Garden Bloggers Bloom Day – August 2014

After enjoying good, hot, warm weather for the past few months it’s suddenly turned really quite chilly. I don’t like this. I shouldn’t be considering turning the heating on to warm the house in August. I’m ever hopeful it’ll warm up a little again in a few days or so.

I’m not going to be around much for the next few weeks as our internet provider has decided they’re no longer going to provide for us.

Some welcome colour to the borders has arrived thanks to the Rudbekias, every year they are attacked by some sort of Moth caterpillars. Most annoying as the blooms are always ragged.

Ok, so I’ve meant to post these photos for months now, but somehow kept forgetting. I decided to try these Gazanias in pots too, alongside the Dahlias, Petunias and Pelargoniums I bought. They are incredibly bright, and perhaps clash with the colour combos, but I wanted a quick fix and have never seen them before.

Somewhere, somehow I seem to have developed quite a keen obsession with Dahlias. A month or so ago I bought a couple of trays, they were heavily reduced so I thought to myself that I might as well and they’ll help fill out some pots… Well, the results have been very surprising. One tray, which had no names to the blooms has floored me with its beauty and variety.

Piccolo Coral, is in real life a slightly deeper, scarlet red. But the blooms do tend to turn more coral as they age.

This is the first speckled one to bloom, and so far it’s my favourite.

I don’t think I’ve ever seen speckled Dahlias before?? I don’t know whether or not these have just gone a little crazy.

This speckled one is a darker colour, and more closely patterned than the others… I think I prefer the lighter ones but it may fade as the bloom ages.

This photo is misleading, the petals in real life are actually closer to the colour of those in the centre. It’s a deep, dark red shade, like ‘arabian night’ and is therefore my most pleasant surprise from the lot.

All the Dahlias are small, I assume dwarf types, so I can’t really cut the blooms for vases… which I really wish I could, because I’d love a vase of the deep blood-red ones.

Copyright 2014 Liz.
All rights reserved. Content created by Liz for Gwirrel’s Garden

11 thoughts on “Garden Bloggers Bloom Day – August 2014

  1. Your speckly dahlia is so unusual, I’ve never seen one like that before. You have lots of lovely colour for this time of year, dahlias are so good at providing colour late on.

    • Hi Pauline,

      I just wish I had more colour around the garden… It’s looking somewhat boring at the moment if I’m honest.

      I’m almost wondering whether the Dahlias are a strange mutation, but there’s 3 of them, so I think it’s unlikely to be a random occurance and perhaps they are meant to be like that.

  2. That speckled dahlia is fab. I’m loving a bit of colour clash this year, there are some fab pelargoniums about that are bright enough to melt your eyeballs. You’ve made me want some gazanias too! What’s the Garden Bloggers Bloom Day?

  3. Chilly? It’s been cooler here, but not yet chilly – must be the dizzy heights of greater Sheffield! And what’s this about being abandoned by your service provider? I too love that pink spotty dahlia – definitely one to look out for 🙂

    • Hi Cathy,

      Perhaps I ought to have said chilly in comparison. Most days are reaching at least 20oC, so it isn’t too cool, but the nights/evening soon get chilly once the sun is a little lower. Gone are the days of leaving my back door open all evening to keep cool.
      Ah, I’m sure you don’t want my rant (which i had originally written, but deleted when I decided you all don’t want to hear me rambling on about the internet). Basically, BT being the brilliant provider they are (sarcasm) are yet to update the city centre to fibreoptic. Yes, this is a major city and the city centre is yet to have fibreoptic. We ‘need’ this speed because Pete is an online gamer. So we managed to find a fibreoptic provider after a major project to get the whole of Sheffield City Region upgraded to it. This has since finished, funding ended and now the providers are pulling out. Leaving us back at square one and the region no longer fully digital (was called the digital region). The only option we now have is to go to Virgin which involves them having to put cables in and stuff or we go back to much slower speeds.

      • That’s a saga and a half! Experiencing superfast speeds and then having them pulled from under your feet must be worse than not having them in the first place I guess 😦

  4. Good luck with your provider, or I hope to say new provider…. I love the colors on the gazanias, they’re so unique amongst the other flowers, and the dahlias are nice too. It seems like several people are rediscovering dahlias lately, I wonder if your warm summer is helping?

  5. Mmm, mmm! Love those dahlias! I have grown a few over the years, but they die completely in winter so I haven’t invested too much in them. The long stemmed ones really are wonderful for vases, though, especially when the roses are taking a break in the heat of summer. Ah, so many plants, so little space in the garden . . . .

    • Hi VW,

      I’ve had some Dahlias in the past too, but never bothered attempting to over winter them; too much hassle. I don’t often get them but this year decided to just because they were so cheap – reduced to only £1.50 for 6 plants.
      I’d like to have the larger ones, but again it’s just too much hassle trying to overwinter them. My mum seems to want me to keep them because her grandfather used to keep them and win (probably local) prizes for his blooms. But that’s just not something I’m interested in.

  6. Nice Dahlias – personally not a fan but for an instant dash of colour, they certainly do a job.
    Like you mum, my grandfather used to grow Dahlias and they were his prized possession! Too much bother for me and it’s the reason I’m not fond of them.
    Hope you get your internet sorted soon. It’s amazing how much we miss it when we don’t have it.

Leave a Reply

