Frosty Flowers

Frosty Flowers

We had another frosty morning earlier this week, at the time I was off work with a dodgy neck. Drugged up, I popped out for some quick photos before my neck and shoulder began to cause problems again; sometimes I just can’t stop myself. Who knows if we’ll have any more frosts this winter??

The sun has noticeably risen in the sky and is now hitting the lower levels of the house, which also means I can get bokeh photos as it finally reaches the plants.

Snowdrops are still teasing me. Some are further along than these in the below photo; I just focussed in on the drops of water on them here.

Back at work now; it was nice while it lasted. Being off, not so much having a poorly neck.

Copyright 2013 Liz.
All rights reserved. Content created by Liz for Gwirrel’s Garden

19 thoughts on “Frosty Flowers

    • Hi Angie,

      My neck is fine now, thanks. Don’t know what caused it but hoping it won’t be a regular problem.

      Just think of bokeh as the out of focus sparkles/blobs in the background 🙂

    • Hi Anna,

      I think I had a scarf on – I had been wearing one most of the time to keep it warm – but can’t say for certain 🙂

      I half hope we get some white stuff but also dread it. How about, we get it Saturday morning, take photos and it’s melted by the afternoon? There we go. Perfect!

  1. Well, those are some really pretty blobs in the background! Not much sun around here lately – endless grey skies and temperatures that stay below freezing all day. Looking forward to next month.

    • Hi VW,

      Lol, thank you; I’m thrilled you like my background blobs 😀

      Very little sun here, too. It’s been so wet. It’s terrible. I’m almost certain the garden is now a bog, and wonder if I’ll lose any plants because they’re too wet. I hope not, as I’ve never knowingly bought drought-loving plants. The only grace is that it’s also been rather mild – warmest December in a number of years I believe and so far only three heavy frosts.

  2. Well firstly, ouch, so sorry about your neck, such things can be so miserable 😦 Hope you are better soon.

    Secondly, gorgeous photos, still no frosts here, so rather nice to see something that actually looks like winter!

  3. Liz, I found a couple spots where I can squeeze in some climbing roses. I’m thinking about Gertrude Jekyll since she’s very cold hardy – needed around here – and such a lovely, fragrant rose. What do you think of her? Is she worth dealing with the thorns?

    • Hi VW,

      Ah, more roses? There’s always room for more.

      I wouldn’t describe Gertrude as very thorny; In fact I’d say Harlow Carr is more prickly and have been stabbed more often. Although, I would have to take a look to be certain. All I know is I’ve never had any trouble with Gertrude… She does actually grow very well and has a much nicer habit than Tess of the D’Urbervilles which seems to have almost no bushy growth. So yes I’d say she’s worth it, and after all is a favourite of many customers.

  4. We had a heavy frost on Tuesday and I’m kicking myself for not getting out there to get some good images; there’s been torential rain for the two days. Thanks for sharing these lovely images of the frost melting.

Leave a Reply

