Wordless Wednesday – Magnolia Stellata

Ok, so this post isn’t going to be wordless. at.all

I’m getting so far behind on using the photos that I know most are going to be ignored and never again looked at and just sit wasting space on my ever decreasing hardrive.
So here’s me attempting to use up some of the many, many shots I took of the Magnolia Stellata this year.

See, so there is one good outcome of the rain we miserably endured last year.

Stellata loved it!

For the past 5 years I’ve wondered whether it’s actually a rather thirsty tree and likes to be well watered throughout summer. Those of you who has followed me for the past 5 years may well remember that I was on the verge of getting rid of it because it didn’t bloom for 2 years. The third year just as I was preparing to pull it out, it produced a handful of blooms. So that summer I watered it well, just to see. The year after, more blooms, say 20.

Well, this year has been fantastic. I won’t even attempt to count how many blooms adorned its fragile little branches.

Of course I’ve also been getting my nose right in there for a good sniff of its wonderful perfume (checking for beetles, bugs and spiders first, of course!).

I really wish I could bottle it up for use later on in the year… Oh wait, companies already do that!
Shame they never actually smell like the real thing.

And now it’s time for the show! Sit back and enjoy 🙂

Magnolia Stellata

Magnolia Stellata

Magnolia Stellata

Magnolia Stellata

Magnolia Stellata

Magnolia Stellata

Magnolia Stellata

Magnolia Stellata

Magnolia Stellata

Magnolia Stellata

I hope you all had a nice weekend and those of you in parts of the UK – had a nice bank holiday. Here the weather was glorious – a bit too hot, in fact. And we had a busy weekend getting the kitchen sorted, painting the living room, power washing the decking and walls (the creature from the black lagoon was my better half by the time I finished. I even had the mother of all spiders crawl down my face. OMG.). After having a shower I decided to relax on the grass, fell asleep and then woke up too hot. Hid indoors for an hour or so only to find myself itching to paint the walls outside. So out I went, Tuesday after work I finished the other side of the wall… after being unable to paint it last year because it was always too wet, I can’t stop staring at how much better it looks now.
Next up is painting the bathroom, entrance hall, stairs and landing. The latter job will be a major one because the ceiling on the stairs is so high I need to borrow a special ladder to paint them.

I hate ladders.

Copyright 2013 Liz.
All rights reserved. Content created by Liz for Gwirrel’s Garden.

16 thoughts on “Wordless Wednesday – Magnolia Stellata

  1. I love Magnolia. Luckily, I’m going to college and there are all kinds of magnolia on my campus. During spring time, the view is just amazing. 🙂

    • Hi,

      Lucky you! I don’t see many Magnolia around here tbh; plenty of Cherry blossom at this time of year though! But Magnolia have the added bonus of beautiful scent too.

    • Hi,

      Thanks very much; pleased you like my photos. I’m not too certain I would have Stellata again when I move home… Perhaps I would miss its blooms and lovely perfume. They are beautiful of course, but most of the year it’s an otherwise boring tree with few leaves to add any interest.

  2. I absolutely love Magnolia Stellata and have tried several times to getting a planting to thrive in my garden. With each failure I have felt like abandoning this effort until I see pictures like yours and I know with one more effort and additional information there will be success, it will be worth it

    • Hi Charlie,

      I didn’t realise they were actually difficult to keep! Glad to hear I’m not the only one that found it frustrating although it didn’t actually die; having no blooms is pretty much pointless to keep a Magnolia!
      Good luck if you do decide to try one again; my fingers are crossed for you.

  3. Absolutely stunning photos of a beautiful tree. Like Charlie, I have had a failure with Magnolia Stellata, but I must try again as you have shown how beautiful it is!

    • Hi Pauline,

      Sorry to hear your Stellata failed – perhaps similar as it didn’t get enough water? I was getting fed up of this not blooming and was ready to get rid of it and make space for something else, after all its blooms are pretty much the only reason one buys a Stellata! The leaves aren’t interesting enough to make it attractive for the rest of the year.

  4. Hell of a woman, how many jobs are you doing all at once?! Anyway ‘the mother of all spiders’ really made me laugh! Your magnolia is beautiful, magnolias are those kind of plants you have to be patient. Very.
    Pictures are fantastic, especially the ones in nearly sepia with a kind of sparkle and fog.

    • Hi Alberto,

      I’m trying to get as much done as I can quickly, also when it was warm enough to dry the paint quickly. But it sounds like the weather has changed massively since I left for Portugal. So I don’t think I’ll get the other jobs done soon 😦
      But yes, the spider was huge and ugly. And on. My. Head.

      Seriously. I could happily have screamed if I wasn’t so controlled.

Leave a Reply

