Merry Christmas 2014

I do hope you’re all in the festive mood? I’m unsure how I feel about it this year; what I do know is I’m struggling to find presents for people and as a result I’ve begun panic buying. Normally I’ve no trouble finding plenty of suitable tat for people and I can’t decide whether I’ve bought all the tat possible or whether this year shops just aren’t producing small, cute, or interesting little nick naks I can buy as stocking fillers.

This year again I’ve opted for the fake tree instead of bringing in a real one. Perhaps as a result of my detachment from Christmas. Perhaps also because it’s now more difficult to get rid of Christmas trees as local authorities cut their services, gone is the free tree recycling. They expect me to pay £19 to collect it! That’s more than a tree costs! Crazy.

I’ve had some fun today photographing the presents and wrapping. A little overboard for some perhaps, but I am one of those people I’m afraid. I can’t have badly wrapped gifts. Of course some I don’t mind if they’re ugly; generally sticking fillers or annoying items that can’t be helped without placing them in a box instead.

My boyfriend asked if I was taking as much care over his present as I was the one below (my brother’s). So I showed him his main present. he quieted pretty quickly. We’ve a sort of wager on for who wins in the best Christmas present. He tried to tell me his are very thoughtful… Well I hope he’s telling the truth because history tells me a different story. The times I haven’t directly instructed him on what to get me haven’t gone so well (to put it politely). But, it’s the thought that counts, right?

Copyright 2014 Liz.
All rights reserved. Content created by Liz for Gwirrel’s Garden

7 thoughts on “Merry Christmas 2014

  1. It is pouring rain and gray again here and I am away from family so I can understand detachment at the holidays….but I am working on ways to make it festive and special….your presents and cute decorations certainly put me in a festive mood Liz! Wishing you a Happy Christmas!

  2. How I wish I had all your energy to wrap gifts like that Liz. By the time Christmas gets here, I’m way too exhausted to make such effort. I am however quite obsessive that everyone (family members that is) have a specific wrapping paper designated to them and woe betide anyone that doesn’t make use of the paper I provide for them all to use.
    Wishing you and yours all the very best Liz – I will be waiting to see who wins the wager 🙂

Leave a Reply

