Friday Flowers

It’s that time of the week once more!

I’m a little late, in fact I didn’t think I had any photos ready for this post after being busy for the past couple of days. But I happened to look and there they were. I really need to get them posted otherwise I’ll end up further behind yet again.

So the garden has moved on from the orange and purple stage, the Geum have all but finished with maybe a promise of more blooms later. However, how there’s a shift toward yellows, reds and the butterflies.

Yes, I’m blinded by the fluttering at the moment and take very few images of flowers anymore!

The right border has passed its peak, but I hope the Salvia and Geum will at least produce more blooms later. However the Sea Holly, Thistles and Yarrow are providing colour and the Bees/flutters love both. Also, the Rudbekia at the very top of the border is coming into bloom shortly.

Delphinium, Quaking Grass and Salvia

I couldn’t not have any Cosmos, so I’ve filled a gap with a couple, and I wish I had placed the white Delphiniums better, at the moment I can barely see them. Perhaps I ought to swap the whites with the blues for more effective colour combos.

Veronica, Delphinium and Cosmos

Quaking grass, Verbena Hastata and Delphinium

Bees love Sea Holly, and you’ll also see a few species of Butterfly on them; I’m waiting for Small Coppers to arrive as Sea Holly seems to be the only thing that attracts them. I didn’t see any last year though so I’m hopeful for their return.

Sea Holly

The Helenium doesn’t seem to last long, is it just me?

Helenium

Sea Holly

I really must take this to my parents… it’s difficult to part with though!

David Austin Princess Anne

Copyright 2013 Liz.
All rights reserved. Content created by Liz for Gwirrel’s Garden

21 thoughts on “Friday Flowers

  1. Love that Helenium and love the overall colourscheme in your garden, pink, purple, white with a touck of red from the Helenium. Thanks so much for sharing. Your pictures are wonderful!
    Marian

    • Hi Marian,

      Thanks for visiting, I’m glad you enjoyed the photos. The general colour scheme at the moment is a bit of everything. There’s a lot of yellow around from the blooms of Ragwort, which I’ve allowed to grow to attract butterflies and moths. Wider shots of the borders will reveal the reality 😉

    • Hi Tatyana,

      It’s just the lens that makes the images light and airy – I use a narrow depth of field which means less is in focus and draws the eye in to the main subject I want viewers to see. This of course means the rest is blurred and produces that romantic, ethereal quality.

  2. The butterflies have arrived here too, its wonderful when they are flitting everywhere. You have given us another wonderful selection of flowers, your garden must be looking very pretty, hope all the promised rain this weekend doesn’t flatten everything.

    • Hi Pauline,

      I don’t think we’re really due much rain, it’s mostly going to be south east and then south west but pushing up northwards after. So we might not get it too bad by the time it reaches here. Although I think I’ll be grateful for it, just a bit concerned for the butterflies in it though and hope it doesn’t impact too much on them. The last lot of storms I believe washed away/killed a lot of my Cinnabar caterpillars and only the larger ones seem to have survived. At least this means I can chop/pull out many of them rather than being forced to leave them for the caterpillars.

  3. Lovely shots as always, Liz :). I’m also fascinated by all the butterflies flittering around my garden at the moment. Guess we’re all happy to have such a splendid summer after all. Helenium never last long for me, they’re fairly short-lived and hate to be swamped. Enjoy your weekend!

    • Hi Annette,

      Yesterday my boyfriend came out into the garden (a rarity for him, as he’s a hermit only jk) and remarked on how many butterflies there were. And it’s only just starting, there will eventually be more. I told him it’s because I’m such a good gardener, when in fact I think I’m just lucky 😉

      Hrm, my Helenium are currently swamped as a Ragwort has seeded right next to them. So I guess I’ll have to make sure they have more space next time. The blooms are already going over and it seems a bit of a let-down after waiting so long for them… Maybe I need more types that will, with any luck bloom at different times.

  4. That Helenium is stunning, and the eryngium photos are beautiful…. Is the dark blue delphinium a shorter variety? I have just ordered a special offer collection of delphiniums from Hayloft but some of them are ridiculously tall!

