Friday Flowers

This is going to be a long post, so kick back and relax as it’s actually two posts in one.

I mentioned in the end of month post that the Camassia were a disappointment. I don’t like how the dead blooms look really scraggy and detract from the newly opened blooms above. I also don’t think there are enough blooms; they’re not like an Allium with hundreds of little star-like blooms so don’t have the same impact.
However, the Bees and Ants seem to like them anyway!

Camassia

Bleeding heart are doing well this year, although one is being strangled by Geraniums that I ought to cut back a little to allow the Dicentra some space.

Bleeding Heart

Bleeding Heart

Nothing beats the Alliums, and it’s even better if they’re planted en masse.

Allium ‘Purple Sensation’

Acer Garnet

The Geraniums have arrived with Herb Robert and Macrorrhizum in full swing producing plenty of blooms that Bees love.

Herb Robert, Sorbus and Geranium

Now we’re moving onto my parent’s garden. Spring is the only time of year when their garden is interesting… What, with the swathes of F-M-Ns, cherry, apple and pear blossoms there is plenty to see. But in later summer and autumn not so much.

What a difference from this time last year… the apple is laden with blossom, the Bees are happy and hopefully they’ll have a good harvest this year. I also haven’t seen their Quince so happy before either.

Apple Blossom and Flowering Quince

F-M-Ns! How could I not show them??? Are you crazy? As if I wouldn’t!

Forget-me-not and Flowering quince

Forget-me-not

Forget-me-not

Clematis Montana has spread over three trees over the years, it actually orgininates next door, grew up the wall, into a Lilac, then a Hawthorn and across into the apple. I think I’ll have to persuade them to chop it in the apple a little so that it doesn’t swamp the poor thing and end up with no blossom and no apples.

Clematis Montana

Clematis Montana in Lilac

Apple Blossom

My Rhubarb bloomed a few years ago, then died… Apparently they don’t usually die after blooming so we’ll see… Although I’m not sure mum will appreciate the millions of seeds all over the garden once the blooms are fertilised.

Rhubarb Flower

Having never really experienced Apple blossom before, I can now see why people love it. The blooms are such a gorgeous shade of pink.

Apple Blossom

Copyright 2013 Liz.
All rights reserved. Content created by Liz for Gwirrel’s Garden

18 thoughts on “Friday Flowers

  1. Again such lovely pics, your garden is great. Pity you don’t like Camassia that much, I think they look fab especially in a wild meadow setting which is also the habitat they come from.

    • Hi,

      Yep, I have to agree – Camassia do look best in a meadow setting… Which sadly I don’t have. They need long grasses and other airy blooms around them to look their best so I won’t be having any more in future.

  2. I agree with you about the clematis on your parents apple tree, it would be a shame if the crop of apples was affected by the clematis, nice to benefit from next door plant though! The blue camassia which I have in the front is only in flower for about a week, it will have to go, it isn’t earning its space! My white one is better, maybe it depends which variety we buy? Love your flowers, always stunning photos of them.

    • Hi Pauline,

      These Camassia have lasted longer than a week, but I just… Don’t like them. Perhaps if I had the space for a meadow then I’d be happy to keep them but as you say they’re taking up space that something else could have.
      I won’t be wasting my money on them when I move; there are other more worthwhile bulbs!

  3. I have a blue Camassia, and think in hindsight that it looks better planted en masse in a wild meadow, than in the border. It’s pretty, but not for long.

    • Hi,

      I think really if anyone wants it in their garden then they either need to plant it in a meadow should they have space or plant it amongst grasses to sort of mimic a meadow. I imagine it would look pretty with harebells, but they aren’t yet blooming so that idea’s a bust.

  4. What a lovely display of blossom. I have not grown Camassia, it is a new one to me, but I will certainly be looking out for it now. All my forget me nots are over now and I have pulled them up, leaving great gaps in the flower bed that need to be filled quickly.

    • Hi Ronnie,

      If you’re struggling to fill the spaces the f-m-ns have left, then you could wait for the new seedlings to come up. I’m surprised next year’s aren’t already coming actually as I already have some coming up in preparation.
      Kinda wonder whether it’d work sowing poppy seeds along with them so the poppies open after… Mind, the poppies would be getting large/beginning to bloom now. Hrmmm, not sure how to tackle that issue.

  5. Hello to the woman of forget me nots… You really love them, don’t you? 🙂
    That clematis montana is gorgeous, maybe I shall start and plant some clematis in my garden too, I only fear they would die in the summer. I have plenty of wild clematis venosa violacea, though, which look so good.
    I don’t think rhubarb is an aggressive self seeder, although it produces a lot of seeds actually. But maybe give the right conditions every plant could be a potential aggressive self seeder….

    • Hi Alberto,

      You could say I love them yes. My love no doubt comes from my parents and their amazing photogenic qualities. They remind me of my childhood as my parents always had them in the garden, then they fell out of fashion for a few years and I never saw them around. Thankfully they’re now back in fashion and my parents still have them 😀
      If I have the space, in my next garden I’ll definitely be having a border of them.

      You could combine some Clematis with your climbing/rambling roses. Add a second season of interest 🙂

    • Hi Donna,

      Sorry to hear your Dicentra didn’t come back… they seem OK here and I don’t think I’ve ever had one die. One has struggled for the past 5 years, and it’s only this year that it has produced a number of stems, and even then it’s only because it was hit with late snow which damaged its stem so it had to produce three more to replace the lost stem/blooms.
      Have you tried the wild type Bleeding hearts? Perhaps you’ll have more luck with them? I’m assuming they’re more hardy, but am probably talking rubbish.

  6. Your bleeding hearts are dreamy… I’ve been so busy I never really took time to enjoy mine this year. Just nodded and smiled at them as I ran past on my way to somewhere. What a shame. Almost time for me to slow down.

  7. Lovely photos Liz, I particularly like the quince and dicentra portraits, and what’s not to love about a sea of FMNs, until they start going brown and dying off that is! As for the montana, what a monster! I love it, but goodness you need a lot of room to accommodate it!

    • Hi Janet,

      Ah, well I’m not the one who has to put up with a sea of brown stems, although saying that they have their own beauty… In winter that is, just not in the middle of summer! The new seedlings soon come up though and then the brown dead bits can be pulled. Or just crush them up and sprinkle them everywhere to seed later. They’re nice and brittle and crush easily.

      Mine are still going strong here, so it’ll be a while yet before I have to do anything.

      You have a lovely long fence that Montana would love to romp along! 🙂

Leave a Reply

