In a Vase on Monday

This week I have some simple vases, each with a single rose. I don’t need much else as each bloom is large enough to hold its own, add scent into the mix and all are punching well above their weight.

Roseraie de L’Hay and Tess of the D’Urbevilles

Please, someone tell me why I chose two roses that my camera always struggles with? Then I combined the two to add to my photography misery. Tess has always proven difficult to photograph correctly, she always seems to come out closer to blood red than her actual real life colour. Some plants are like that – Aubreita for one never comes out the correct purple no matter what lens I use.
When I focus in on Tess (the darker one in the centre) she blows out the pink of Roseraie so you’ll have to excuse the near-fluorescent colours below.

Roseraie de L’Hay and Tess of the D’Urbervilles

Please pop over to Rambling in the Garden to see what others have in vases today.

Copyright 2014 Liz.
All rights reserved. Content created by Liz for Gwirrel’s Garden

4 thoughts on “In a Vase on Monday

  1. Roseraie de L’Hay is one of my favourite roses, and I remember that she wasn’t easy to photograph. I don’t think any of the dark sumptuous ones are.

  2. What perfect roses Liz, and gorgeous colours, even though you say that’s not what they really look like!! Are these the smallest IKEA bottles they are in? I must remember to try photographing my Monday vases outside when the light is poor inside – and perhaps I can find a less cluttered background outside too, always a problem inside!! Thanks for joining in.

  3. Look lovely Liz. Love the bottles.

    I understand re colour, so frustrating. I have the most beautiful velvety red antirrinhum, when I photograph it the colour is yuk!!! I must have taken dozens, tried different settings etc, still can’t get the colour true 😦 I gave up……

Leave a Reply

