Belated Garden Blogger’s Bloom Day – April 2013

Garden Blogger’s Bloom Day – April 2013

April? Are you kidding me??!!

My life is flashing before my eyes. And I’m not sure if it’s a good or bad thing that the months are going too quickly… I think it’s because I’ve been sat, waiting for the weather to improve for so long that I can’t believe it’s April and we’re only just getting warmer weather.

Hellebore ‘Niger’

There’s actually plenty to see now and yet I wish I still had more to show… Oh to have Witchhazel, or a twisted hazel with pretty little catkins… on and on I could go. But I can’t have the entire garden full of spring only interest.

The rest of the year sure would be boring!

Primula, Anemone, Turkestanica, Hellebore and Pulmonaria

I cannot believe how much things have grown, seemingly in front of my eyes. I took photos of Bleeding hearts emerging from the soil, and the next day they had noticeably grown! In less than 24 hrs. Amazing. The weather over this weekend has been lovely; windy but still very warm. Warm enough that I was too hot when finished doing the odd jobs and could easily work without the need for a cardigan or jacket. We’ve also had some showers, yet the ground is still very dry and I’m watering the pots.

Primula, Epimedium and Tete-a-Tete

Lending to the feeling that it ought to be March is the fact Snowdrops are still around, and the Bluebells are a long way from blooming… Normally they start at the end of April or early May. At this rate, I expect them towards the latter end of May.

Muscari and Crocus Tommasinianus

Tulipa Turkestanica is finally blooming, there are quite a few around as I planted another load in autumn, although I’d like to see them in clumps a little more as at the moment they’re a little too spaced apart. Of course Hellebore ‘tutu’ is still blooming, I think I need to get a second so I can have nice, bright photos.

Tulipa Turkestanica and Hellebore ‘Tutu’

It’s that time of year…. F-M-Ns are back!!! My half-dead ones are looking good too, the warmer temps have certainly helped them.

Forget-me-not

A spot of tidying in the Cherry border is in order, but otherwise I’m pleased with how the border is maturing. At this time of year it’s by far the most advanced with all the spring plants in it.

Cherry border, Muscari, Drumstick Primula and Aubrieta


Drumstick Primula are so desperate to bloom, their flowers are open even though their actual drumstick is still almost in the ground!

This year is the first time I have lots of Daffodils… I think I remember planting some more in autumn, but I’m not sure what the one is with the pale petals and wide trumpet… I planted lots of ‘Minnow’ which clearly these aren’t, as minnow have small, cute little blooms.

Daffodils

Blossom is out, although sadly not on my autumn Cherry………….. I’ll have to enjoy ‘Kojo no mai’ instead.

Fuji Cherry Kojo No Mai

Fuji Cherry

Forsythia is yet another plant that has suddenly exploded; this one is actually my neighbour’s, but I’ve also noticed mine in the front has begun to bloom.

Forsythia

Forsythia

Turkestanica and Anemone

There aren’t many blue flowering Pulmonaria here, and actually I think I prefer ‘sissinghurst white’… I’m glad this Hellebore survived the snow, some blooms are heavily damaged but this is a nice, fresh bloom.

Pulmonaria, Hellebore and Daffodil

My mum bought me a Quince for my birthday last year, I wonder if I’ll get any fruit on it later in the year.

Flowering Quince

Last year I bought three pots of Drumstick Primula, divided them up and this year, strangely there are a variety of different shades to the ‘sticks’?? Odd. Double Purple Hellebore always looks at its best when backlit by the sun; its petals become a deep blood red!
Tete-a-Tete have formed a nice little clump in one spot… No clumps anywhere else yet though!

Drumstick Primula, Hellebore Double Purple and Tete-a-Tete

And to finish this bloom day…. Magnolia Stellata furry coats are shed, and blooms can be seen…

Turkestanica, Anemone, Pulmonaria, Hellebore and Magnolia Stellata Tommasinianus

Copyright 2013 Liz.
All rights reserved. Content created by Liz for Gwirrel’s Garden.

11 thoughts on “Belated Garden Blogger’s Bloom Day – April 2013

    • Hi Annette,

      Thank you very much 🙂
      Geraniums and Dicentra have appeared over night, it feels! They’re growing so quickly I can’t believe the difference on a daily basis.
      Lots of lost time, this winter. Things were growing well in December and January, then the cold arrived and they’ve sat for two months doing very little.

    • Hi Angie,

      It’s amazing how quickly things are moving now… Honestly; it’s crazy! But also very exciting. I’m never sure if I prefer later springs or to have mild winters where plants start growing in January… Because this way everything happens at once and you get to appreciate how amazing it is; just a shame we had to endure the snow and cold for so long!

    • Hi Janet,

      I ought to have really put a warning on the post… Way too many photos… And to think I actually held back with some! 😀

      Really enjoying the weather at the moment… Well, it’s a bit windy; today was especially windy! but it is generally warm and sunny with it. I’ve managed to do a bit of work in the garden today; added two new Erysimum to replace the others, planted up some pots and a few other jobs. Next I need to floor the Buddleja in the front garden and plant the last of the things that have been sat waiting for weeks/months *shame face*

Leave a Reply

