End Of Month – November 2014

No photos of the garden this month, I’ve had a cold over the weekend which coincided with the only nice weather we’ve for what feels like months – exaggeration, I know but it’s been so foggy for so long it’s beginning to affect me. It’s also unlikely I’ll manage any photos during the week as I don’t know what my work pattern will be yet as I’ve just started a new job. No more lovely finishing at 2…

The garden isn’t much different to the end of October; the main change is that many of the shrubs are now bare which a month ago they were still mostly leafed. I will soon be keeping an eye out for the emergence of Snowdrops and other spring bulbs; so far I’ve only seen some muscari. I’m also going to have a check on the Hellebores for any signs of buds/new growth. Many of the plants I moved into pots have new buds on them, so hopefully that’s a good sign that I didn’t stress them too much.

After mentioning a few times, the Winter Jasmine is in bloom and I need to have a look at the Autumn-flowering Cherry for signs of blooming.

A few roses are still in flower, but if the temperature dips I think it’s likely they’ll be killed off – note to self, really must get another Iceberg rose as they bloom almost year-round unless hit by snow.
The Dahlias are all mostly stopped blooming, but the plants aren’t yet dead and I’m uncertain when to pull them up – I don’t plan on keeping their tubers so just need to find some winter plants to replace them.

So, instead I’ll have to leave you with some pretty ‘bokeh’ grass photos I took a while ago:

Copyright 2014 Liz.
All rights reserved. Content created by Liz for Gwirrel’s Garden

9 thoughts on “End Of Month – November 2014

    • Hi Angie,

      Have you managed to dodge any snow? I assume it’s mostly hitting the Highlands and not yet Edinburgh?

      I’m hoping we don’t get any. It’s too early in the season yet.

    • Hi VW,

      Perhaps the only advantage of having a tiered garden is that it’s easy for me to take low-level photos and get nice shots like this of dew-soaked grass… I’d much prefer a flat garden though 🙂

    • Hi Cheryl,

      Sometimes it’s difficult to make anything look beautiful! Especially with all the very dismal weather we’ve had. Then when we finally have some clear skies and sun, the temperature drops and there’s risk of ‘wintery showers’. Oh wonderful.

      I’d like to say I’m feeling better… But really it’s taking a long time to get rid of the cough and stuffed nose. I also have troughs where I have a fuzzy head and feel like I’m taking a retrograde step. Frustrating.

  1. OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!! Ach beautiful pictures/ Where do find this great looking grass. Here in Canada, the grass is brown, not growing and in some places lying under snow. Thank you for the beauty and get well soon. \Mari

Leave a Reply

