In a Vase on Monday

It’s Monday again, and time for another vase. This time we’re clearly moving towards late-season blooms.

I know; I can’t help it. I’m lamenting again. Must stop and enjoy the present and ignore what’s to come.

Once again striving for simplicity (and not succeeding) but also trying to incorporate foliage interest too; I opted for fading blooms which when fading, still look the same. So Astilbe and Alchemilla it is!

Crocosmia and Astilbe

Crocosmia, Alchemilla, and unknown white Rose

Helenium, Cosmos, Rose, Alchemilla and Astilbe

If you fancy joining in with this meme, please visit Cathy for more Vase posts.

Copyright 2014 Liz.
All rights reserved. Content created by Liz for Gwirrel’s Garden

9 thoughts on “In a Vase on Monday

  1. Your vase looks very fresh Liz not the tail end of summer at all. Actually there’s lots of summer left, it might be nice all through September. Do you do anything to the Cosmos to help their vase life?

    • Hi Christina,

      I think the issue for me this year is that everything has come earlier than normal so will be over much earlier too so I’m actually slightly concerned what I’ll have left by September!

      Don’t do anything to the Cosmos… Never do anything to any blooms; I probably should though to prolong their vase life.

  2. Liz this is beautiful. My crocosmia is just starting to bloom and I have been thinking to add it to a vase next week…this is beautiful with all the white, light green looking fresh and highlighting the gorgeous orangey-red flowers.

  3. Pretty! You have such a nice style of arranging. My astilbes are all done blooming by now. I have a few cranberry cosmos blooming but the plants haven’t really thrived yet. I keep looking at all my little laceflower (ammi) plants and hoping for blooms – none yet.

    • Hi Anna,

      Sadly the Helenium was labelled without any variety. I have two red ones (one seems slightly more burnt orangey) and then one yellow/orange one. None have done well this year – I wonder if they suffered with the rain early in the year.

  4. Thanks for joining in and reminding us to keep an open mind about plants that are ‘past it’ – they can often still be great additions to our vases in terms of shape and texture, as you have shown. Don’t you just love the shade of the alchemilla flowers?

    • Hi Cathy,

      I’ve never used Astilbe before, and don’t think it looks very good, dead. But I do know Alchemilla looks good when it’s dead – skeletal, similar to the beauty of dead hydrangea blooms, just not as impressive.

Leave a Reply

