Garden Blogger’s Bloom Day – October 2013

Move along, there’s nothing to see.

Ok, so slight exaggeration. However things have very suddenly changed seemingly overnight. Perhaps it’s because I haven’t been out into the garden this week or because it’s been somewhat cooler, but also very windy and now perpetually drizzling; that awful drizzle which seems light but somehow magically drenches you within 2 second of walking outside.

I think I saw the last butterfly of the year on either Wednesday or Thursday before the weather turned. A Small Tortoiseshell flitting around. Oh, and I saw a ladybird… Indoors. A Harlequin! The first this year and no doubt looking for somewhere to hibernate indoors as they are known for; often around windows.

First up is the Honesty, although technically not blooms, their pretty empty seed cases are just as interesting. The recent near constant rains seem to have caused the pods to open and many are now empty.

Campanula is always very welcome at this time of year; it seems to always have two flushes and will usually last until December or hard frosts/snow. We’ll see how long it manages this year as I hear on the grapevine they’re expecting blizzards in November! I’ve never known snow in November. Perhaps right at the very end, but never before my birthday. So we’ll see what happens for next month’s Bloom Day.
Also the purple Asters are finally opening in time for temperatures to halve.

There are roses still around, however I brought most of the blooms indoors due to rain. At least this way I can enjoy them.

Everything was thoroughly drenched, and I ran out when we finally got our first sight of sun for a couple of days.

Of course the drenching also meant plenty of pretty Bokeh shots. Rudbekia has all but finished blooming. Many have suddenly turned brown and somewhat unsightly, however I have a couple of different Rudbekias, and one which is very similar to Goldsturm (Fulgida Deamii)but smaller is still blooming well.

The Cosmos were somewhat battered by the rain if the scraggy petals are any indication. Hopefully new blooms will soon replace them.

Sedum is past its best, but still providing some pretty colour and food for various insects.

That’s it I’m afraid.

Actually, no that’s not it. There’s still plenty of foliage to enjoy, however this year I don’t think we’ll be seeing pretty autumnal colours. The show has been somewhat lacking thus far. The leaves on Russian dwarf Almond have suddenly turned, and Roseraie de L’hay is definitely turning. I think by the end of the month most plants will have turned and perhaps even lost their leaves.

Copyright 2013 Liz.
All rights reserved. Content created by Liz for Gwirrel’s Garden

20 thoughts on “Garden Blogger’s Bloom Day – October 2013

  1. You still have lots of colour in spite of your weather. Your flowers look pretty with their sprinkling of rain drops, I know my garden has appreciated the rain we have had lately, we have been so dry through the summer.

    • Hi Pauline,

      Indeed, I’m sure my garden has also appreciated the rain, just I haven’t. Especially when I’ve been itching to get out and get some jobs done, I’ve been feeling very much cooped up in the house all the time; something I don’t usually experience until December/January/February. I just need a few days of dry weather and then I can get a few jobs done because I can’t work on sodden heavy clay soil.

      This weekend I have managed to get some ‘ugly’ plants chopped back, and left those which die well for pretty photo opportunities later on.

    • Hi Janet,

      It’s just a shame the rain has turned most of the Aster blooms into sludgy mess…. Grrrr. I haven’t really been able to photograph the deeper purples this year because it’s been too damp/miserable all the time.

  2. I know what you mean about things in the garden almost changing overnight. We went away for a few days. The garden still felt summery when we left, now it is definitely autumn. Still no frost though so plants are eking out an existence. Gorgeous images.

    • Hi,

      No frost here either and I do hope I haven’t jinxed myself on that one. We don’t generally get frosts until later because I’m suburban. There have been cold nights though, which no doubt were close to freezing but thankfully, not quite there.

  3. Things changed drastically up here last night. As I was driving home from work this morning (3am) the frost warning light was on! It was the first really cold night, I’ve been rushing around like a lunatic this afternoon
    tucking away some of the pots. You’ve got lots going on Liz and as usual, your photography skills make them look even more wonderful!

    • Hi Angie,

      Talk about things changing rapidly. Yesterday (Saturday) I took some quick snaps of the Hosta near the house, it had only a couple of little spots of yellow appearing. This morning, one leaf is almost totally yellow and a few others are well on their way too! Just over night! Wowzers.

      The past couple of days here has been surprisingly warm, and in fact was meant to be near solid rain all weekend. So far we’ve had pretty much nothing and today has been lovely. I’ve managed to get some jobs done at last! Finally ripped out the Petunias in the basket and replaced them with the Violas I’d totally forgotten about… Oops. Yesterday was mostly grey, clearing up later in the afternoon so I got some housework done instead.

  4. Pretties – is the white in your vase Susan Williams-Ellis? It reminds me of Meidilland White, which is my sturdiest rose and is still blooming despite numerous frosts already this month. Will your Erysium make it through the winter? It survived in nearby gardens when we lived in California but is definitely an annual here in snowy Spokane.

    • Hi VW,

      One of the white blooms is Susan, the rest are an unknown white rose which was here when we bought it. It has no perfume really and is almost, if not completely thorn-less. I keep it only because its blooms are a pretty shape and actually it has quite good repeat blooming. Also I think the roses are all quite old and I’m loathe to throw them away when they may have been here since the house was built 80 years ago.

      Yes the Erysimum will survive; they continue to bloom throughout winter here, even when hit by snow. The blooms will eventually die if we get a lot of snow or it hangs around for a while, even then give them a month or so and blooms will be back again. This past winter though, we received snow a lot of times which damaged all my mature plants so I had to rip two out because they had large dead, unsightly sections. So although the snow was never that deep, it kept coming again and again. The purple/orange one is around 3 years old now, and didn’t suffer any damage last year, perhaps it’s more hardy than ‘bowles mauve’?

  5. Nothing to see? You must be kiddin’, girl! Thanks for sharing all your flowers. I too like Lunaria and your asters, erysium, rudbeckias look fab as well. Mind you, it has just snowed in the village in the Swiss Alps where my other garden is. Maybe you can understand why I couldn’t bear it anymore as a gardener 😉

  6. The (hyacinth) vase of flowers looks delightful, Liz – and so many other lovely blooms as well. Lovely to see more campanula – and some flowering asters! Great pictures, as always

  7. Liz, yours is the second blog today where I’ve come across rosa ‘Susan Williams – Ellis’ who I’ve not encountered before. She seems to have a most striking luminous quality. Is she scented her? The rain and wind of the last week or so has definitely tilted gardens towards autumn but as your photos show there is still much beauty to appreciate.

    • Hi Anna,

      Susan Willaims-Ellis is scented yes ( I don’t believe in non-scented roses 😉 ) Her blooms are relatively small though – similar to ‘Harlow Carr’ if you’ve ever seen it in real life (about half the size of Gertrude Jekyll). The blooms aren’t pure white like that of ‘Iceberg’, they’re perhaps a slightly creamy colour but not peach by any means.

      The garden is now definitely on the downward-slope into dormancy. It’s increasingly difficult to find much to photograph and I’m relying far more on interesting twigs, or ‘skeletons’ and pretty dead growth. OK, I realise that doesn’t sound interesting, but sometimes it can be; especially when backlit.

Leave a Reply

