In a Vase on Monday

I’m joining Cathy again in her Monday vase post… Hopefully I have enough to keep going for a few weeks at least until spring begins in earnest.

This week we have Iris reticulata, these bulbs I bought purposefully for my small milk bottle vases. I have some Crocus just opening too and then some Narcissi and Tulips all bought with the sole purpose of vases. I haven’t planted them, not even in pots because I just know if they’re in the ground or pots there’s no way I’ll cut them. It’ll seem too much like a shame.

Iris Reticulata

Iris Reticulata

Here you can see the trio actually included some Tulips from a different bouquet… At that point I didn’t have enough Iris up to cut, but in later weeks all three vases are filled with pretty little Irises.

Iris Reticulata and Tulips

Copyright 2015 Liz.
All rights reserved. Content created by Liz for Gwirrel’s Garden

11 thoughts on “In a Vase on Monday

  1. Sweetness! Is that iris ‘Harmony’? There are a few ‘George’ I. reticulata blooming around here, but nothing else yet. George is more purple and Harmony is more blue-violet. The iris look super cheerful with those bright tulips.

    • Hi VW,

      I think they’re actually ‘George’ too. Oddly enough, on my laptop the Irises do look more pinky purple than blue. But on my ipad they look more blue purple… Perhaps my screen isn’t quite set up right on my laptop.

    • Hi Angie,

      I do manage to cut some flowers from the garden for vases – mainly roses but I know I’d never be able to cut spring bulbs from the garden; they’re far too ‘precious’!

  2. Stunning photographs and I love the way you have displayed them in the little milk bottles. I have never actually cut iris for a vase – how well do they last?

Leave a Reply

