Garden Blogger’s Bloom Day – March 2014

I’m hitting a little lull at the moment between the Snowdrops and Crocus and waiting for other blooms to arrive. So really it doesn’t feel like I have a great deal to show now. Anemone and Tulipa Turkestanica have been flowering for a couple of weeks now, and there’s fresh growth unfurling on trees and shrubs. Fritillariss will be blooming in the next few days, maybe week, but so far I think I’ve lost some – not that I had many to begin with.

I had completely forgotten about the Corydalis until Angie mentioned it on her blog recently, of course I had to pop out and see if mine had survived the wet weather. Sure enough there it was, somewhat hidden by the lawn as it’s situated right at the edge of the border… perhaps it’s dry enough to mow at last??

Oddly, this year plants under the cherry tree aren’t doing very well, for example Primula Vulgaris is tiny with not even 10 blooms on it and Pulmonaria ‘sissinghurst white’ is almost none-existent.
The furry cases on Magnolia Stellata are fattening and have suddenly begun to turn reddish; I think they will soon be shed and perhaps blooms soon after??

I think I’ve lost a lot of Muscari – mostly in the front garden, so far I’ve seen almost no leaves coming up in the border under the front window.

The last of the Crocus will soon be replaced by Drumstick Primula, I have a few days off next week and I hope to get some much needed work done outside. Until now I’ve been doing small jobs here and there, but think the weather is now good enough to finish most of it.

Although they’re not blooms, the fresh leaves of Acer ‘Katsura’ are pretty enough to be blooms, when they first emerge they’re firey red and will soon change to yellowy green with red edges.

Luckily, autumn cherry is still blooming although not as profusely as previously, but it has been flowering for a long time.

Is this the point where the garden fills with purple? I’m not sure… that reminds me, I need to check if there’s any fresh growth on the Salvias.

Today we’ll finish with Tulipa Turkestanica. I still love this little Tulip, in fact I think it’s the only Tulip I readily enjoy seeing in the garden. I have others, but lost a lot over the years and I’m in no real rush to replace them – I seem to only like Tulips in vases.

Copyright 2014 Liz.
All rights reserved. Content created by Liz for Gwirrel’s Garden

26 thoughts on “Garden Blogger’s Bloom Day – March 2014

  1. You have lots of lovely flowers, I don’t think I have seen any of my grape hyacinths yet, must have a look tomorrow.. Your little tulip is delightful, I must try some next year on my alpine scree. The sunshine has made such a difference this last week and thank goodness the soil is drying out once more so lots of jobs can be done now!

    • Hi Pauline,

      The small Tulip is very small – small star-like blooms. There can be between 3 and seven blooms per plant, most of mine only have three but some do have 5/6. I just don’t want you imagining the blooms to be ‘normal’ sized when in fact they’re Crocus size (if that).
      But yes, the sun has been wonderful – if windy today so no butterflies today – but I don’t care, I’m just grateful that the rain has stopped.

  2. Isn’t it just a feast when we put all our blooms together like this – I love it! There are some magnolias near here just bursting into flower and I think there was a hint of er.. magnolia on one of our buds today too. Thanks for all your lovely photos

    • Hi Cathy,

      Can’t wait for the Magnolia, although I fear I will have few blooms this year as last summer was quite dry and I’ve discovered they need good watering during summer otherwise they sulk (mine does, anyway).

  3. Some beautiful photos of spring flowers in the sunshine. I feel the same as you do about tulips, I planted some years ago but for some reason most of them are no longer coming up. Now I have a few in a large pot, where they look lovely, but I won’t be planting any more.

    • Hi Wendy,

      Depending on where you are, Tulips need dry soil. So generally they aren’t expected to bloom for many seasons in the UK. My miniatures and Turkestanica do last well; just not the larger, showy types. They seem to do best in pots – because they’re often much drier than the ground. I’m just not one for continuously replacing plants. Even the Crocuses are beginning to irritate me as they also need replenishing and I’d always thought they were meant to naturalise? The only ones which do well for me are Tommasinianus so I may give up planting other types (even though I do love combining Tommy and ‘Cream Beauty’.)

  4. Lovely to see all the Spring buds opening. It is great to see what other people have out for Gardeners’ Bloom Day. It reminds you what you have lost or overlooked. I’m off to see if my Muscari are out and to see if I still have Pulmonaria Sissinghurst White.
    Lovely photos.

    • Hi,

      Indeed, I discovered I forgot a few plants – Erysimum and Forsythia to name a couple. There’s always another time I can post them though. I’m most nervous about checking whether my Salvia are coming up again, but it’s early yet so they may not be emerging quite yet.

      • I’m the same. Every time I go round the garden I see something else I forgot to mention. It’s this time of the year, everything is coming out thick and fast.

  5. Thanks for the mention Liz – glad you found your Corydalis. You’ve lots going on there – I didn’t think you could loose Muscari once you planted it! I take it somethings eating the bulbs.
    Pretty spring colour and long may the good weather continue!

    • Hi Angie,

      I really ought to move the Corydalis somewhere I can appreciate it better – either that or actually mow the lawn, although rain is due so it looks like it’ll have to wait until the ground dries again. I should’ve done it at the weekend. Procrastinating once again.
      Something might have eaten the Muscari, yes. But I think it’s more likely the result of the very wet few months and the ones I seem to have lost are in the front border, which is very boggy and stays wet almost all year – only dries in extreme conditions otherwise it’s always wet – so I’m thinking perhaps they rotted away.

      Rain is due this week… but I’m hoping we dodge it this time and it remains mostly OK… I have a few days off this week and am most perturbed that it won’t be nice weather to get out and tidying.

  6. Some beautiful March flowers Liz. My autumn flowering cherry is still hanging on but it has been quite subdued compared to some years. Sadly the white forms of pulmonaria tend to be not as sturdy as the others.

    • Hi Anna,

      Indeed, it’s been a good few years now since I had a really beautiful spring show from the autumn cherry. But since it blooms in the darkest depths of winter I can’t complain… I’ll keep hoping for a good spring show regardless.
      That’s a shame to hear about the white pulmonarias…. Hrm. Almost making me decide not to have any in the garden when I eventually move… But they’re so useful and really pop in the shady cherry border.

    • Hi Donna,

      Thanks very much – I hope you get some blooms soon and the snow melts! This time last year we had snow too, so I know how you’re feeling.

    • Hi,

      We’ve had quite a bit of sun recently and nice warm temperatures, although rain is now due for the first time in a couple of weeks.. I guess I shouldn’t complain.

  7. Hi Liz……I agree that has to be the prettiest tulip. I have a few under my old apple tree, and it is always a treat to see them in bloom.

    I have lost my white lungwort…….so disappointing, but muscari has done really well……better than usual.
    Hellebores are spectacular and of course I have added to the collection :- Anna’s red, red stem and large deep red single blooms, gorgeous. Also planted Primrose Balarina Valentine, a double, very pretty.

    Well you certainly seem to have a lovely Spring garden…..watch out for frosts, you just never know do you??

  8. Lovely photos, you have a lot of varieties of spring’s early bloomers! I recognize crocus and forget me not . . . we still have snow on the ground and 20 degrees below normal temps here in Michigan (USA). boo hoo!

Leave a Reply

