Weekly Photo Challenge – Lost in the Details

This is the first time I’ve joined in with the Weekly Photo Challenge meme; but it’s purely because I had another post in the ‘playing with light’ series I’ve been doing and thought that actually it kind of worked for this week’s theme too. And since I’m all about the macro and ‘getting lost in the detail’ I might as well have a go.

As the days grow longer, the light levels in the garden increase and I’m finally able to get some nice photos… the back of the garden remains in the dark for much of the day at this time of year, but the Flat-topped Aster is tall enough to hit the sun as it moves round and as I’ve yet to have a good, hard frost to cover the Asters in a pretty, magical coat of white I had to play with light instead and along the way discovered lots of spider webs amongst the dead stems.

Flat-topped Aster

Flat-topped Aster

Flat-topped Aster

The silken webs are a surprise, as it’s still cold and I hadn’t expected to see signs of spiders quite yet…

Copyright 2013 Liz.
All rights reserved. Content created by Liz for Gwirrel’s Garden.

11 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge – Lost in the Details

  1. Hi Liz, I adore shots like this – spiders are busy here too. Haven’t seen as many winter webs this year. I always love your photography. I hope you pop back to my reply to your comment earlier 🙂

    • Hi Shirley,

      I’m surprised there are any spiders, let alone flies for them to eat! I’ve seen midges around and took some photos of Jumping spiders which are out and about but still yet to see any wolf/nursery web spiders around.

  2. I love the soft colors in the photos — and I’m so glad you tried this. I’ve been hesitant to take part in these daily prompts, but you have inspired me. Stay warm. 🙂

    • Hi,

      I don’t think I’ll participate every week in it, but who knows… Maybe there will be other themes which suit my photos?
      I’m sure I could probably bend most themes to fit in with gardens/photography though.

    • Hi Joe,

      That’ll be the low f stop that’s creating the smooth/blured background which helps to make the subject pop out and catch your attention 🙂

Leave a Reply

