Friday Flowers

I finally picked up some Corydalis recently after having repeatedly told myself I need to get some but then always somehow forgetting – or rather never actually seeing it in shops!
Also, my mum gave me a ‘cutting’ of her 100+ year old Peony which was, I believe her Grandfather’s, but actually I think it might’ve even been his father’s… Anyway. So yes, my dad was being ‘useful’ and I use the term loosely by removing the old stems of the Peony to allow the new growth to come up, only he was ripping it out, and out came these two stems and a portion of tuber. So, it looks like I finally have some of it, after mum saying for the past 8 years or so that she wants me to have some to keep it in the family.
At the moment it’s in a pot because I don’t really have the space for it, and as I plan on moving I think perhaps it’s for the best, for now. It will have very large fuchsia pink/red double blooms if it does manage to bloom. One stem at least has a bud under those leaves…

Corydalis ‘Solida’ and Peony

With the warmer weather, I’ve noticed a lot of the spring bulbs are dying much faster now. I’m not sure if I’d rather have the cooler temps back! Haha. ‘Tutu’ Hellebore is OK, but it is in the cooler shady north-facing front garden.
Meanwhile Fritillary is blooming, I bought some more after accidentally moving one patch to the upper tier when I moved the Campanula last year and one Daffodil clump in the front has doubled in number this year… I don’t really like these ones, but it’s better than nothing!

Hellebore ‘Tutu’, Snake’s Head Fritillary and Daffodil

I actually quite like these Quince blooms… I ought to plant it, as I suspect it will be seriously pot-bound by now. Again though, I don’t know if there’s much point right now.

Quince

I didn’t realise I had any Chionodoxa left… But this year I’ve spotted two hiding away. They’re too small for my garden and somewhat pointless. Really they need to be in a rockery type setting to enjoy them fully.

Chionodoxa and Aubrieta

Anemones are coming to their end, but certainly look very pretty, meanwhile the Fern is unfurling its beautiful fronds and will soon cover the bulbs as they die back.

Anemone and Scaled Fern

Lucky me, I have some blooms on the autumn flowering Cherry… Not many and I hear more cold air from the Arctic is on its way and will no doubt quickly put a stop to any blooms on the cherry.

Autumn Flowering Chery

Autumn Flowering Cherry

I really wish I had the space for one of these black-leaved plums like my parents because they have the most perfect shaped blossom. Perhaps one day I could have one, who knows what the next house will bring when I finally pluck up the courage to attempt to sell.

Cherry Blossom

This forsythia has all its interest at the top; I advised mum to chop it back hard as I did with mine, so perhaps I’ll help them to do it sometime.

Cherry Blossom and Forsythia

Copyright 2013 Liz.
All rights reserved. Content created by Liz for Gwirrel’s Garden.

22 thoughts on “Friday Flowers

  1. I like corydalis too, it’s a shame their leaves disappear soon after blooming, though. That hellebore is very pretty, I didn’t remember your previous tutu being so reddish, maybe it’s because of the warmer climate?
    I see no point in growing chionodoxa in my garden either, although your beautiful picture could make me change my mind… 😉

    • Hi Alberto,

      I didn’t know that about Corydalis! Awww, man. I’ll never remember it’s there and will likely plant something in its place by accident.
      ‘Tutu’ being pinky is probably due to the light? It is pinky, but it’s only when the sun is on it that it’s brighter and as it’s in our front, generally it never gets any sun! It just happened that it was slightly backlit by the sun on the daffs.
      I wouldn’t bother with Chionodoxa, personally… But hey, if you’re sold by the photo, so beit 😀

  2. Corydalis is one of my favourites, I hope yours likes being in your garden. So many flowers have opened up while we were away, spring has arrived at last! We used to have a Forsythia but the bullfinches ate all the flower buds, I do seem to have problems with my birds don’t I?!

    • Hi Pauline,

      It’s from your blog that I keep being reminded of the Corydalis! 🙂 We had lots of the yellow one seeding everywhere at a house I lived in a while ago, but never seem to see it for sale anywhere, but discovered last year that a local Natural Trust place sells wild flowers in early spring.
      Bullfinches ate all the buds? Really? Never seen any noticable damage from Bullies around here – I’d always assumed they’d damage the cherry but actually they’re way more intent on the sunflower hearts to bother themselves with the buds 🙂

  3. another plant added to my list..!
    another wonderful post….
    enjoyed wandering within your garden today Thank You!
    )0(

    • Hi Ronnie,

      I have to agree with you; the Peony stems do look like hands! heeheee.
      It’ll be a learning curve for me this year with them… Still don’t have the room for it and know it needs full sun to be happy. Eeeek. No idea what I’m going to do.

        • Oh dear, I didn’t realise they wouldn’t like mulching/compost. I planted this in a pot using my own home made compost… See, this is why I’ve never bothered with them because they’re just too fussy… These do have buds hidden in the leaves, but I am fully prepared to see the buds die away and just have leaves.

          • Oh I am no means a peony expert I just put their lack of flowering last year to mulching them, someone told me they like to bake their roots but I agree they are somewhat fussy. I suppose with a flower as lovely as theirs they can afford to be.

  4. What gorgeous shots of your spring blooms. I just love those unusual checkered blooms on your Snake’s Head Fritillary. Just looking at them make me smile. Have a lovely weekend.

    • Hi Lona,

      I love how much things have changed in such a short space of time; the plants really seem to have suddenly arrived and it’s almost hard to believe that just a couple of weeks ago it was all still very bare with minimal blooms – even the Snowdrops were still around! Perhaps the latest I’ve ever seen Snowdrops around.

  5. Oooh, pretty, so very pretty, love the colour of those corydalis blooms, and magical to have your hands on the family peony. I sympathise with the “is it worth it because we are going to move soon” thing. Perhaps you could put the chaenomeles in a larger pot? I am certainly delighted to have finally planted out all the larger plants I rescued from my old garden, but some of them were in pots for over three years because I was convinced I was moving imminently! Good luck managing it all, and if in doubt, put it in a pot, at least then you can move things around and explore new combinations.

Leave a Reply

