Garden Bloggers Bloom Day – August 2013

I wonder if I’ll ever stop lamenting about the passage of time and how there’s no way it can possibly be this time of year, where has the year gone and why are things happening so quickly?

This feeling is definitely exacerbated when you work; as a student I never really felt my life was passing before me, even when I went back after working for 6 years. Now, we live for the weekend so thoroughly that a month passes by in the blink of an eye. And no, it’s not necessarily because I’m having lots of fun!

Anyway, we probably ought to start with the photographs already.

More of the same really, I don’t think anything new has begun blooming, plenty of things have stopped though and I’m quite disappointed with the Heleniums this year. They just didn’t last long enough and now I’m left with a rather bare/boring border which is only rescued by the Persicaria which has managed to reach gargantuan proportions this year and is making a real big statement. The blooms however, are small enough that the red/pink colour isn’t too overpowering.

Also, the Ragwort has mostly finished blooming now, and Rudbekia has just begun but with it being only in the one border, it isn’t making quite an impressive statement as the Ragwort did.
Oh and for anyone desperate to attract more Bees, Echinops is a must! Just look how many are on it. Amazing.

As we move into Aster season, first to bloom as always is the Flat-topped Aster but I hope to also get some more flushes from the Salvias before the end of the year otherwise things are really going to look empty very quickly.

Once again one of the Sea Hollies has died for no reason. This also happened last year, it was at its peak and then suddenly leaves begin to turn and the stems wizened. It looks really rather ugly at the moment as it’s too early for things to be turning brown and dying – October maybe, not August.

I’ve been trying to catch nice shots of the Dierama, but it’s almost impossible to catch how gorgeous it is as its wands float above everything else… I’ll keep trying!

The second of the roses I ‘accidentally’ bought late last year is blooming, I’m actually really disappointed that it has almost no scent at all and I have a sensitive nose! I think its blooms are otherwise lovely, but in my book it’s pointless if it has no perfume… I might give it to my parents since I’ve little use for it now.

I think that’s it for this bloom day, at the moment I’m mostly concentrating on Butterfly photos; we’ve had such a boom in Peacocks I lost count after 20 because they’re constantly moving around. Still no sign of Red Admiral or Painted Lady which is a surprise as I’d expect them to also have a really good year.

Copyright 2013 Liz.
All rights reserved. Content created by Liz for Gwirrel’s Garden

15 thoughts on “Garden Bloggers Bloom Day – August 2013

  1. I also have found persicaria great for making a statement for much of the year, whether in flower or not – must get some more – and echinops for bees, definitely the same here too! More butterflies noticeable here recently, but flitting too fast to check what they are, although not cabbage whites! I see you sneaked a photo of another geum Liz!

    • Hi Cathy,

      I’d like to get some Persicaria with patterned leaves, and I think a variety of them is probably a good idea for a longer bloom season. It’s a shame they get quite large though, by that I mean they’re crowding out some grasses (and Irises) so much so I’d forgotten I had them there – I was certain I had moved them elsewhere!!! So yes, lesson learned.

      Whites are just as welcome here as any others, but I don’t grow veg or brassicas so they don’t bother me 🙂

      Yes, another Geum shot… they’re blooming again, so are likely to sneak in regularly.

        • Hi Cathy,

          I think it’s just this year that it’s grown so tall… At least I don’t remember it being this tall previously. Probably just to conditions we had early on, then all the sun and they had a party 😉

  2. What an amazing number of bees on your echinops, I thought we had a lot on ours, but nowhere near as many as you! I like your Dierama too, twice I have tried to grow it, but twice it has died, I don’t think I ought to kill another one! Summer is slowly coming to a close and before we know it, it will be autumn, as you say, time is rushing by so quickly, we must enjoy what we have left of the summer.

    • Hi Pauline,

      I’m sure at some points I had around 10 on one bloom! But could never get a shot of it because there would always be some hiding around the back…

      Yes Dierama does seem quite difficult, I’ve had a number of them and this is the only one to have bloomed yet. But I have seen them growing very well at Edinburgh Royal Botanic Gardens, so it can cope with wet!

      I really don’t want it to turn to autumn. I’m happy with summer, thanks. As much as I love autumn, sadly after it comes the long dark nights of winter, which I am not yet ready for (nor will ever be).

  3. I had Litchfield Angel and didn’t notice a fragrance. It didn’t make it through a winter and I wasn’t too sad to see it go. My Abraham Darby is blooming its head off right now and smells delicious. Lovely thistle. It looks like you took many of these photos in strong sunlight and yet they look so pretty, good job!

    • Hi VW,

      Ah, well on the description it did say light scent.. I just didn’t realise by light scent they meant almost non-existant scent. As I said, I have a sensitive nose and often smell things others can’t – this is also probably why I get smell triggered migraines so I have to be really careful about perfumes and such.

      I take photos no matter what the weather and more often than not in full sun, yes. I use the bright lights to add to the bokeh effects and if I have a darker image I usually brighten it in photoshop so it looks like I have (unless it’s so dark it would become too noisy; there’s a limit obviously). Whenever I use the polarising filter I just find the images too flat and lifeless. Perhaps I haven’t yet mastered the art of using the filter??

  4. How I want this Dierama!! I have Merlin and D. robustum. The latter will now go into the border and hopefully won’t let me wait that long for flowers ;). It’s nice to see all these bees on your flowers, Liz. Stop living for weekends only – carpe diem.

    • Hi Annette,

      I think this might well be Dierama pulcherrimum, I can’t be 100% certain but I think it’s the most likely candidate and the height does seem to match.

      Haha, it’s very difficult not to live purely for the weekend… Especially once winter hits, there’s no way to do much else than sit around and wait for spring 😉

    • Hi Donna,

      I think unless you’re exceptionally lucky and love your job, then life passes by so quickly. But even then, enjoying work takes up most of your life and it’s still late when you get home and there’s seemingly little time to do much… I want to have a job I love, but then I also don’t want it to take over my life so I don’t have the time to sit in the garden and just be.
      I’ve noticed for the past few weeks I’ve spent less time outside, and I know I’ll regret it when it’s too cold to be out again. So I’ll have to make more of an effort. It also doesn’t help that biting insects are around now and I had two very itchy bites last week after sitting on the grass for a while. So I’m a little hesitant to spend much time on the lawn until they’ve gone.

Leave a Reply

