In a vase on a Monday

Ok, so this vase was actually a while ago, but I’m lazy and continuously forgot to post to photos. Of course the result is that I now have a few vase posts backed up. I suppose that can’t be a bad thing.

This year I’ve struggled to find Tulips, normally the local co-op near work has them for weeks… this year I’ve seen them twice! Most disappointed, but now I have enough blooms in the garden the loss isn’t so noticeable.

Tulip

Tulip Macro

Tulip macro

Tulips

Tulips

Please visit Cathy’s blog Rambling in the Garden for other Monday vase posts.

Copyright 2014 Liz.
All rights reserved. Content created by Liz for Gwirrel’s Garden

10 thoughts on “In a vase on a Monday

  1. My tulips have all finished now, I do like them arranged like this, I’d never have thought of it until I had short broken stems after heavy rain and they lasted really well.

  2. Those little bottles are gorgeous Liz – perfect for these tulips – and it proves yet again that bringing flowers into the house to enjoy does not have to entail a huge effort. Your photos are brilliant and really do the tulips justice. For your info, Aldi have had tulips in for less than £2 every week since about January – not fairtrade though, which your Co-op ones might be. Thanks for joining in 🙂

    • Hi Cathy,

      Thanks very much 🙂
      I mentioned I bought some cute new vase/bottles in a post a while ago (I wanted Freesia in them) and enjoy how simple they are. They don’t need to be overflowing to still look pretty. Currently they have Spanish Bluebells in them (to stop them hybridising with my English Bluebells), and hopefully I’ll remember to post photos next week!

      Ah, I’ll have to try Aldi, although there isn’t one easily near me so it requires a special trip. There’s one relatively close to my parent’s house though so I could try next time I visit.

  3. Ah, who doesn’t love a good tulip ! Loving the little bottles too ! Can’t bear to cut flowers from the garden, ridiculous really! I have to buy them from the shop every time!!

    • Hi Donna,

      As cute as they are; they weren’t cheap! ha ha, I got real suckered there. I’m sure I could’ve made it myself – improvised a little – but then that’s far more effort. I quite like the idea of using cute kilner jars as vases too.

    • Hi Janet,

      Thanks 🙂 I’m tempted to buy more cute little bottles… I don’t want to become too twee though as the house is generally modern.

    • Hi VW,

      Indeed, the Geum is blooming – has been for just over a month now.
      I’m looking forward to seeing your photos! Must try to get some of it during ‘golden hour’, the blooms seem to be on fire and are amazing.

Leave a Reply

