About Time

So, you know how I’m always saying I’m trying to catch up on photos?

And yet I never seem to manage it?

Do you know where I’m going with this?

It’s time for another catch-up post! I’ve surpassed myself this time. Most of these photos are almost a month old – taken on the 10th and 11th of August; others are a little newer and were taken on the 18th. But I think it’s safe to say I’ve been very laggy.

This time of year is a good time for catching up, I’m not taking as many photos anymore, and there’s less to see in the garden. Also, the weather is turning and after a day of near-solid rain yesterday I can’t sit on the lawn and be lazy. The garden, I believe is relishing the rain and I hope it means I don’t need to water the pots for another few days.

Finally the Small Skippers arrived, although sadly I didn’t spot any large skippers. They arrived so late in the season that the Gatekeepers wouldn’t leave them alone – this one was constantly being pestered as it tried to feed on Ragwort.

Trying to film butterflies is far easier said than done… They’re flitting around so much it’s very difficult to keep focused on just one or two… The below movie is best viewed in HD, so when you click play, click the little cog and it’ll give you the option to increase the quality. Then enjoy the surprise at the end 🙂

I spotted these strange Aphids on the Willows, I assume they’re probably something like ‘Willow’ Aphids… The birds no doubt eventually ate them, as I haven’t seen any since.

If you click on the below photo, it’ll enlarge and you can try counting the Peacocks… I managed around 20, in total on the bush but in these photos I think the most is 10. There were also often some sunbathing on the house walls – the most I had then were 9 on the walls and window ledges.

This year has been a bumper crop of Elderberries, they’re now fully ripe and the birds are loving them.

It’s been an excellent year for the Meadowbrowns and Ringlets and they seem to love the Yarrow and Salvia… Good, because I also love Salvia!

For those of you wondering, this is what I mean by the plants all leaning… The Teasel is the most annoying as you can expect, because it’s just so spikey!

One of few Speckled wood butterflies this year… There’s been very few and I didn’t see any until quite late on. Normally they love Sea Holly and I regularly see them sharing blooms with Bees. I think this is the closest I managed this year and you can just see hints of its beautiful iridescent colours – the greens around its head and body.

Copyright 2013 Liz.
All rights reserved. Content created by Liz for Gwirrel’s Garden

11 thoughts on “About Time

    • Hi Ronnie,

      That is a shame to hear Ronnie, and actually one of my main worries about moving. I have to wonder just how much the area around me contributes to my flutter species. I will be really upset, and I know I will if I have pretty much no Bees, Hoverflies, Ladybirds and Butterflies when I move (although, tbh it’s been a shocking year for Ladybirds. Saw my first 7 spot today! I’ve had lots of small yellow and black 13 spots, but the up-side has also been no Harlequins).

      I have lots of whites too – lots fighting today. And when I mowed the grass on Thursday evening I found two Peacocks hiding in the grass collector part that I attach to the back of the mower. I guess they were either hiding from the impending rain on Friday or already beginning to hibernate!

  1. Your catch-up posts are wonderful, especially this one! That persicaria is so delicate-looking. My Mom called it ‘smart weed’ – I don’t know why. We have different butterflies, so love seeing the English ones. Like many of your posts this makes me homesick! P. x

Leave a Reply