    • Hi Cathy,

      The Delphs are all the Centurion ones – there’s white, rose and gentian blue. I think they’re all supposed to be 1.8m tall but none have been taller than me. I guess perhaps the dry weather and late snows stunted them a little? Or they’re just not as vigorous as promised. I bought them off the RHS website which is supplied by Crocus and this wouldn’t be the first time (or even 5th time) I’ve had disappointing plants off them. Last year especially they were poor, but I’ll blame that on the rain.

  5. Hello Liz, Love your Helenium. I don’t remember if you call Helenium sneezeweed in England? It is the common name for it here in the US because Native Americans used its dried petals to prevent hay fever. At last the butterflies have returned to my garden and I saw the first monarch of the year today. Like you, I spend a lot of time photographing them. P.x

    • Hi Pam,

      I don’t think we call it Sneezeweed, no, but I did know that name and do call it that sometimes. The butterfly numbers are still relatively low at the moment, at least in comparison to previous years. But I am happy for now, as there’s still time for more to come – should be way more Gatekeepers, plus I haven’t seen Speckled wood or skippers yet – then I’ll be happy. And if I get some Small Coppers again I’ll be extra happy.

    • Hi Donna,

      Do you think it’s because you’ve had bad weather that the Helenium haven’t yet got buds? If not, do yours typically bloom later? If so, what type are they as I’d like to get some so I have later blooms that take me into August and September.

  6. I’m loving the shift in colour going on in your garden Liz – as always inspirational!
    My helenium has just started blooming, I will keep note as see if it lasts. It usually blooms for quite a while.
    I love eryngium but they don’t do well in my soil. I’ve bought 3 new plants yesterday and am going to attempt them in containers, which is how I have to grow sedum. I’m hoping it will be a success!

    • Hi Angie,

      Don’t worry, the orange will be back soon! I’ve spotted new Geum stems already 🙂
      What type of soil do you have? They’re naturally from the coast so like sandy soil, but mine is heavy clay and yet they’re still OK – doing a little too well, in fact. Sedum is also fine here, even in the boggy border!

  7. Wow, I really love the Delphinium and Salvia. It’s a wonderful colour combination! I just found your blog and I’m really excited! You have an interesting professional background. I’m a german landscape architect and I love to see what people in other countries do with their creativity and Inspiration! So I will be back soon!

  8. Liz, I’m looking at ordering Princess Anne for my garden. The catalog says it has yellow on the underside of the petals – did you notice much of that? Would its color blend well with other mauves or cool reds? I want to plant it by William Shakespeare, which is magenta/purple, and wonder if it would clash. And BTW your blog is showing up fine on my sidebar now, must have been a little glitch in the system somewhere.

    • Hi VW,

      Not sure if the petals have yellow underneath, but as you can see there is yellow in the centre; which btw made me fall in love with Princess Anne. I thought the yellow was at very bottom of the petal, i.e. where the petal grows out from the plant.
      I’m not so sure about combining it with William Shakespeare tbh, it’s quite a warm pink rose rather than a cool pink. The yellow makes it warmer compared to that of say, Harlow Carr. Try using the montage of Princess Anne above with some photos of your own William Shakespeare? It could make a nice contrast in tone, assuming they’re the same hue. I’ve never seen WS in real life, so I’m not quite sure.

      • Thanks Liz – that reply was very helpful. I have Princess Alexandra of Kent, which is salmon pink at first (though eventually it turns pure pink) and so doesn’t work well with cool crimson Wm Shakespeare. Cool and warm pink together is kind of a pet peeve for me. It sounds like Princess Anne might have a similar problem with WS, eh? It’s so hard to tell the true colors with only computer photos. Darnit, I really liked Princess Anne for my spot by WS. Honestly Harlow Carr is cute but isn’t my favorite, though I probably haven’t given it enough of a chance to see what it can do when it’s mature and happy. I also have mauve Charles Rennie Mackintosh and mauve Sister Elizabeth, but they are too pale for the sun-soaked position I’m trying to fill. My Eglantyne is happy where it is, and The Countryman is almost a garish pink so I don’t want it in this spot. How many pink roses do I really need? Will have to keep thinking. I’ve been looking at tree peonies, too, though I’m not going to stick umbrellas out when they bloom, so the flowers wouldn’t last long.

Leave a Reply

