In a Vase on Monday

Thanks to my tardiness at posting in this meme over the past few weeks I have a few vases built up now… Also, I often renew them all at the same time, meaning 3 or 4 vases in one go.

Today we’ll start with the Alliums and Chives. Why do I cut the Alliums? Well, they make good dry blooms, and I have so many Allium seedlings every spring; the borders look like they’re full with grass, but they’re in fact Alliums. I really don’t need even more coming up.

Next up is a more ‘wild’ and ‘free’ vase. I was trying to make it look nice and wild with the Bladder Campion and the Quaking grass makes it really nice and romantic.

The Quaking grass will feature in future vases too, as it makes a nice backdrop, and this year I have plenty of stems so can afford to cut them.

Copyright 2014 Liz.
All rights reserved. Content created by Liz for Gwirrel’s Garden

6 thoughts on “In a Vase on Monday

  1. It’s good to have a warning about excessive allium seedlings. I would like mine to increase in number somewhat but need to make sure it doesn’t get out of control. Lovely vases! Lovely light!

  2. Pretty, very pretty Liz
    Love the campion and quaking grass…..very romantic.

    Sisyrinchium plants I pulled from my gravel drive will be posted to you this morning, also a couple for your Mum.
    Just small plants at the moment…….

Leave a Reply

