Safari Sunday

The weather recently has turned a little cooler, more windy with added rain and hail showers. So unfortunately no butterfly sightings since Wednesday when there was a Peacock desperately trying to battle against the wind. I do hope it managed to find somewhere safe.

However, the garden moves on regardless. With two pleasant surprises spotted this week.

The first surprise is Russian Dwarf Almond beginning to bloom (and also Forget-me-nots but that’s old news as they’ve been blooming a couple of weeks). The dwarf Almond usually blooms in May or late April.

And the second surprise is Geranium Phaeum blooming; this is normally even later than the Dwarf Almond.

Although saying this… we have some which are much earlier than normal, and yet others that aren’t even close to blooming yet, but previously were blooming by now – Aquilegia and Tulips (ignoring Turkestanica).

Honesty is almost blooming… just not the colour I wanted! I like the white ones, don’t get me wrong. But I didn’t buy white ones, I bought them expecting purple! Grrrr.

And lookie what I spotted! It’s almost time, guys. Really, really looking forward to clouds of orange once more.

I am so unbelievably thankful that it’s Tulip season in the shops now! I’ve been looking forward to having vases of them for weeks, so when I saw some I had to snatch them up. I was also looking for Freesia for some cute little bottles I bought last weekend. So instead I have Tulips in them (don’t look quite right, but I don’t care because they’re Tulips).

Copyright 2014 Liz.
All rights reserved. Content created by Liz for Gwirrel’s Garden

15 thoughts on “Safari Sunday

  1. The weather just hasn’t known what to do this weekend. Lots of sunshine, but snow flurries, hail storms and tonight the gritters are out on the M5 motorway! The sun has brought everything on suddenly, I just hope the frost tonight won’t damage anything. We have only seen one Tortoiseshell recently, but I found a few ladybirds hiding in the old flower stalk of Acanthus mollis. I’m sure your white honesty will look really beautifull, I must grow some more!

  2. I know how you feel about tulips, I love them and I’m lucky, there are already a lot flowering in the garden and this year I’m going to treat myself and pick some for in the house. I also spotted a geranium flowering, I need to check what variety it is, but it was certainly a surprise.

  3. Hi Liz,

    It is certainly a strange Spring. We had frost Saturday and Sunday night, and a hail storm yesterday.
    Fortunately I had some fleece in the shed and covered the most vulnerable plants.

    Good to see your garden blooms…….

    • Hi Cheryl,

      Very strange spring – we had a heavy frost this morning, the heaviest so far in fact which I was surprised to see as I’d expected light frosts again. We’ve also had hail yesterday – rather large in fact. The largest I’ve seen in a long time!
      I haven’t completely cleared the borders of old growth yet, knowing they’d protect new growth so I’m pleased I held out a little longer before cutting it all away.

      • Good thinking Liz

        I cut back a lot of plants during a warm spell we had………should have known the warm weather would not last.
        You would think at my age I would have learnt from the past……..I suppose I had a touch of Spring fever 🙂

  4. Yay! Spring is great! My TT geum has sprouted a bit of green at the base, but flowers are a long way off. Glad you’re enjoying tulips indoors, even if freesia would be better.

    • Hi VW,

      Oh not to worry; I wanted Tulips for a different vase, just I also wanted Freesia… and Iris… I know I’m demanding sometimes 😉

      Glad to hear you have Geum popping up – I assume your snow must have melted now? Is that earlier than normal?

  5. You must be so excited about your Totally Tangerine – I know how much you loved it last year. I have found it mail order since but will look out for it a garden centre first. I keep looking at my geums as well – the foliage is looking good so perhaps there is a bud lurking there too!

    • Hi Cathy,

      I’m perhaps far too excited about the Geum… Trying not to get ahead of myself, but the heavy frost this morning is a timely reminder that we are not yet completely rid of winter. I haven’t completely cleared all dead growth, knowing it was likely we’d have some more frosts, and I’m glad I managed to hold back now as the old growth will have helped protect any new growth from too much damage.

  6. Goodness, there are lovely buds popping up all over your garden. The quince buds are just glorious! I think you are a week or two ahead of us up here in Scotland and these photos are making me rather impatient now for Spring!

  7. Pingback: Safari Sunday | christophe descroix

Leave a Reply

