ve done that weeks ago.
      The Stipas seem to be fine, even the Pheasant’s tail grass appear to have survived. I haven’t noticed any casualties of the snow yet…. Verbena Bonariensis is OK too, when normally I can guarantee to lose some when it snows.
      Soaked ground?? Haha, are you kidding me? We had April – October with near constant rain 😀

        • Hi,

          I guess the rain might well have shocked them… But then we’d had 18 months of little rain and drought so I’m surprised mine didn’t suffer over the summer once the rain arrived.
          Actually, January was apparently drier than average again. I can believe it actually, because we just had snow instead, so two/three weeks of no rain and the odd day of snow.

  5. Hi Liz, hope you get your Spring blossom show from your cherry – at least it sounds as if you have lots of other lovely flowers blooming or about to bloom. I say “sounds” as for some reason I can’t see any of your photos! Will try again later…

    • Hi Janet,

      I’m hopeful that the only reason we didn’t get the spring show from the Cherry last year was because it got really want in March, and we seemed to go straight into summer before the rain then arrived… So perhaps it threw the tree out a bit.
      Maybe I’m deluding myself a bit, but I like to remain hopeful 🙂

        • Hi Janet,

          I spotted my Iris have opened now… Should’ve got photos when I had the chance, especially as they’ve suddenly decided we’re going to be hit by snow tonight??!!! Where the heck did that come from?! They were saying sun/rain today and no mention of snow, then suddenly ‘Oh btw, there’s a yellow warning and you’ll get between 8-15cm.’
          Hrm, thanks for that.
          So I’m hoping, if we do get any, that the Iris are OK.

  6. Sweet blooms. I especially love your hellebores. I was shocked to read that it took 5 years for you to get a good clump of snowdrops! I just ordered some – didn’t realize they would take so long to start spreading.

    • Hi,

      I guess it just takes them time to settle down; they’re known for being a bit picky and are generally better when planted ‘in the green’ as they’re not always guaranteed to bloom from planting in the autumn. I usually plant them in groups of around 10, and frequently have some, but not all come up. In some cases most have come up from a patch, others only one or two. Bluebells are similar and have also taken a while, last year I had some very nice patches of them after having only one or two blooms in each patch for 4 years.
      Muscari, meanwhile spread like wildfire – I’m shocked how happy they are to multiply!

    • Hi Jan,

      It’s very nice to see them! I’m especially pleased to see the Anemone and Tulipa Turkstanica, because it seems more definite now as they’re generally later blooming than the Crocus and Snowdrops.
      I love that the sun is also now high enough in the sky to once more touch the ground… Also, this morning it’s suddenly light as I leave for work. Friday it wasn’t; it’s like someone has suddenly turned on the lights! Wham!

  7. Lovely new blooms! Isn’t it nice to have more of the sun? I was surprised last week to find a bloom on my ‘Pink Tea Cup’ hellebore – I could have sworn none of mine bloomed until March or April last year. And a few aubrieta are starting to bloom!

  8. It is exciting to see so many plants eager for spring! My hellebores were a little late this year, but are finally blooming in ernest. Daffodils are up and beginning to bloom. Flowering quince also budding out. But I know we will still have some freezing weather.

Leave a Reply

