Weekly Photo Challege: Change

There are lots of changes happening at this time of year, the weather is changing, the seasons are changing and the garden is changing. Blooms still seem to be quite few and far between at the moment and I’m pretty certain I’ve lost a few bulbs… But then I say that every year!

For this post, however I’m going to look at how I changed the distance and focus of a Crocus… First we start with an almost portrait shot, and as I get in closer it becomes more abstract, and of course we see far more detail!

Crocus Tommasinianus

Copyright 2013 Liz.
All rights reserved. Content created by Liz for Gwirrel’s Garden.

14 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challege: Change

    • Hi Ronnie,

      Sometimes the most surprising combinations can actually be amazing! Although I do love yellow and purple together anyway 🙂

  1. Hi Liz,
    How your photography has changed over the last few years.
    The detail is so pretty….unlike the comment above, I really like yellow and purple together. I remember posting on Ragwort and Purple Loosestrife, I thought the combination wonderful.

    Hope you are well….good to see you still blogging. I lost my father in January, unexpected and sad but life goes on.

    • Hi Cheryl,

      Very nice to *see* you again! 🙂
      I hope you’re well? Very sorry to hear about your father – how is your mother? My nan passed away in September, also very suddenly; although we never had a strong relationship… She had her favourites and the rest of us just weren’t good enough for her. Very sad that she was like that; but I cannot change that and instead try to look forward and hope I don’t end up the same. Needless to say, even in her passing she still tried to cause as much upset as possible.

      I’m so glad the temperatures are finally beginning to increase; it’s been one hell of a long winter this year!

      Btw, I love purple and yellow together, they are after all complimentary colours. In fact I also love purple and orange… OK who am I kidding?? All purple combinations to me are beautiful! 😀 I might even be crazy enough to try purple and red together??? Guess it depends on the hue of purple and the hue of red to whether they’re OK.

      • Hi Liz, Surprisingly my Mum is doing well. I see her most days….strange, I thought she would fall apart !!
        Sorry to hear about Nan, understand the favourites issue……sadly that is life. I am sure you WILL NOT turn out like her 🙂
        Purple and red…..gorgeous. I have crocosmia with agastache in one border and I love it.
        It has been a terrible 12 months weather wise….we really do need a good summer, not only for ourselves but also for the bees and butterflies.
        Enjoy the weekend in your pretty garden……..

  2. I love that more abstract close-up, so beautiful. I think purple can go with pretty much everything, dependingn on shade and saturation etc. Purple and red can look fabulous, I’ve seen deep velvety red tulips growing with near black ones and looking fabulous.

    • Hi Janet,

      As you’re well aware, I love purple. So to me it looks stunning with everything. Thankfully there’s a massive abundance of purple in the plant world so I’m in love with just about everything 🙂

  3. I love the crocuses, always a joy to see them pop up and bring freshness into the world. Something got a hold of mine this year and chewed them down. I’m hoping they will come back and sprout anyway! Kathi :O)

Leave a Reply

