Garden Bloggers Bloom Day – July 2013

Ok, who stole this year? I’m not happy, not happy at all. I want the past six months back please.

This month things will be a little different, that is to say the Geums have pretty much finished blooming.

For the time being.

They’ll soon be putting up more blooms though, so don’t get too excited.

However, this of course does mean a shift in colours for bloom day. In fact the recent warm weather has shortened the bloom times of many, so I’m in a lull at the moment whilst I wait for new flushes of colour after dead-heading Lupins, Geum and Salvia. It’s also been quite dry for a bit and I’ve noticed yellow leaves here and there as plants struggle and are beginning to look autumnal. But it’s far too early for that, surely?

Actually, no it isn’t. Just a couple of weeks and we’re in August!

The Helenums are close to blooming, and the Sedum are close on its heels. Oddly enough the Veronica is very late in blooming, both of my varieties are late.

Echinops, Stipa, Poppy, Straw Foxglove and Sanguisorba

One good thing to come from the hot weather we’ve had for the past few weeks are the roses… Lots, and they’re all gorgeous. No blemishes in sight, thanks to no rain for a while. We’ll not mention the fact it’s too hot and I’d like a bit of rain now.

Roses

This year the aphids seem to be leaving the Yarrow alone, instead they’re attacking the Geum… At least the Geum is easier to get to, so I can get rid of them.

Yarrow, Ferns, Geraniums and Straw Foxglove

The rose photo is a little misleading, there are plenty in the front garden, all the bushes are full of flowers, and it’s looking very pretty.

Roses, Poppies, and Salvia in the front garden

The Aster border is in a transition stage before the Persicaria takes over and combines with the orange/yellow of Helenium. I’ve been looking forward to this combo since last year!

Salvia, Geum, Straw Foxglove, Iris, Geranium, Delphinium and Feverfew

Corncockle, White Campion, Straw Foxglove, Knautia and sisyrinchium

Geum in the right border are almost finished, these photos are around a week old, so many are gone now. I’ve dead-headed them so hopefully we’ll see more colour later in the year as I’m not sure what will be left once the Salvia, Geum and Delphiniums finish… I’ll struggle for colour and interest other than Rudbekia. Time for me to cut things back, at the moment I can’t get to rose ‘Harlow Carr’ because everything has overgrown so I can’t dead-head it for more blooms.

Delphinium, Geum, Jacob’s Ladder, Ragged Robin, Campanula and Sanguisorba

The Delphiniums have lasted well this year, the whites are only just opening in the Aster border, just as these two are now beginning to die. When I move, I won’t be mixing gentian blue with the purple and orange… Although that being said, the blue does work well with the Geum.

Delphinium, Geum, Salvia and Quaking Grass

Please pop along to: May dreams gardens for more mid-month bloom day posts.

Copyright 2013 Liz.
All rights reserved. Content created by Liz for Gwirrel’s Garden

14 thoughts on “Garden Bloggers Bloom Day – July 2013

  1. Liz – everything looking great in your garden. Again combos are spot on. I grow persicaria and helenium as a combo – they work well together.
    I was up near your old stomping ground the other day – I took the kids to visit Blackford Pond. As we were climbing up the hill – I was reminded of a comment you made about the hills here in Edinburgh in an old post of mine!

    • Hi Angie,

      The Helenium seem to be a different colour this year… Much confused. I bought a red, and I think an orange, then there was a yellow one with orange/red underneath its petals. This ‘clashed’ beautifully with persicaria and was a amazing. But it’s different this year and so far isn’t providing the impact I’ve been looking forward to all year!

    • Oh – Blackford Pond, Angie! That was one of my old stomping grounds too – we used to have dens in the gorse bushes on the hill. I wonder how much it has changed …. and I don’t suppose you can feed the ducks any more…

  2. That straw foxglove is very intriguing, although all the pictures are really gorgeous. How tall does the foxglove will eventually be? does it self seed?

    • Hi Alberto,

      They’re not massively tall like the larger, common Foxgloves… I’d estimate at around mid torso height approx. 4foot (for me) but ones elsewhere in the garden such as the right border and on the tier they do seem to be much smaller at around 3footish. I think they would self seed given the chance yes, I don’t think any of mine have – unless I’ve weeded them by accident – but these were all grown from seed, some from my own seed.

  3. You do have lots of interesting combinations, Liz, and are making me want to think again about my main borders which are all pink and purple and, I suppose, white, and are now looking just a tad bland. I can see you atre enthusiastic about your geums – I love mine and was thinking today I need to get them cut back even though there is still the odd flower on some, but I was going to check on my blog for last year as I didn’t remember them having a lull

    • Hi Cathy,

      Ah, not to worry about the combos as yours sound just lovely. Most of my borders are pinks and purples too. I forced myself last year to try some other colours i.e. heleniums and picked up the Geum too. Suddenly it feels like I have lots of warmer colours, trust me I don’t.

      Actually, this year I do… So that was a lie. The ragwort has seeded everywhere and I have lots of yellow opening. I’ll have to pull some up I think, but as I want the Cinnabar, 6 spot Burnet moths to visit (and lay eggs on them). Also Gatekeeper butterflies love the blooms and I know larger species such as Small Torts and Peacocks will feed off them too.

    • Hi,

      Thanks very much 🙂 Never really had Delphiniums before, last year was my first year and they didn’t do very well at all with all the rain and cold temperatures we had. So it’s been a pleasure to see them take off this year and produce plenty of stems.

  4. Beautiful blooms, Liz, especially your roses. I’m in mourning over mine. Much too hot for them to dance in my gardens. They bloom but only last a day or two before they die.

    • Hi Carolyn,

      Oh so sad to hear about your roses; have you tried hardy types? I’m sure there must be some that can withstand high temps, after all you see them in hot places such as the Mediterranean. Mine were looking very nice, but many blooms have now gone over and I think I’ll hit a lull because it’s also been hot here (80F or around that) with next to no rain for weeks.

  5. Liz – what a beautiful garden you have. My roses are all done, pretty much, and I’m glad to hear I’ll get more bloom out of my geum. My first, planted this spring.

    • Hi,

      Thanks very much. Many of the roses I’ve planted were chosen because they’re excellent repeat bloomers. I’m pretty certain my Geum produced more blooms last year, but I may be mistaken. Or it may depend on when you cut them back and so on??! I’ll be a shame if they don’t produce any more, but I think I have enough colour from other blooms to keep the interest going. It’ll also mean I can cut back and enjoy the delicate details of the grasses around them which until now have largely been outshone and ignored in favour for the delicious orange 🙂

Leave a Reply

