Weekly Photo Challenge: Window

This week’s photo challenge is window… I’ve chosen a photo which symbolises where I wish I was right now. It’s no metaphor for my life, just simply I wish I was somewhere hot and sunny but I have another 9 months to wait.

So where would I rather be? The above photo was taken from the Torre de Belém in Lisbon, a tower built in the 18th century as part of the defence system at the mouth of the Tagus river. This window looks toward the Padrão dos Descobrimentos; Monument to the Discoveries, celebrating the Portuguese “Age of Discovery” during the 15th and 16th centuries.

Copyright 2013 Liz.
All rights reserved. Content created by Liz for

5 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Window

    • Hi,

      Thanks; my OH is from Portugal – his dad from an area of Lisbon, and his mum just south of Lisbon. So it seems fitting to visit. Although I would like to explore a little further away at some point – the palaces for example.

      • Yes, many great gardens (and houses) within striking distance- have you seen my various articles on Portuguese Gardens? My last in the current series will be out soon- La Regaleira, in Sintra. 🙂

  1. Oh Liz, I am sorry you wish you were somewhere else just now, even though it is a place where there must be plenty to discover. I have to confess to spending even longer staring out of the kitchen windows at home at the moment (when not rambling in the garden, of course), looking at the witch hazels, the snowdrop buds which are just about visible with my naked eyes, and all the bird activity…

Leave a Reply

