Garden Blogger’s Bloom Day – May 2013

So, what’s happened in May? Well the garden really has sprung to life and it’s almost difficult to believe it’s not that long ago that we had snow. With the growth, it also became more apparent which plants I’ve lost and it looks like I’ve lost both of my Bird’s foot trefoil. A massive shame as they are wildflowers, but also larval and nectar food plant for Butterflies as well as Bees loving them.

I’ve no idea why it’s taken me so long to show you photos of the Epimedium.
Especially considering how long I’ve coveted it; I finally get some and then don’t even bother to post about it until well after it’s bloomed! So here I am, making up for my tardiness.

Epimedium ‘Rubrum’


So far both are only very small, but over the years they should eventually provide a nice ground cover and I suspect once the Daffs and other spring bulbs have died back they will grow nicely with the added light they’ll receive. At the moment one especially is being swallowed by the other plants around it such as Hellebores, Daffs, Muscari and Narcissus.

Next up we have Kerria Japonica, still blooming and I’m pretty sure it was in last month’s GBBD. I’ve also included a shot that gives you an idea how it grows through my hedge (it’s come through from nextdoor). I was also surprised to see Honesty pop up, I’m not sure where it came from – I think from my parent’s last year but I’d thought they had died… Sadly though in this spot where these are, the Ragged Robin has disappeared. Think I’d rather have the latter tbh, although I will enjoy photographing the seed pods of Honesty later in the year.

Kerria Japonica, Honesty, Forget-me-not and Fritillaria Meleagris

Bleeding Heart and Brunnera in the front garden… I won’t bother with the latin name of the Bleeding heart because the truth is I don’t know what the updated nomenclature is now.

Bleeding Heart

More shady photos in the front garden, this time of Pulmonaria and Muscari. The border will soon look far quieter once the spring bulbs and plants are gone. However, hopefully the Tiarellas, Astilbes and Lady’s Mantle will be sufficient.

Pulmonaria and Muscari

No matter how I try to photograph this Primula it always end up looking a fuchsia colour! Even using polarising filters. Maybe my eyes are going? Because honestly, they are a deeper plummy shade and not quite so fluorescent.

Primula and Forget-me-not

I’ve been thinking about which plants I would and would not want when I move… And I do think I’d want another of these… However I don’t think they’re very easy to find and hope I can get hold of another. For most of the year however, it’s quite boring but is nice and bushy and provides good screening and then has the benefit of this lovely blossom.

Dwarf Russian Almond

Geum are blooming nice and early – I hadn’t realised they bloomed for so long – Anemone are coming to the end of their bloom but I had to feature them anyway, Quince blooms seem to be gradually becoming increasingly deeper red… Not sure which I prefer! There are some Hellebore blooms left, but I think they too are reaching their end.

Geum ‘Tangerine Dream’, Anemone, Quince, Aquilegia and Hellebore

Perhaps in the next house I’ll be able to have a beautiful wall with Aubrieta climbing over it… Ahhh, such dreams…

Aubrieta

That’ll have to be it for now, I’ve ran out of time to post!

Copyright 2013 Liz.
All rights reserved. Content created by Liz for Gwirrel’s Garden.

12 thoughts on “Garden Blogger’s Bloom Day – May 2013

  1. So many lovely flowers, our cool spring is certainly making everything last longer isn’t it. Love your epimedium, such pretty flowers and your almond, no wonder you would like to take it with you if/when you move. My fritillaries are all over now, just waiting patiently for the seeds to develop so I can sprinkle them, that is if a certain pheasant doesn’t get there first!

    • Hi Pauline,

      Just hoping the cool spring doesn’t lead to a cool summer too; although the recent forecast and snow in sw England is giving me doubts for any real summer again.
      All I need is it to be warm/dry enough to decorate… The rest, well I don’t like it much above 20 anyway.
      Frits here are over too, had to hunt the red Lilly beetle… Grrrr. I don’t have enough not to mind if I have them!!

  2. You have so many beauties in bloom right now. Epimedium flowers are very pretty in spring, and then you get a useful groundcover for the rest of the year. I appreciate them for the shade under my evergreens, too. I love the purple blue colour of Muscari and Pulmonaria. Mine haven’t popped up yet, but I’m looking forward to them. Your closeups show how pretty the flowers are, and what interesting shapes they have, too.

    • Hi NS,

      I think I’ll go for white Epimediums next, mainly to help lift the dark area, and perhaps a larger one as Rubrum is really rather small, even if its leaves are an interesting colour 🙂

  3. All very pretty!
    That is one of the most interesting Hellebores I’ve seen – such a beautiful color, too!
    Have a wonderful day!
    Lea
    Lea’s Menagerie

    • Hi Lea,

      I believe the Hellebore is ‘Double Purple’ I also have double Red but it hasn’t bloomed this year thanks to late snow which killed off the stems it had produced – however it has now got lots of fresh leaves so I think next year I should see it bloom.

    • Hi Carolyn,

      Thank you very much 🙂 It’s so nice to see so much going on in the garden; hard to believe sometimes that most of the plants die back during winter.

  4. Wow.
    I’m not sure if I can say anything else but.. Those photographies are awesome.
    The first one in the “Kerria Japonica”‘s album is my favorite. You really are talented ! 🙂

    Congrats ! 😀

Leave a Reply

